Law Guide Blog

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law are now open to everyone under a subscribe to open model (s2o).

https://opil.ouplaw.com/home/MPIL

From the 1st of April 2025 until the end of March 2026, this resource will remain open and, depending on the renewal by subscribers, this will be extended by another year.

What is the s20-model?
The s2o model is an access model under which a publisher will make a work or resource publicly available, provided enough subscribers renew they subscription.
In a way, the subscribers are responsible for paying for the open availability of the resource; if enough subscribers renew, then the resource remains 'publicly available'. 
On the other hand, the resource will return to ‘publicly not-available’ if too many subscribers fail to renew their subscription. ‘Leeching’ is therefore not rewarded.

What are the Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law?
These are actually 2 enclyclopedias; 
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law
The first resource is a long-time trusted and influential reference work on international law, highly recommended when researchers want to read up on a new topic.
The second resource is quite new, launched in 2019, focusing on international procedural law.

Have a look :)

The book 'Digital governance : confronting the challenges posed by artificial intelligence', with contributions from Professors and PhD candidates at Erasmus University Rotterdam, is currently fully available as an eBook for students, researchers, and staff at Erasmus University.

Please follow the link in our catalogue to gain access to the full eBook: https://eur.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1481785118 

Part I, chapters 2-7, provides several examples of disruptive effects of AI.

Part II, chapters 3-13, showcases the issues with designing legal solutions.

Download and use:
The book can be downloaded in its entirety for personal use and study.

Chapters 2, 6, 10, and 13 are available under a CC BY 4.0-license, which means that you can also share these chapters freely with friends and colleagues, and reuse them yourself.
All other chapters are not available under this Open Access-license, so you cannot share these freely, nor reuse them.

“Wij bieden sinds 1 januari geen toegang meer tot betaalde inhoud van de FD website. Het consortium van universiteiten en FD media (het bedrijf achter Het Financieele Dagblad) werden het niet eens over dataverzameling en privacy. Als u gebruik maakt van digitale bronnen die de Universiteitsbibliotheek aanbiedt, wordt uw data minimaal gedeeld en zoveel mogelijk geanonimiseerd. Om de FD website te gebruiken moeten gebruikers echter nog een account aan maken en akkoord gaan met voorwaarden van FD Media, waarin o.a. toestemming wordt gegeven voor het verzamelen van data. Met deze extra dataverzameling zijn de universiteiten niet akkoord gegaan. 

U kunt echter veel van de artikelen uit Het Financieele Dagblad ook vinden in Nexis Uni:

• Ga naar https://libguides.eur.nl/nexisuni.
• Klik op Bronnen, te vinden rechts in de bovenste balk.
• Vul "Het Financieele Dagblad" in de zoekbalk onder Zoek bronnen en druk op het vergrootglas icoontje
• Klik op Het Financieele Dagblad in de zoekresultaten. De artikelen zijn vervolgens geordend op datum: nieuwste eerst.

Let wel: Nexis Uni bevat alleen de tekst van artikelen. Toegang tot bepaalde artikelen van freelancers en andere bronnen binnen Het FD (bijv. columns en advertenties) zijn niet altijd beschikbaar.”

Helaas heeft FD Media besloten hun content uit nieuwsdatabanken, zoals NexisUni, te verwijderen.

Hierdoor kunnen we de digitale content van het Financieele Dagblad ook niet via een andere partij aanbieden.

Due to a breakdown in negotiations between FD Media and SURF B.V., the University Library’s EUR license with FD Media for the Financieele Dagblad (FD) will not be renewed.

SURF negotiates with various publishers on behalf of universities and universities of applied sciences in the Netherlands. The reason for the breakdown in negotiations is that FD Media does not meet SURF's requirements regarding privacy and anonymous access. EUR's access to the FD will end on 1 January 2025.

More information

For questions or comments, please contact M.H. Holwerda, Head of Collection Management & Access, University Library.

See also: https://www.surf.nl/en/magazine/public-values-under-pressure-libraries-draw-line-at-licence-negotiations

I am happy to inform you that the handbook Contextualising legal research: a methodological guide by Sanne Taekema and Wibren van den Burg is currently available as an eBook through Erasmus University Library.

https://eur.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1422226596

From the publisher:
Providing a clear and concise guide to the practicalities of legal research, this informative book presents a methodological framework for law-in-context research design. It argues that legal scholarship relies on the interpretive and argumentative methods of the humanities, but also requires empirical input due to its focus on social reality.

Table of Contents:
Part I: Doctrinal research

Introduction: Methodology of legal research
Relative autonomy : a characterisation of doctrinal legal scholarship
Methods of doctrinal research
Theoretical and normative frameworks for legal research
Methodologies for law-in-context research

Part II: Interdisciplinary doctrinal research

The promises of interdisciplinary doctrinal research
Evaluations and recommendations
Problems of interdisciplinary research
Methodological design

Part III: Law and humanities

Law and humanities research : an introduction
Legal philosophy as an enrichment of doctrinal research
Law and ethics : deepening normative arguments
Law and literature : engagement with language

Part IV: Concluding reflections

Using interdisciplinary doctrinal research : research for law reform.

Introduction:
Researchers will sometimes find references to publications which are not available anywhere. There is a catalogue reference, a reference at a book-sellers platform or a reference in another publication. And then you cannot find it and your library informs you they cannot provide it.

But surely it must exist? Why else are there references within other books or catalogues? And the reference is 10 years old!

Congratulations, you might have found a Ghost Publication; a publication that was (is) planned but did not come into being (yet).

Ghost creation
There are 2 ways for Ghost Publications to come into being:

• The author/publisher cancelled the publication, but references were added to catalogues and websites.
• The publication is (still) forthcoming, and references were added to catalogues and websites in advance.

Publications that never were
The publication was announced. Libraries pre-ordered it and added it to the catalogue, booksellers already added it to their platform, authors added it to their literature lists… This was in anticipation of it becoming available…. And then it was cancelled by the author or the publisher. The reference still exists, but to a publication that never was.

Publications that will come…. probably…
And sometimes the publication is still forthcoming… but just takes some time. With the ‘some’ being relative; 5 years, 10 years, 15 years… it is all possible and has happened before. 
This might also result in the cancellation of the publication if it takes too long or if the author passes away.
And perhaps…. it might really come into being, any day now…

What can you do?
If there is a Ghost Publication you are really interested in, your best option is to contact the author and inquire. Perhaps the publication has a new title…. or perhaps the author can share the manuscript with you.

Image created by Niels van Tol with Microsoft Copilot

Rechtsorde heeft ‘GenIA-L’ geïntroduceerd, een generatieve AI-toepassing. Deze toepassing geeft je als gebruiker een andere methode om antwoorden te vinden op jouw juridische vragen, naast de traditionele manier van zoeken.

Wat levert deze toepassing?
GenIA-L voegt de beste zoekresultaten samen tot één alinea die jouw zoekvraag tracht te beantwoorden. Bij dit gegenereerde antwoord wordt verwezen naar de originele documenten en worden de gebruikte referenties getoond. Het gegenereerde antwoord kan dan ook geverifieerd worden.

Vervangt GenIA-L de traditionele manier van zoeken?
De traditionele manier van zoeken zal niet worden vervangen en blijft naast GenIA-L bestaan. Als je GenIA-L gebruikt krijg je dezelfde resultaten als bij de traditionele standaardmethode, maar dat resultaat staat onder het gegenereerde antwoord en zal dan ook minder opvallen.

Welke bronnen worden gebruikt door GenIA-L?
Dit is afhankelijk van 2 factoren; de abonnementen van de EUR, én de toestemming van deze uitgevers om hun inhoud door GenIA-L te laten doorzoeken en gebruiken.

Naast openbaar beschikbare documenten, zoals wet- en regelgeving en jurisprudentie, komen alleen documenten waar de EUR een licentie op heeft terug in de referenties. Heeft de EUR geen licentie? Dan worden deze documenten niet gebruikt door GenIA-L. Momenteel worden documenten van de volgende uitgevers gebruikt:

• Ars Aequi
• Den Hollander
• SDU
• M.A.D.Lex (VAST)
• Uitgeverij Paris

Daarnaast is Rechtsorde nog in gesprek met andere uitgevers om hun documenten te laten doorzoeken en gebruiken door GenIA-L. Deze documenten worden nu nog niet door GenIA-L gebruikt en dit betreft documenten van de volgende uitgevers waarop de EUR een licentie heeft:

• Wolters Kluwer
• Boom Uitgevers

En nu verder?
Ben je geïnteresseerd in het gebruik van generatieve AI in het juridisch vakgebied? Of wil je kijken wat de mogelijkheden voor jou zijn? Vanaf nu is dit mogelijk; maak er gebruik van!

Vragen en Opmerkingen?
Mochten er vragen of opmerkingen zijn over het abonnement Rechtsorde, neem dan contact op met Niels van Tol, Law Faculty Liaison; vantol@eur.nl

Mochten er vragen zijn over de achterliggende AI-technologie, security & privacy, dan heeft Rechtsorde aanvullende technische informatie beschikbaar. Bij interesse voor deze informatie kan er contact opgenomen worden met het team van Rechtsorde via: support@rechtsorde.nl of 088 6780 200.

Erasmus University Rotterdam now has access to the 6th edition of "Crime and Everyday Life : A Brief Introduction" by Marcus Felson and Mary Eckert.

An interesting book on crime and society, providing a good introduction on the why and how of crime in society, and offering practical tips and ideas on preventing crime, as it is easier to prevent then to cure.

• Chapter 1: Eight Fallacies About Crime
• Chapter 2: The Chemistry for Crime
• Chapter 3: Offenders Make Decisions
• Chapter 4: Bringing Crime to You
• Chapter 5: Teenage Crime
• Chapter 6: Big Gang Theory
• Chapter 7: How Crime Multiplies
• Chapter 8: Situational Crime Prevention
• Chapter 9: Local Design Against Crime
• Chapter 10: The Age of Exposure

Catalogue Link to Crime and Everyday Life

3 new digital titles have been acquired for the collection of the Erasmus University Library, based on requests by researchers and professors.

This trial has now ended
The University Library has taken a 1-month trial on Wolters Kluwer China Law & Reference till the 8th of February 2024

Wolters Kluwer China Law & Reference

China Law & Reference contains laws, administrative-, departmental-, local-, and military regulations, judicial interpretations, industry standards, and treaties of the People's Republic of China. Also available are 500+ cases, over 3200 articles, 72 commentaries, and over 28.000 Law Expresses (news items).

The documents are available either in Chinese or English, with treaties and regulations being available in a double-language overview.

Access is on IP-basis, so using it from outside the campus requires you to use eduVPN.

For comments and feedback, please fill out this LibWizard Form