Selection of British primary source collections. Material originates mainly but not solely from the 19th century and deals with sociopolitical and economic issues. Also valuable diplomatic materials are indexed, f.e. in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, which consists largely of reports sent back to London by English and later British ambassadors (1545-1900). COVID-19: in response to the corona crisis, JSTOR has made this database available for free until December 31, 2020.
Includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. Available untill May 31, 2020.
Contains three governmental collections:
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 - Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 - Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
- Senate Executive Journals, 1789-1980 - Features the deliberations of American senators on a wide variety of events, organizations and people, with a strong focus on nominations across military, judicial and executive branches and on international treaties.
Apart from the search interfaces per collection listed above, you can also search across all three collections via this search interface.
America's Historical Government Documents also contains NewsBank Current Events and Special Reports on U.S. contemporary politics.
Materials include State Department political analyses, White House confidential file materials, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence memoranda, and much more. The collection is constantly being updated as new material is released by government agencies, the National Archives, and Presidential Libraries.
Please note that access is only possible on-site at the Roosevelt Institute for American Studies (formerly known as Roosevelt Study Center) in Middelburg. Students are requested to make an appointment before visiting the RIAS to consult this collection by sending an email to email@example.com.
The archive encompasses a broad range of US websites, but has a focus on US politics and government (federal, state, district and local government; candidates for political office (president, congress, governor); political commentary, and political parties).
An overview of all collections in the archive containing links to the collections can be found on this page.
Please note that the biggest collection is the vaguely titled 'Humanities and Social Sciences Division', which contains a broad range of websites, including government and election websites.
You can perform a free text search and then filter your search result on collection, subject or language.
You can either perform a quick keyword/url search or try the advanced search to find websites. Twitter and YouTube accounts can be browsed per category. An extensive manual on how to use the collections effectively can be found on this page.
UKGWA also developed a special bookmarklet that enables you to quickly check if UKGWA has captured a particular resource while browsing the web.
Also gives access to laws and regulations, official publications of the Dutch government, press releases of national and local public administration.
Although the website and search interface are only available in Dutch, there is some information on (the organisation of) Dutch government services available in English via this page, including links to the English-language pages on the websites of Dutch government organisations.
The information includes the date on and the place at which the treaty was concluded, the date of its entry into force, where to find the text of the treaty, the parties (countries, territories and international organizations) and the date of each party’s ratification, any reservations, declarations or objections that may have been made, and relations between the different treaties.