LibGuides: Law: Algemeen Recht / General Law

Algemeen Recht / General Law

Deze sectie van de Libguide Law biedt een algemeen overzicht van materialen op het gebied van het Nederlands Recht.
Hierbij wordt speciaal aandacht gegeven aan de toonaangevende series en tijdschriften.

This section of the Libguide Law provides an overview of general materials on the field of Dutch Law.
Special attention is given to leading series and journals.

ArsAequi digitale uitgaven
- This link opens in a new window
ArsAequi Digitale uitgaven includes a large number of Dutch language ebooks, the number being increased to 120 by the 1st of January.
more...less...
Available through ezProxy

InView Essential (Kluwer Navigator) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Inview Essential, formerly Kluwer Navigator, gives access to full text Dutch legislation, case law and commentaries on all fields of law. It also has a substantial archive.
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen and select the option Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Date range:
1815 - present for Dutch legislation
1914 - present for case law
Related databases: Opmaat; Rechtsorde; Legal Intelligence
SDU OpMaat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text government publications, Dutch legislation, issuing of rules, case law, European legislation and articles from Sdu legal journals on case law.
Legisation, issuing rules, case law and commentaries on specific fields of law such as, health law (Opmaat BOPZ), labour law (Opmaat Arbeidsrecht), company law (Opmaat Ondernemingsrecht), family law (Opmaat Personen- en familierecht) and criminal law (Opmaat Strafrecht).
Date range: Governmental publications from 1995 - present
Related databases: NDFR, NDSZ
Den Hollander e-journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to the legal journals of he Dutch publisher Den Hollander.
The Den Hollander journals cover the following legal disciplines:
Insolvency Law, Compliance, Financial Law, Tenancy Law, Annual Account, Energy Law, Agrarian Law, State Aid, Internet Law, Sanction Law, Labour Law, Real Estate.
Dutch language only

Asser (ad) Algemeen deel*
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (ad) Algemeen deel**
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (ad) Algemeen deel***
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (ad) Algemeen deel****
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-I* Koop en ruil
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-II Huur
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-III Pacht
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-IV Opdracht, incl. de geneeskundige behandelingsovereenkomst en de reisovereenkomst
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-V Arbeidsovereenkomst
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-VI Aanneming van werk
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-VIII* Bewaarneming, borgtocht, vaststellingsovereenkomst, bruikleen, verbruikleen, altijddurende rente, spel en weddenschap
- This link opens in a new window
Asser (bzo) 7-VII Maatschap,vennootschap onder firma en commanditaire vennootschap
- This link opens in a new window

Tekst en Commentaar Openbare Orde en Veiligheid
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst & Commentaar Aanbestedingsrecht This title in the series "Tekst en Commentaar" covers the Dutch law on public procurement.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Algemene wet bestuursrecht This title in the series "Tekst & Commentaar" contains comments on each article of the Algemene Wet Bestuursrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar Arbeidsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst en commentaar Bouwrecht This title in the series "Tekst en Commentaar" covers Title 12 of Book 7 BW, Aanneming van Werk, which is the legal framework for the most important form of construction contract.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Burgerlijke Rechtsvordering
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar Burgerlijk Wetboek
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst & Commentaar Erfrecht Civiel en Fiscaal In Tekst en commentaar Erfrecht civiel en fiscaal you will find the latest state of affairs in the field of Inheritance Law (Erfrecht): the most important laws and regulations and short and clear commentary.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar Gemeentewet Provinciewet Portal on the provincial administrative law, the municipal administrative law and the law on administrative regulations.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Gezondheidsrecht Whereas Tekst en commentaar Gezondheidsrecht previously consisted of two parts, the new 7th edition offers you all relevant laws and regulations in one volume. In addition to a large number of health laws that set rules regarding patients' rights and the quality of health care, you now also find legislation in the field of organization, insurance and financing of healthcare.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Grondwet en Statuut This title in the series "Tekst & Commentaar" covers the Dutch Constitution and the Statute for the Kingdom of The Netherlands
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Huurrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to InView Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in InView Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Insolventierecht Tekst en Commentaar Insolventierecht contains an article-by-article commentary on the Faillissementswet (Bankruptcy Act), the EU Insolventieverordening (EU Insolvency Regulation), the provisions on liability of directors and supervisory directors in Book 2 of the Burgerlijk Wetboek (Dutch Civil Code) and on those concerning the detriment of creditors and rightful claimants in the Wetboek van Strafrecht (Dutch Criminal Code).
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Intellectuele eigendom Tekst & Commentaar Intellectuele Eigendom is the standard commentary on Dutch intellectual property law. The commentaries contain a discussion of development, current legal thought, and relevant case law. 7th edition, brought up to date till August 2021
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to InView Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in InView Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar internationaal strafrecht
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst en commentaar Milieurecht This title in the series "Tekst en Commentaar" contains comments on Dutch laws and regulations regarding environmental issues.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Ondernemingsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar Pensioenrecht
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst & Commentaar Personen- en familierecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Privacy- en gegevensbeschermingsrecht This title in the series "Tekst en Commentaar" covers the Dutch privacy and data protections laws and regulations.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Ruimtelijk bestuursrecht This title in the series "Tekst en Commentaar" contains the core laws on spatial administrative law, provided with concise comments.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst en commentaar Socialezekerheidsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst en commentaar Strafrecht
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst en commentaar Strafvordering
- This link opens in a new window
Tekst & Commentaar Vermogensrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to InView Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in InView Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Verzekeringsrecht Tekst en commentaar Verzekeringsrecht collects all relevant, current legislation and commentary on this area of law.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to InView Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Tekst & Commentaar Wet algemene bepalingen omgevingsrecht This title in the series "Tekst & Commentaar" covers the Dutch law for general provisions on environmental planning.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.

Lexplicatie Arbeidsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Banking en finance
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Belastingrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Contracten en aansprakelijkheid
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Europese regelgeving
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Insolventierecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Intellectueel eigendom en ICT-recht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Juridische beroepen
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Omgevingsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Ondernemingsrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Personen- en familierecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Sociale zekerheid
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Staats- en bestuursrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Strafrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Lexplicatie Vastgoedrecht
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.

Advocatenblad The Advocatenblad is, since 1918, the official organ of the Dutch Bar Association. Since 2016 it is published by Boom juridisch.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2016~present
Related websites:
Advocatenblad.nl
Nederlandse orde van advocaten
ArsAequi : juridisch maandblad ArsAequi (AA) is a monthly Dutch legal journal. Topics are many and various including; human rights, jurisprudence, law and recent legal developments. Ars Aequi is available through Legal Intelligence and Rechtsorde.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Available through ezProxy
Ars Aequi : juridisch maandblad (through Legal Intelligence) Ars Aequi (AA) is a monthly Dutch legal journal. Topics are many and various including; human rights, jurisprudence, law and recent legal developments. Ars Aequi is available through Legal Intelligence and Rechtsorde.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Related website: ArsAequi
Caribisch Juristenblad Caribisch Juristenblad (CJB) aims to contribute to the development of law in Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten and Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2011~present
Caribisch Juristenblad (CJB) is also available through Legal Intelligence and Rechtsorde.
KwartaalSignaal KwartaalSignaal provides quarterly updates on developments and publications on Dutch legal subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Available through ezProxy
Law and Method The Dutch-based journal Law and Method focuses on methodological issues of law and legal scholarship, in both research and education.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2011~present
Related website: http://www.lawandmethod.nl
Nederlands Juristenblad (NJB) Nederlands Juristenblad (NJB) is an important platform for legal discussions, is regularly quoted in the general public media and offers a signaling function for legislation, jurisprudence, literature, news, events and legal vacancies.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Related website: http://njb.nl/
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Netherlands Journal of Legal Philosophy The Netherlands Journal of Legal Philosophy (NJLP) is an international peer reviewed journal, devoted to the study of legal philosophy and jurisprudence and to the foundations of legal sciences in the broad sense of the term (sociology of law, anthropology of law etc.).
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Articles in English and Dutch.
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2002~present
Related website: http://www.njlp.nl
Recht der Werkelijkheid Recht der Werkelijkheid is the magazine of the Vereniging voor de Sociaal-wetenschappelijke bestudering van het Recht (VSR) (Society for the Social-Scientific Study of Law). The journal forms an interdisciplinary platform for reflection in the fields of legal sociology, legal anthology, public administration, law economics and legal psychology.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2008~present
ISSN:1380-6424
Rechtsgeleerd Magazijn Themis Rechtsgeleerd Magazijn Themis (RMThemis) is a generalist legal journal.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Uitgeverij Paris
Coverage: 2002~present
Tijdschrift over Cultuur & Criminaliteit Tijdschrift over Cultuur & Criminaliteit is a Dutch peer-reviewed journal that positions itself at the intersection of social science disciplines, law, philosophy, music, art and economics and discusses global contexts, as well as the local, historical and cultural embedding of deviant behavior, crime and the social reaction to it.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2011~present
Tijdschrift voor civiele rechtspleging
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2002~present
Tijdschrift voor de Procespraktijk
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Tijdschrift voor de Procespraktijk (TvPP)
Collection: Uitgeverij Paris
Coverage: 2002~present
Tijdschrift voor rechtsgeschiedenis. Legal history review. Revue d'histoire du droit. The Legal History Review is a peer-reviewed journal in which much attention is paid not only to the common foundations of the western legal tradition but also to the special, frequently divergent development of national law in the various countries belonging to, or influenced by it. Modern and contemporary, as well as ancient and medieval history is considered. Roman law and its later development, as well as canon law, have always been particularly important; in addition the history of the English Common Law has been extensively studied.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Multilingual; English, French and Dutch
Legal History Review, The / Tijdschrift voor Rechtsgeschiedenis / Revue d'Histoire du Droit
Collection: HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources
Coverage: (1918~2012, volume:1~volume:80)

Legal History Review, The / Tijdschrift voor Rechtsgeschiedenis / Revue d'Histoire du Droit
Collection: Brill 2017 Journals (UKB 2017-2019)
Coverage: (2000~present, volume:68;issue:1)
Tijdschrift voor Religie, Recht en Beleid The journal, Tijdschrift voor Religie, Recht en Beleid, is an independent review. It provides a platform for debate, and for informing professionals and public opinion on issues at the intersection of religion, law and policy.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2010~present
Related website: http://www.bjutijdschriften.nl/tijdschrift/religierechtenbeleid
Tijdschrift voor Sport & Recht Tijdschrift voor Sport & Recht (TvS&R) is an independent publication that informs about (inter) national developments, backgrounds and current events at the intersection of sport and law.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Uitgeverij Paris
Coverage: 2009~present
Tijdschrift voor Toezicht Tijdschrift voor Toezicht focuses on supervisors, policy makers, civil servants, lawyers, economists and tax specialists who work in all sectors where government supervision takes place, from the financial sector to healthcare and from the construction industry to the rental sector.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Boom BJU ejournals (JUBO)
Coverage: 2010~present
ANWB Smartengeld
- This link opens in a new window

Jurisprudentie in Nederland (JIN) Dutch journal containing important annotated case law covering labour law, family law, company law, civil law, criminal law, and administrative law
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: SDU
Coverage: 2004-current
Nederlandse Jurisprudentie
- This link opens in a new window
Nederlandse Jurisprudentie (NJ) publishes weekly statements of the Hoge Raad (Supreme Court of the Netherlands) and Europees Hof voor de Rechten van de Mens (European Court of Human Rights), Hof van Justitie van de Europese Unie (European Court of Justice) and Benelux-Gerechtshof (Benelux Court of Justice). You will also find a limited number of judgments of courts and tribunals.
more...less...
Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Praktijkgids
- This link opens in a new window
The Praktijkgids (Prg.) is devoted to jurisprudence in Dutch civil law practice and case law, in particular of the subdistrict courts, in labor matters, rent, leasing, consumer credit, welfare, franchising, compensation, consumer issues and debt collection cases.
more...less...
Collection: Inview Essential (local)
Coverage: 1971~present

Off-campus access to Inview Essential via SURFconext. Click Inloggen in Inview Essential (button) and select the option Login voor Student/Medewerker. You will be asked for your ERNA-ID.
Rechtspraak.nl The website of courts, tribunals, Supreme Court of The Netherlands and special colleges. With information on decisions, organization and procedures.