Charts the practice of slave trade on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, with particular focus on the involvement of England/the United Kingdom, France, and the United States, but also containing materials pertaining to Portugal/Brazil, Spain and Denmark.
This database features a wide range of materials, from monographs and individual papers to company records, newspapers, and a variety of government documents, and stemming from archives in the UK and the US. The available materials cover a wide spectrum of subjects related to the history of slavery: legal issues; economics; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more, from 1490 to 1896. For an overview of the collections and a detailed description of the content of each collection, see this page.
With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
Collection of primary sources created by women and on women’s experiences in and impact on British and American society between 1820 and 2000.
Of particular importance are the materials that focus solely on female authors, magazines and journals produced by women, and materials from minority groups in the United States. For a quick overview of the collections in this database, click here.
Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search a range of primary source databases, including several UK newspapers, such as The Independent and The Times. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.
Chatham House is a world-leading policy institute for international affairs. The archive starts in the founding year of the institute (1920) and runs up to 2008, thereby enabling you to explore close to ninety years of expert analysis and commentary on international affairs.
Please note that Flash needs to be installed to be able to view the PDF's of documents. On campus it is therefore advisable to use Google Chrome.
Subject indexing allows users to quickly retrieve and review briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, monographs, and thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts, offering insight into the experiences and opinions of key figures in international affairs, including Mahatma Gandhi, Winston Churchill, Willy Brandt, and Henry Kissinger. Users will also have access to the full text of two of Chatham House’s flagship periodicals, International Affairs and The World Today.
Research environment facilitating access to key Dutch audio-visual and contextual collections (radio, television, films, oral history interviews) with advanced mixed media search and analysis tools. Media Suite works as an aggregator of the metadata, but also enables access to the media content itself.
To access the Media Suite, you need to log in with your ERNA.
Collections included in the Media Suite are based at:
• The National Library of the Netherlands (digitized Dutch newspapers - Delpher)
• The Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision
• EYE Film Museum
• DANS (oral history interview collections)
• Collections from the Open Images Project
Media Suite includes tools that allow you a.o. to perform search, annotation, automatic speech recognition, including experimental Jupyter notebooks to work with your corpus and user data (bookmarks, annotations, queries, search sessions, and user collections).
Contains the following collections: American Politics and Society
• Thomas A. Edison Papers (1850-1919)
• Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library (1861-1976)
• Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
• American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate (1960-1975)
International Relations and Military Conflicts
• U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
• U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
• World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
• Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
• Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational records of three women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance, 1880-1990
• Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Records of suffrage and women's rights organizations and advocates, women at work during World War II.
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Types of publication > choose the type of primary source that you are looking for: newspaper content, (digitized) printed books, images, or manuscripts.
Please note that more than half of the listed resources require you to be a member of the KB before you can access them, and a few of those can only be accessed at the KB premises (see the filter option Accessibility). Information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Also keep in mind that some of these resources are available to EUR students without costs because the University Library has purchased a license. You can check if this is the case via the the alphabetical databases list.
The digitized and digital-born sources come from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics (datasets). You can either browse by source type, place, subject or period, or do a keyword or title search.