LibGuides: Law: Legal News

Legal News

There are several ways to keep up to date on Dutch legal news; sign up for alert services on either RechtOrde or Legal Intelligence (or both!) in order to receive regular updates. Register on Rechtspraak.nl for a weekly newsletter, while the Kluwer Inzicht Nieuwsbrieven are biweekly.

The Boom Rechtspraak Updates are special newsletters, each covering a specific Dutch or EU legal area.

For International legal news, use the Nexis Uni Database for general news, while EuLawLive (European Union), Beck Online (Germany), ChinaLawInfo (China) and Westlaw (UK) provide specific geographic coverage.

Rechtspraak.nl This link opens in a new window
Website of the Dutch Judiciary and the Supreme Court of the Netherlands (mostly Dutch).
Information on the structure of the Dutch judicial system, tasks and composition of the Council for the Judiciary and information on appeals at the courts of Appeal or special tribunals and appeals in cassation in civil, criminal and tax law cases. Mainly Dutch, some parts are translated.

Kluwer Inzicht Nieuwsbrieven Free biweekly newsletters on a number of areas, provided by Wolters Kluwer.

InView Essential (Kluwer Navigator) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Inview Essential, formerly Kluwer Navigator, gives access to full text Dutch legislation, case law and commentaries on all fields of law. It also has a substantial archive.
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen and select the option Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Date range:
1815 - present for Dutch legislation
1914 - present for case law
Related databases: Opmaat; Rechtsorde; Legal Intelligence
Legal Intelligence This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal Intelligence is a content integration system, making it possible to question legal databases, such as InView Essential, SDU Opmaat, SDU NDFR, Boom, Paris, Den Hollander, Rechtspraak.nl, Overheid.nl, Wetten.nl and Eurlex, simultaneously.
Off-campus access to Legal Intelligence via SURFconext. Click Login voor het hoger onderwijs. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.

Related database: rechtsorde.nl
SDU OpMaat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text government publications, Dutch legislation, issuing of rules, case law, European legislation and articles from Sdu legal journals on case law.
Legisation, issuing rules, case law and commentaries on specific fields of law such as, health law (Opmaat BOPZ), labour law (Opmaat Arbeidsrecht), company law (Opmaat Ondernemingsrecht), family law (Opmaat Personen- en familierecht) and criminal law (Opmaat Strafrecht).
Date range: Governmental publications from 1995 - present
Related databases: NDFR, NDSZ
Rechtsorde.nl This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rechtsorde is a search engine that provides access to the sources of legal publishers such as Kluwer, SDU, Boom, deLex and Paris. Includes the Nederlandse Documentatie Fiscaal Recht (NDFR).
Off-campus access to Rechtsorde.nl via SURFconext. Click Inloggen, then WO en HBO hier inloggen. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Related database: Legal Intelligence

AR Updates - Arbeidsrecht AR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the area of labour law (arbeidsrecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable in the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
EELC Updates - European Employment Law Cases EHRC Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments from judgments of national courts, the European Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights in the field of employment law. These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
ERF Updates - Erfrecht ERF Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of inheritance law (erfrecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
EHRC Updates - European Human Rights Cases EHRC Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments from the European Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights. These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
GZR Updates - Gezondheidsrecht GZR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of health law (gezondheidsrecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
INS Updates - Insolventierecht INS Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of insolvency law (insolventierecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
OGR Updates - Omgevingsrecht OGR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of environmental law (omgevingsrecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
PFR Updates - Personen- en familierecht PFR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the area of personal and family law (personen- en familierecht). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable in the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
PR Updates - Pensioenrecht PR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the area of pension law. These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable in the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
PS Updates - Personenschade PS Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of personal injury. These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
SR Updates - Strafrecht SR Updates provides an overview of the latest judgments in the field of strafrecht (criminal law). These judgments are summarized, classified, briefly commented and made searchable on the Updates portal. In addition, you receive an alert every two weeks to keep up-to-date.
- This link opens in a new window
MfN-register Tuchtrecht Updates Open Access portal and news source on disciplinary law judgments in Dutch mediation. Judgments by the Disciplinary Commission and the Appeals Tribunal are summarized, classified, annotated and made available through this portal.
Tuchtrecht Updates Open Access portal and news source on disciplinary law judgments by the Nederlandse Orde van Advocaten. Over 8000 cases are provided in this portal and are classified by subject and authority.

EU Law Live This link opens in a new window When logging in, accept Session Cookies EU Law Live provides news, analysis and op-eds on European Union Law.
- This link opens in a new window
Also provided are an overview of daily events in the Morning section, book reviews in the Library section and future (and past) events in the Events section. Every weekend, an online journal is published containing in-depth articles and an overview of that week's highlights.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant, NRC Handelsblad and Het Financieele Dagblad) and news wires like PR Newswire. Also included is company information, law reviews and cases Please note: Legal news, Law reviews and legal cases are mostly American. Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990. Related databases: Factiva; Het Financieele Dagblad; Delpher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant and NRC Handelsblad) and news wires like PR Newswire.
Also included is company information, law reviews and cases
Please note: Legal news, Law reviews and legal cases are mostly American.
Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990.
Related databases: Factiva; Delpher
Beck-online: die Datenbank This link opens in a new window Beck-online is a comprehensive database concerning German law. It contains legislation, case law and annotations.
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes fulltext journals, e-books, comments, legislation, jurisprudence and others.
Requires EduVPN for off-campus access
ChinaLawInfo This link opens in a new window ChinaLawInfo contains translations in English of Chinese case law, legislation, treaties, legal periodicals and articles.
- This link opens in a new window
There are seven divisions:
1. Laws & Regulations: Chinese laws, regulations, rules, judicial interpretations, local regulations, and local rules in more than 50 areas of law.
2. Judicial Cases: English translations of representative judicial decisions approved and published by the Supreme People's Court or the Supreme People's Procuratorate.
3. Tax treaties
4. Gazettes (title index): Gazettes are official Chinese government publications containing regulations and related explanations, reports, deliberations, speeches, circulars, and notices.
5. Legal News: important legal news since 2000, with the ability to track past and current legal events and legislative developments in China.
6. WTO and China
7. Law Journals (title index): search and read the full text of two leading Chinese law journals and browse the title indexes of other law journals in both English and Chinese.
Date range: 1949 - present
Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window Westlaw Next contains case law, legislation, treaties and legal periodicals and articles for the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and the European Union.
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Next provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window Access to UK legislation, case law, EU material and up to 100 browsable journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK also gives access to Westlaw Next. You need to select Services in the top panel and choose International Materials.

Westlaw Next provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.