LibGuides: History: Press

Press

Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search interface for all Gale newspapers available at EUR. Click 'Newspapers' to search in all or a selection of titles. Available are:
- The Economist, 1843-2015
- Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2016
- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
- The Independent Historical Archive 1986-2016
- International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1888-2013
- The Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2016
- The Times, 1785-2019

Gale Digital Scholar Lab offers advanced text analysis tools to use on a self-made selection of articles from these newspapers. Access guaranteed until March 31, 2024.

Related database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized and digital-born content from the international weekly news magazine, from its foundation in 1843 up to 2015.
Started as an anti-import tariffs periodical run by an economist, it soon expanded into political economy and eventually began running articles on current events, finance, commerce, and British politics. In the second half of the twentieth century it became the international news medium it is today.

The Library also provides access to the current issues and recent archive of The Economist via several vendors, see sEURch for all the options.

Related databases: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, The Times of India Digital Archive. Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times and the International Herald Tribune. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
The complete run of the London edition of the internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2016.
Started as a City of London news sheet, the FT grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, it chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today.

The Financial Times Historical Archive includes:
- The Lex column: a sharp and authoritative voice on corporate and financial matters;
- All classified and display advertising;
- Access to thousands of daily price/stock indexes and currency tables;
- The complete contents of FT Magazine and How to Spend It.

The Library also provides access to the current content of the Financial Times.

Related database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times and the Economist. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
Platform: Gale
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Full-text and image access to the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presents a vivid picture of British and world events in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
The Illustrated London News covered a wide range of subjects on its pages, making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research. Areas include:
- The Arts - reports and pictures of prominent art figures of the 19th and 20th centuries including: opera singers, vaudeville stars, painters and stars of stage and screen;
- Fashion - the ILN's fashion column provides a unique insight into the styles of the day, from corsets through to flapper dresses. The advertising pages provide a sociological view of fashion, with adverts for mourning clothes, undergarments, evening wear, jewelry and cosmetics;
- Industry and Trade - covers the growth of the industrial North, living conditions experienced by the working man, trade imports from the colonies, strikes, child employment, domestic servants and agriculture;
- Military History - ILN war artists were sent to all corners of the earth to cover the wars of the 19th and 20th centuries including: 1848 revolution in France, the Crimean War, American Civil War, the Boer War, World Wars I and II;
- Science, Medicine and Progress - ILN was keen to enlighten its readers about the latest advances providing engravings of the first letterbox in London, reporting of the laying of the Transatlantic telegraph cable and explanations of the workings of an early light bulb;
- Social History - illustrated coverage of servants, female suffrage, strikes, homes, crime, leisure, emigration, and religion;
- Sport - football, rugby, tennis, cricket to the more unusual cock-fighting, curling and pig-sticking.

Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times, the Economist and the Telegraph. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
The Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016 This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of a major British daily newspaper, launched in 1986.
Over the last thirty years, The Independent has taken strong campaigning positions on issues such as drug legislation, the War on Terror, and the environment.

Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times, The Telegraph and the Economist. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

Related databases: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 This link opens in a new window
Originally set up as the European edition of the New York Herald and having the expatriate American community living in Paris as a reading audience, it was the first “global” newspaper. As such it had an independent editorial spirit and a strong focus on objective reporting of international news.
After the New York Times company took ownership of the newspaper in 2003, the IHT continued to produce a large amount of unique content until its closure in 2013.

Related databases: The New York Times, The Times Digital Archive.

Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times and the Economist. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016 This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper.
Directed at a wealthy, well-educated readership, the newspaper is commonly associated with traditional Toryism despite its more liberal beginnings, especially in regard to foreign policy.

Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the library collection, such as The Independent and The Times. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

American Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
General interest periodicals from the United States, 1740-1940. Contains special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
more...less...
Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Many of the publications reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's 'Uncle Tom's Cabin' in National Era.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.

Beeld en Geluid op School This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of Dutch audiovisual material, most importantly the broadcasts of the Polygoon Journaal and the Dutch public television (starting in 1955).

Delpher newspapers
Digitized content of Dutch newspapers and Dutch radio bulletins (1937-1984). For more information on the content of Delpher, see this webpage.
Europeana Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized content of a wide array of newspapers from Europe, dating from 1618 to 1996. You can browse through a specific newspaper or see which newspapers are available per country. Almost a quarter of the newspapers are full-text searchable. More information on how to use Europeana Newspapers can be found in the Help Guides.

Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content from periodicals and news media from 1980 up to today, both text based as well as audiovisual. More than 40% of the content is unique to the database.
A key feature of the Advanced Search option is that you can filter on very specific document (=content) types: from Advertisement and Aerial photography to Speech and Television programs. A list of all titles currently available in this database can be downloaded from this page (search for 'Gale General OneFile').
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news channels, as well as leading newspaper titles from around the world. Of almost 50% of the titles the newest editions are available full-text (without photos), including The Economist, Newsweek (as of 1994), The Washington Post (as of 2014), New Delhi Times (as of 2016), Global Times (China, as of 2018) and The Huffington Post (as of 2019).
To find a specific title, use the Advanced search option.

A list of all titles currently available can be downloaded from this page (search for 'Gale OnFile: News').

Harper's Bazaar Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of Harper's Bazaar magazine from 1867 until today.
more...less...
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Les gazettes européennes du 18e siècle (French only)
Digitized newspapers in French language, published in various European countries during the eighteenth century. You can browse through them, but it is not possible to perform a free text search.
Nederlandse Centrale Catalogus - Dutch and international newspapers
Central catalogue of all Dutch university libraries and the Royal Library. Use this catalogue to find holdings of digitized and non-digitized (hardcopy) Dutch and international newspapers and news magazines.
more...less...
You can either visit the library in person and access the material there, or request a copy (a fee applies) via Interlibrary Loan .
Newspaper archives at the National Library of the Netherlands (KB)
- This link opens in a new window
Please note that the majority of the listed resources require you to be a member of the KB before you can access them (see the filter option Accessibility). Information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
more...less...
Keep in mind that some of the newspaper databases that the KB offers are actually available to EUR students without costs because the University Library has purchased a licence. Therefore, first have a close look at the other databases on this page, or do a check via our alphabetical list of databases.

The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image access from the first issue in 1851 up to 2020.
The Library also offers full-text and image access to the current edition and the most recent archive of The New York Times. For tips on how to search efficiently for news items, have a look at our News sources LibGuide).

Related databases: The Washington Post archive (1877-2006); The Wall Street Journal archive (1889-2011)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital-born content of Dutch and international newspapers and other news outlets, from 1990 onwards (date range and update schedule differ per title). For tips on how to search effectively in Nexis Uni, see our LibGuide 'Newspapers, magazines & articles on current affairs'.
Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant and NRC Handelsblad) and news wires like PR Newswire.

Also included is company information, law reviews and cases

Please note: Legal news, law reviews and legal cases are mostly American.
Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990.
Related databases: Factiva; Delpher
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The New York Times (1851-2020), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), The Washington Post (1877-2008), and The Times of India (1838-2011).
Each year around December an extra year of content of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Times of India is added to the database.

Related database: Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper archives

Public Libraries in the Netherlands - hardcopy Dutch newspapers and news magazines
Shared catalogue of the biggest Public Libraries in the Netherlands.
more...less...
Use this search screen to find holdings of non-digitized (hardcopy) Dutch newspapers and news magazines. Formats include paper (bound issues) and microfilm.

You can either visit the library in person and access the material there, or request a copy from the holding library via your own Public Library (you need to be a member and a fee applies).

The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized and digital-born content from 1785-2019.
Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the library collection, such as The Illustrated London News and The Telegraph. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

Related database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, The Times of India Digital Archive
The Times of India Digital Archive (1838-2011) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of the oldest English-language newspaper in India still in circulation (founded 1838).
Started as "The Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce", the paper published Wednesdays and Saturdays under the direction of Raobahadur Narayan Dinanath Velkar, a Maharashtrian Reformist, and contained news from Britain and the world, as well as the Indian Subcontinent. As of 1850 it publishes daily editions. In 1861 the newspaper got its present name. The archive has an embargo of 12 years, meaning in late 2024 content from 2012 will become available.

Access to the more recent archive and latest edition of The Times of India is provided via databases Nexis Uni (click 'View online' in sEURch. For tips on how to search in Nexis Uni, have a look at our News sources LibGuide) and Gale OneFile: News (starting 2005).

Related database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive
Vers Beton This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vers Beton is a journalism platform for inquisitive and critical thinkers from Rotterdam. Its articles focus on the city of Rotterdam and inhabitants, covering the fields of politics, architecture and urban development, art and culture, society and care, and economics and entrepreneurship. It also includes in-depth investigative journalism.
To read the articles: click 'Inloggen' and choose 'Inloggen met SURFconext', via SURFconext you can login with your ERNA-account.

Vogue Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of Vogue magazine from 1892 until today.
more...less...
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.

The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image access from the first issue in 1889 up to 2012.
The Library also offers full-text access to the current edition and the most recent archive of The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest One Business. For tips on how to search efficiently for news items, have a look at our News sources LibGuide.

Related databases: The Washington Post (1877-2006); The New York Times (1851-2019)
The Washington Post (1877-2008) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image access from the first issue in 1877 up to 2008.
Access to the more recent archive and current edition of The Washington Post is provided via several databases (click 'Access online'). For tips on how to search efficiently in those databases, have a look at our News sources LibGuide.

Related databases: The New York Times archive 1851-2019; Wall Street Journal archive 1889-2011

Wikipedia list of online newspaper archives
Women's Magazine Archive - Collection 1 & 2
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image archives of American and Canadian women’s interest magazines from the period 1886-2005. Includes a.o. Cosmopolitan - New York (1886-2005).
more...less...
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
The Women’s Wear Daily Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Complete historical archive of this important US fashion trade publication. Starting in 1910 and covering material up to the last twelve months.
more...less...
All content is scanned in color with searchable text and indexing.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.

Newspapers, magazines & articles on current affairs
by Frea Haandrikman Last Updated Dec 19, 2024 10910 views this year