LibGuides: Law: International Law

Introduction

Introduction

A question that has plagued humanity since the beginning of history is; how to deal with "the other" in a way that is both safe for yourself and nonviolent so that you can deal (trade, marry, meet, cooperate) with the other. As humanity progressed and states formed, this question was expanded upon; how to deal with the "other state" in a way that is both safe for your own state and nonviolent so that you can deal (trade, intermarry, meet, visit, cooperate) with the other state.

International Law is considered to be the answer to that question; a set of rules, norms, and standards which make it possible to deal with the other state. If both (or all) states adhere (or at least generally follow) to the same set of rules, norms, and standards, dealing between states becomes possible as all states can work from he same frame of reference and "surprises", generally leading to war, can be avoided.

In a perfect world, this set of rules, norms, and standards would be binding and followed by all. Unfortunately, the world is not perfect and the ancient maxim that "might makes right" still applies. While this does not lessen the importance of International Law; a common (theoretically) binding set of rules, norms, and standards which makes dealing with "the other" possible, it is important to keep this truth in mind.

This section of the Libguide provides access to the digital resources available on International Law.

General International Law

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law (OSAIL) contains over 180 full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window The aim of the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is to increase the discoverability of Open Access, academic peer-reviewed books from publishers worldwide and from all fields of research. The DOAB contains links to the e-books. You can browse by subject or by publisher.
Kluwer Law International | Digital Book Platform This link opens in a new window This Digital Book Platform features 14 different packages of law themes, of over 3.500 electronic book titles, with new titles added as they are published. You can easily filter search results, to instantly access the content you need.
To view a book click Read now.

Mozilla Firefox
Clicking Read now should activate the PDF Viewer in a pop-up.
If the pop-up is blocked, look in the notifications bar under the address bar for the Options button.
Click Options, then select: Allow pop-ups for wkldigitalbooks.integra.co.in
Wait a few moments for the PDF to load in the PDF Viewer.
NB You now have an 2 instances of Mozilla Firefox open: one is the original browser window with access to the Digital Book Platform, the other is the PDF Viewer.

Chrome
Clicking Read now should activate the PDF Viewer in a pop-up.
If the pop-up is blocked, look in the address bar for the notification icon (pop-ups were blocked on this page). Click this icon, then activate the radio button: Always allow pop-ups and redirects from wkldigitalbooks.integra.co.in
Additionally, if using Chrome on a PC in a computer room or library located on campus, third party cookies are blocked. Click in the address bar on the notification icon (Cookies blocked), then on the button Manage. At Blocked set the toggle to: Allow sites to set and read cookie data (recommended). At Allow click Add, then add the site address: http://wkldigitalbooks.integra.co.in
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, published by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: selected titles
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Literature, Media & Culture: selected titles
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current

HeinOnline Legal Classics The HeinOnline Legal Classics library offers thousands of classic treatises (searchable PDF versions) from some of the greatest legal minds in history such as Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham and William Blackstone.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Full-text access to academic journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides access to legal periodicals, eBooks, government resources, and case law.
In addition to the collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the U.S. Congressional Record Bound volumes, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports basck to 1754, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties and the Federal Register from inception in 1936. Full text articles from many journals but not all, some exclude last published volumes.

Date range:
Legal journals from 1809 - present
U.S. Reports from 1754 - present
Federal Register from 1936 - present
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, published by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: selected titles
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Literature, Media & Culture: selected titles
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window Westlaw Classic contains case law, legislation, treaties and legal periodicals and articles for the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and the European Union.
Westlaw Classic provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window Access to UK legislation, case law, EU material and up to 100 browsable journals.
Westlaw Edge UK also provides access to Westlaw Next under 'More Resources'.

Westlaw Next provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.

REDALYC - Law Redalyc Scientific Information System Network of Scientific Journals is an Open Access Digital Library and Bibliographic Database.
more...less...
DOAJ
DOAJ - Law The Directory of Open Access Journals is a Digital Library of Open Access Journals.
more...less...
See also: Redalyc
Oxford Academic: Law All available eBooks at Oxford Academic.
more...less...
All books and materials from Oxford Scholarship Online (OS) have migrated to this platform.

Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law / J. Crawford
9th edition of the famous handbook on the Principles of International Law
more...less...
OUP. 9th edition, 2019
Problems and Process: International Law and How We Use It / R. Higgins
An older but still highly relevant book on the basics of International Law
more...less...
OUP 1995
The Function of Law in the International Community / H. Lauterpacht A timeless (first published in 1933!) classic on International Law, helping shape International Law as we know it. This version was published in 2011. A scan of the author's revisions of the original can be found at: https://fdslive.oup.com/www.oup.com/academic/pdf/9780199608812_revisions.pdf
more...less...
OUP - 2011

Law Review Commons The Law Review Commons brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years.
more...less...
All Law Review Commons publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories. The Commons includes many of the leading U.S. law reviews—such as the California Law Review and the Duke Law Journal.
The British yearbook of international law The British yearbook of international law is an essential work in the field of international law, containing many authoritative articles.
more...less...
Content: 1976-2017
Annuaire Français de droit international The Annuaire Français de Droit International is the premier French yearbook in the field of international law.
more...less...
Content: 1955-2019
For the latest volumes: AFDI on sEURch
German Yearbook of International Law / Jahrbuch für Internationales Recht The German Yearbook of International Law is the premier German yearbook for articles on International Law
more...less...
Vol. 17(1974) - Vol. 61(2018)
South African Yearbook of International Law South African Yearbook on International law.
more...less...
HeinOnline (1975-2019)
Japanese Yearbook of International Law Japanese Yearbook
more...less...
HeinOnline 1957-2021
Netherlands Yearbook of International Law 1970-2014 (Cambridge) Netherlands Yearbook through Cambridge (1970-2014)
more...less...
Cambridge (1970-2014)
Netherlands Yearbook of International Law 2010-2019 (Springer) Netherlands Yearbook through Springer (2010-2018)
more...less...
Springer (2010-2018)

Oxford Reports on International Law - IHRL & ICGJ This link opens in a new window Oxford Reports on International Law brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals.Case reports within Oxford Reports on International Law are enhanced with commentary and analysis. Collected and edited by a team of experts from institutions across the world, including the Monash University, the University of Pretoria and the University of Amsterdam.
Oxford Reports on International Law makes the full scope of international law available in one place, accompanied by expert analyses.

The case law within Oxford Reports on International Law is divided into modules and the EUR has access to two modules: International Human RIghts Law (IHRL) and International Courts of General Jurisiction (ICGJ)

Select Content Type, select modules, select + and select either IHRL or ICGJ.

International Human Rights

African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights One of 3 regional Human Rights Courts in the world (the others being the European Court of Human Rights and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights), the Court was established by the African Union through the Protocol to the African Charter on Human And Peoples' Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights to protect human right in Africa
Inter-American Court of Human Rights One of 3 regional Human Rights Courts in the world (the others being the European Court of Human Rights and the African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights), the Court was established by the Organization of the American States (OAS) through the American Convention on Human Rights
European Court of Human Rights One of 3 regional Human Rights Courts in the world (the others being the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and the African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights), the Court was established by the Council of Europe (COE) through the European Convention on Human Rights

HUDOC Database The HUDOC database provides access to the case-law of the Court (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions*, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions).
more...less...
Public resource
AFCHPR Cases Decisions by the African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights
Judgments of the IACHR The IACHR provides access to the Judgments and other documents through its website.

HeinOnline: International Human Rights Law Institute Resources of the International Human Rights Law Institute within HeinOnline

The European Court of Human Rights by Angelika Nussberger The European Court of Human Rights, by Angelika Nussberger is the first title in a new series, The Elements of International Law. Providing a fresh, objective, and non-argumentative approach to the discipline of international law, this series is an accessible go-to source for practicing international lawyers, judges and arbitrators, government and military officers, scholars, teachers, and students. In this volume, Professor Nussberger explores the Court's uniqueness as an international adjudicatory body in the light of its history, structure, and procedure, as well as its key doctrines and case law. This book also shows the role played by the Court in the development of modern international law and human rights law. Tracing the history of the Court from its political context in the 1940s to the present day, Nussberger engages with pressing questions about its origins and internal workings. What was the best model for such an international organization? How should it evolve within more and more diverse legal cultures? How does a case move among different decision-making bodies? These questions help frame the six parts of the book, whilst the final section reflects on the past successes and failures of the Court, shedding light on possible future directions.
ISBN: 9780198849650
Publication Date: 2020-10-13

Human rights quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Human Rights Quarterly (HRQ) is widely recognized as the leader in the field of human rights. For more than a quarter of a century, HRQ has published articles by experts from around the world writing for the specialist and non-specialist alike. The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. It presents current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare (IJHRH) is an international, peer reviewed journal with a unique practical approach to promoting race equality, inclusion and human rights in health and social care.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Emerald Publishing
Coverage: Volume 8 (2015)-present
Original title:Ethnicity and Inequalities in Health and Social Care available coverage Volume 1(2008)-Volume 7(2014)
International Journal of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Netherlands Quarterly on Human Rights The Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights (NQHR) publishes the latest evolutions in the promotion and protection of human rights from around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Law Review Human Rights Law Review seeks to promote awareness, knowledge, and discussion on matters of human rights law and policy (from journal site)
- This link opens in a new window

United Nations Human Rights: Office of the High Commissioner The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (UN Human Rights) is the leading UN entity on human rights
Amnesty International Amnesty International is a global NGO dedicated to the protection of human rights
Human Rights Watch Human Rights Watch is an international human rights organization that investigates and reports on abuses of human rights around the world.
International Labour Organization The ILO is a UN agency dedicated to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.

International Criminal Law

International Criminal Law / R. O'Keefe
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook on International Criminal Law
more...less...
OUP - 2015

Oxford Reports on International Law - IHRL & ICGJ This link opens in a new window Oxford Reports on International Law brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals.Case reports within Oxford Reports on International Law are enhanced with commentary and analysis. Collected and edited by a team of experts from institutions across the world, including the Monash University, the University of Pretoria and the University of Amsterdam.
Oxford Reports on International Law makes the full scope of international law available in one place, accompanied by expert analyses.

The case law within Oxford Reports on International Law is divided into modules and the EUR has access to two modules: International Human RIghts Law (IHRL) and International Courts of General Jurisiction (ICGJ)

Select Content Type, select modules, select + and select either IHRL or ICGJ.

International Criminal Law Review Publishes in-depth analytical research that deals with legal issues. The analysis may cover: the substantive and procedural law on the international level; important cases from national jurisdictions which have a bearing on general issues; criminological and sociological; and, historical research. Subjects: International Criminal Law, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Brill Journals (UKB)
Coverage: 2001~present, volume:1;issue:1

International Criminal Court The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.
United Nations International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals The International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals ("Mechanism") is mandated to perform a number of essential functions previously carried out by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (“ICTR”) and the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (“ICTY”). In carrying out these essential functions the Mechanism maintains the legacies of these two pioneering ad hoc international criminal courts and strives to reflect best practices in the field of international criminal justice.
more...less...
ICTR
ICTY
The Special Tribunal for Lebanon Its primary mandate is to hold trials for the people accused of carrying out the attack of 14 February 2005 which killed 22 people, including the former prime minister of Lebanon, Rafik Hariri, and injured many others.

International Migration Covers the entire field of policy relevance in international migration, giving attention not only to a breadth of topics reflective of policy concerns, but also attention to coverage of all regions of the world and to comparative policy.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Wiley Online Library
Coverage: Vol. 34(1996)-present
International journal of refugee law journal aiming to stimulate research and thinking on refugee law and its development.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Collection: Oxford Academic
Coverage: 1989-present
Journal of Refugee Studies The Journal of Refugee Studies (JRS) provides a forum for exploration of the complex issue of forced migration and local, national, regional and international responses.

International Organization for Migration (IOM) a United Nations agency dedicated to providing services and advice to governments and migrants regarding migration
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) A UN Agency dedicated to protect and aid refugees

Company and Trade Law

Databases
Manuals

Investment Arbitration Reporter This link opens in a new window IAReporter is renowned for its investigative focus: offering a window into otherwise confidential proceedings. They offer timely and nuanced reports on the very latest legal pleadings, decisions and arbitral awards - typically before they've been discussed anywhere else. To stay up to date they offer the possibility to subscribe to email alerts.
Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG) This link opens in a new window Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG) contains investment treaties, arbitral rules, cases and other key materials on the field of investment law.
Kluwer Competition Law This link opens in a new window Kluwer Competition Law is a fully searchable collection of primary source materials, news, commentaries and analysis on competition law. The specific focus is the European Union but it does also provide materials for countries outside of the EU.
The database has been organized in the specific competition law topics:
- Antitrust
- Mergers
- State Aid
- Special Sectors - Liberalization and Competition Law and the Internal Market.

Each main topic is fully grouped into four text types: Legislation and Notices, Commission Decisions, Court Decisions and Commentary.

Kluwer Competition Law includes over 55 books and 3 journals which are fully browsable and searchable.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window A platform for legal research in the area of international trade law, containing commentaries, jurisprudence, dispute documents, negotiating history and regional agreements.
Database on trade between nations, includes case law on WTO law (World Trade Organization). The WTO documents in the pending litigation, are available in full text. The negotiation documents are also recorded. The legal disputes are annotated.

Related database: WorldTradeLaw.net

Commentary on the UN Sales Law (CISG)

Maritime Law

Maritime Law Handbook The Maritime Law Handbook offers a country-by-country overview of Arrest of Vessels, Enforced Sale of Vessels, Registration of Vessels, and Mortgage on Vessels.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
The Maritime Law Handbook contains:
Part I: Arrest of Vessels
Part II: Flag and Registration of Vessels, Mortgages on Vessels
Part III: Judicial Sales and Vessels and Priority of Claims
This handbook is prepared under the auspices of the Maritime and Transport Law Committee of the Legal Practice Division of the IBA.
Maritime Law / Y. Baatz Maritime Law is an authoritative handbook on maritime law, written by a team of leading academics and practitioners.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
4th edition, 2018. ISBN 9781315162904
Modern Maritime Law - Vol. I / Mandaraka-Sheppard This title examines in depth issues of jurisdiction, maritime law and practice from a modern perspective and highlights the importance of risk management with a view to avoiding pitfalls in litigation or arbitration and minimizing exposure to liabilities.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Taylor And Franciss
3rd edition, 2014.
Modern Maritime Law - Vol. II / Mandaraka-Sheppard This title examines in depth issues of jurisdiction, maritime law and practice from a modern perspective and highlights the importance of risk management with a view to avoiding pitfalls in litigation or arbitration and minimizing exposure to liabilities.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Taylor & Francis
3rd edition, 2014.

Oxford Scholarly Authorities - Law of the Sea and maritime delimitation Law of the Sea and Maritime Delimitation titles in the database Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
- Attard e.a. The IMLI Manual on International Maritime Law Volume I: The Law of the Sea
- Attard e.a. The IMLI Manual on International Maritime Law Volume II: Shipping Law
- Attard e.a. The IMLI Manual on International Maritime Law Volume III: Marine Environmental Law and International Maritime Security Law
- Ong and Kritsiotis: The IMLI Treatise On Global Ocean Governance: Volume I: UN and Global Ocean Governance
- Fitzmaurice and Ntovas: The IMLI Treatise On Global Ocean Governance: Volume II: UN Specialized Agencies and Global Ocean Governance
- Balkin and Greig: The IMLI Treatise On Global Ocean Governance: Volume III: The IMO and Global Ocean Governance
- Fietta and Cleverly: A Practitioner's Guide to Maritime Boundary Delimitation
- Klein: Maritime Security and the Law of the Sea
- Mossop: The Continental Shelf Beyond 200 Nautical Miles: Rights and Responsibilities
- O’Connell and Shearer: The International Law of the Sea: Volume I & II
- Rothwell The Oxford Handbook of the Law of the Sea
Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law Within this resource there are two modules: the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) and Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro), a new module which launched on September 5th, 2019.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
The Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law use the Oxford Law Citator, which provides links between items published on OUP's online services, as well as to other externally referenced sources.
- EPIL contains peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law and includes cases and topics such as compliance, amnesties, international administration of territory, gay rights, war and peace, international economic law, debt crisis and monetary unions and zones.
See the EPIL guided tour.
- EiPro collects information and knowledge about many aspects of international procedural law, situating adjudicative means of dispute settlement at its core. Negotiation, mediation and conciliation as well as political and administrative procedures form part of the Encyclopedia’s scope.

The Journal of international maritime law [paper] The Journal of international maritime law is a peer-reviewed journal providing expert analytical coverage of current international developments in shipping and maritime law.
more...less...
Paper only!
Available in the library stacks. Please use the request form at
request a print journal
Lloyd's Law Reporter Weekly overview of new maritime case law Part of the i-Law database
more...less...
Access through eduVPN, use your EUR-email account.
Lloyd's Law Reports Lloyd's law reports are an important source of information on UK, US, and Commonwealth court decisions on commercial- and maritime law and business Part of the i-law database
more...less...
Access through eduVPN, use your EUR-email account.

Citation style: [year] Lloyd's Rep.
Lloyd's maritime and commercial law quarterly Lloyd's Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly is a dedicated quarterly journal covering maritime and commercial issues. Part of the i-law database
more...less...
Access through eduVPN, use your EUR-email account.

Citation style: [year] L.M.C.L.Q. page
Lloyd’s Law Reports Plus Lloyd’s Law Reports Plus containing online-early and online-only judgments Part of the i-law database
more...less...
Access through eduVPN, use your EUR-email account.
Ocean Development & International Law Publishes research on international, comparative law and policy on the management of ocean use and activities, covering ocean regulation, affairs, and more.
- This link opens in a new window

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 [UN] The official UN page on the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982, from the Division of Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea
more...less...
un.org
IMO Conventions A list of IMO Conventions

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window The United Nations Treaty Collection provides the collection of treaties and international agreements registered and published by the Secretariat of the League of Nations and by the Secretariat of the United Nations.
The United Nations Treaty Collections provides collection of treaties and international agreement registerd with and published by the Secretariat of the League of Nations pursuant to Article 18 of its Covenant and a collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorde with and published by the Secretariat since 1946, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter.

This database also provides information on the status of over 500 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General ofthe United Nations and covers a range of subject matters such as Human Rights, Disrmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of tthe Sea. In order to facillitate refrence to the United Nations Treaty Series, the Secretariat publishes a Cumulative Index (in English and French).

Date range:
League of Nations Treaty Series: 5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944
United Nations Treaty Series: December 1946 - present.

Carriage of Goods by Sea: Rotterdam Rules The Comite Maritime overview page on the Rotterdam Rules.
York-Antwerp Rules (YAR) for General Average The Official Text of the York-Antwerp Rules for General Average

UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea Official website for the UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea
IMO - International Maritime Organization The official website for the IMO - International Maritime Organization.
more...less...
www.imo.org
Comité Maritime International The official website of the Comité Maritime International
The International Maritime Law Institute (IMLI) The official website of the International Maritime Law Institute (IMLI)