LibGuides: History: Resources per subdiscipline

Resources per subdiscipline

Women’s Studies Archive: Voice and Vision This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary sources created by women and on women’s experiences in and impact on British and American society between 1820 and 2000.
Of particular importance are the materials that focus solely on female authors, magazines and journals produced by women, and materials from minority groups in the United States. For a quick overview of the collections in this database, click here.

Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search a range of primary source databases, including several UK newspapers, such as The Independent and The Times. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

For related databases, see Resources per subdiscipline/Women's/Gender History in the History Guide.

Archives Unbound / Gender and Women's Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the following archival collections on women's/gender history:
LGBTQ history
• Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976
• Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994 (in response to the AIDS crisis)
• Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
• Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
• Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
• Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters, 1947-2004
Women's history
• FBI File on Eleanor Roosevelt
• Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA, 1950-1980
• Women's periodicals, 1786-1933
• Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
• Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
• Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
• Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Men's history
• The Changing Men Collection Vertical Files, 1961-2003 - about the modern men's movement in the United States and throughout the world.
ProQuest History Vault/Women's Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the following collections:
- Struggle for Women's Rights - Organizational records of three American women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance, 1880-1990. For more information on the archives included, see this page.
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library - Records of American suffrage and women's rights organizations and advocates. For more information on the archives included, see this page.
- Women's Magazine Archive - American and Canadian lifestyle magazines for women, 1883-2005. To search within only this collection, deselect all databases and then select 'Women's Magazine Archive (1883-2005' (see at the bottom of the list).
more...less...
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online, 1543-1945
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized materials from the collection of Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Encompases almost 5,000 books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
more...less...
Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Digitaal Vrouwenlexicon van Nederland

Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: BusinessWeek
Full-text access to BusinessWeek, an American weekly business magazine, from its first issue in 1929 up to the early 2000s.
more...less...
Originally targeting business managers, early sections of the magazine included marketing, labor, finance, management. Washington Outlook, a section on US economic policy was included sound, which made BusinessWeek one of the first publications to cover US political issues that directly impacted the business world.

In the 1970s the magazine shifted its strategy and added consumers outside the business world. As of 1975, the magazine was carrying more advertising pages annually than any other magazine in the United States.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
Europeana - Industrial Heritage
Digitised collections of European cultural heritage organisations and personal stories of working lives.

Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Provides financial and economic data for more than 150 countries from the Middle Ages until today, including interest rates, exchange rates, stock market indices, commodity prices, and total returns on bonds.
To get access to GFD you have to register first. Use your ERNA email address - you will get an email with your password. Researcher are advised to read the conditions carefully. You must delete the data after your research is done and properly reference to GFD in your article.

International Directory of Company Histories
- This link opens in a new window
Provides concise histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
Links to companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records.

Cambridge Library Collection - Slavery and Abolition
- This link opens in a new window
82 digitized books from the time of slavery (and the decades directly after abolition), including many works by formerly enslaved people. Most titles are from the US, but there also many works from the British colonies or pertaining to British abolitionist activities. Available until April 30, 2024.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Archive: Slave trade in the Atlantic world This link opens in a new window
Charts the practice of slave trade on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, with particular focus on the involvement of England/the United Kingdom, France, and the United States, but also containing materials pertaining to Portugal/Brazil, Spain and Denmark.
This database features a wide range of materials, from monographs and individual papers to company records, newspapers, and a variety of government documents, and stemming from archives in the UK and the US. The available materials cover a wide spectrum of subjects related to the history of slavery: legal issues; economics; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more, from 1490 to 1896. For an overview of the collections and a detailed description of the content of each collection, see this page.

With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

For related databases, see Resources per subdiscipline/History of slavery in the History Guide.

Suriname: Slavenregisters
Digitized records from the colonial slave registery of Surinam, covering the period 1830-1863.
more...less...
The original registry books are kept in the Surinam National Archives (NAS) in Paramaribo (NAS Toegang 16, Inventarisnummers 1-43).
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information/data on more than 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries.
North American Slave Narratives
Collection of books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights from the 18th-20th century. Includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.
more...less...
You can search for texts by author/narrator, or search for images (in those texts or stand alone) by discipline.

Besides this collection, Documenting the South contains other thematic collections on the history of the South of the US. You can search all collections by a subject, or an author/creator or title of a text, image or audio file.
The Dutch in the Caribbean World, 1670-1870
Research tool in two parts:
a) Guide to archival sources on the Dutch colonies in the Caribbean World
b) Summary of the relevant laws and regulations of the period.
more...less...
The guide to archival sources covers collections in the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Curaçao, Suriname and Guyana, especially those that contain information about slavery and multicultural relations.

Croatian Memories
Collection of filmed personal memories of witnesses of political events in Croatia in the 20th century, focusing on war testimonies.
Oral History Association centers and collections
Gateway to US and British oral history collections and websites.

Human Rights Documentation Initiative
Archived web resources of human rights struggles worldwide, collected and curated by the University of Texas Libraries (UTL).
more...less...
You can perform a free text search and filter by country/region ('Coverage'), subject ('Thesaurus Term'), or language.

History

Faculty Liaison

Access to our online collection

Resources per subdiscipline