Skip to main content

Law

This guide gives an overview of sources on law

COVID-19 - Update

Currently the University Library, ISS Library, and the Sanders Law Library are closed as study places

Online Collection
This Library Guide provides links to these sources. These can be accessed online from home or any other location.

Requesting Digital Resources
When you require digital resources unavailable to Erasmus University or have questions on digital resources, please contact me by email: vantol@eur.nl

Requesting Paper Resources
It is now possible to collect and return books at the University Library.
It is now possible to collect and return books at the ISS Library
If there are any issues, please contact me by email: vantol@eur.nl

COVID-19 Pandemic Extra Resources

Many publishers are providing extra access to resources. A list of these resources can be found here: https://libguides.eur.nl/az.php?t=26495
This list will be updated as more resources become available.

NEW: Temporary access to eBook platform Boom Juridisch
Till the 1st of August, Erasmus University students and employees have access to publications on this platform, with 3 simultaneous users per publication. Most Boom Collections are accessible except Public administration, Criminology and Eleven (Law).
https://www.boomportaal.nl/

For access, you are recommended to use eduVPN
https://eur.eduvpn.nl/portal/home

New Available Resources:


Welcome!

This subject guide provides an overview of available and recommended sources of law for the students, researchers and employees of the Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Use the menu to jump to content sections within the guide. On a PC/MAC the menu is on the left, on a mobile it's at the top of the page.
Use the browser scroll bar to see all content in a long section. Click the up button up buton to return to the top of a section.

The content sections move from general to specific.

Home points you towards search tools such as sEURch, the EUR library's integrated search engine, and legal search tools that help you navigate content in publishers' portals. You can also view a video recording (45 mins) of a lecture given (in Dutch) by the former Faculty Liaison René Winter for 3rd year Law students. René points students to information sources and databases on Law available for EUR students at the Erasmus University Library and accessible through this guide.

Tools provides all sorts of useful reference works; look up abbreviations used in Dutch legal citation, find a definition of a legal concept in a dictionary or an introductory article in an encyclopedia. You'll also find guidelines for annual reports and templates for legal practice.

Legal news provides sources for Dutch and International (legal) news.

A-Z databases - Law lists all the databases alphabetically with a short description.

Recommended sources and journals for specific fields of law are listed next:
General Law
Civil Law
Criminal Law
European Law
Foreign and International Law
Labour and Social Law
Privacy Law
Public Law
Tax Law

If you have any questions, comments or suggestions about this guide, or need further help with using this guide or your area of research, please let me know!

Library catalogues

sEURch - Erasmus University Library
sEURch returns details of books, book chapters, journals, journal articles, etc. from libraries worldwide through Worldcat, giving priority in the search result to those items held by Erasmus University Rotterdam.

NB Content from Kluwer Navigator does not show automatically in the search result. Also, not all content in Kluwer Navigator is available in the EUR collection. To view results from Kluwer Navigator in sEURch:

  • Click Advanced search
  • Scroll down in the list of databases to 'Other databases'
  • Select Kluwer
  • Scroll up to the top of the list of databases and click Save Changes

Legal search tools

Bibliotheekinstructie

 

Video recording (45:33) of a library lecture given (in Dutch) by René Winter for 3rd year Law students. René Winter points students to information sources and databases on Law available to EUR students and accessible through the Law Guide.