The Consumer Pyramids Household Survey (CPHS) is a continuous survey to measure household well-being in India. The micro data comprises a large longitudinal panel of households surveyed on topics like income, well being, consumer expenditure, health, migration, employment, time-use, education, religion and many more.
Important: Users need to register for an account at CMIE.
Source: Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy. Topic: microdata, survey data.
Brings together files from the UK National Archives covering intelligence and security matters from 1905-2002. Material has been sourced from the UK Ministry of Defence, the Cabinet Office, the Colonial Office, MI5 (British Domestic Security Service) and the SOE (Special Operations Executive), reflecting an intelligence network that spans the globe. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
This database contains the following collections:
The Security Service (MI5): KV 2, KV 3 & KV 4
Personal, Subject and Policy files dating from 1905-1978. MI5 handled intelligence gathering within the British Empire and the Commonwealth. The selected subseries of KV 2 holds personal files on subjects of Secret Service enquiries, whilst KV 3 contains subject files on espionage activities of groups or other intelligence organisations, including the only subject files known to have survived from the First World War period. KV 4 holds section histories and policy files.
The Ministry of Defence: Communications and Intelligence Records: DEFE 21, DEFE 26, DEFE 28, DEFE 31, DEFE 41, DEFE 44, DEFE 60, DEFE 62, DEFE 63 & DEFE 64
These series include registered files, reports and memoranda of the Directorate of Scientific Intelligence, the Defence Intelligence Staff and the Defence Signals Staff focused on the technical and scientific interests of the British government from the Second World War to the decades of the Cold War and the Atomic Age. The intelligence assessments and reports include those gathered post-war in Allied-occupied Germany, such as interviews with German scientists. With files dating from 1912-2002, these series bring the coverage up to the end of the twentieth century, and include defence records on the Falklands, the Middle East, UFO incidents and details of Soviet weapon systems.
The Special Operations Executive: HS 7 & HS 8
These are records of the Ministry of Economic Warfare and the Special Operations Executive (SOE), which functioned during WWII to promote sabotage and subversion, and assist resistance groups in enemy occupied territory, famously directed by Winston Churchill to ‘set Europe ablaze!’. Records date from 1935-1988 and include histories & war diaries in HS 7, and headquarters records in HS 8.
The Colonial Office: Intelligence and Security Departments: Registered Files (ISD Series): CO 1035
This series contains registered files of the Colonial Office relating to the security of British colonies, and intelligence on colonial matters and decolonisation, including reports by Security Intelligence Advisors throughout the British Empire, and assessments from the Joint Intelligence Committee. Running from 1954-1966, these files represent a vital piece of the intelligence picture of the global Cold War and decolonisation at the end of Empire.
The Cabinet Office: CAB 56, CAB 121, CAB 176 & CAB 301
The material in these series dates from 1936-1974 and shows how intelligence matters were considered, analysed, and processed through the Cabinet Office. Records from the Joint Intelligence Committee appear alongside Policy and Strategy files from the Special Secret Information Centre, and selected intelligence material from the Cabinet Secretary’s Miscellaneous Papers held in CAB 301.
The Development Economics Collection is not solely focused on Economics but also contains Edward Elgar titles from major Business, Social and Political Science, and Law collections to create a well-rounded resource on Development Economics. The collection is made up of over 250 handbooks, research reviews, and reference books.
EU Law Live provides news, analysis and op-eds on European Union Law.
Also provided are an overview of daily events in the Morning section, book reviews in the Library section and future (and past) events in the Events section. Every weekend, an online journal is published containing in-depth articles and an overview of that week's highlights.
The complete run of the London edition of the internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2016. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
Started as a City of London news sheet, the FT grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, it chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today.
The Financial Times Historical Archive includes:
- The Lex column: a sharp and authoritative voice on corporate and financial matters;
- All classified and display advertising;
- Access to thousands of daily price/stock indexes and currency tables;
- The complete contents of FT Magazine and How to Spend It.
Originally set up as the European edition of the New York Herald and having the expatriate American community living in Paris as a reading audience, it was the first “global” newspaper. As such it had an independent editorial spirit and a strong focus on objective reporting of international news. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
After the New York Times company took ownership of the newspaper in 2003, the IHT continued to produce a large amount of unique content until its closure in 2013.
Lloyd's List provides extensive information on the shipping industry. Through Lloyd's users have access to reports, tools and market data, the Containers Data Hub, bulk and port data and environmental indicators. Note that EUR also provides access to Lloyd’s Law reports and Lloyd’s Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly.
First-time users have to set up an account at Lloyds to get full access. To do so, please register on campus at Lloyds with your EUR email address (e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org). From outside the campus you can only register for an account at Lloyds through EZ-Proxy. Please use your EUR email address when registering. For more information on how to use EZ-proxy, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/using-library/campus-access.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law (OSAIL) contains over 180 full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
E-books in the field of political science, published by Oxford University Press
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press. The Political Science collection contains over 180 titles, including books on Comparative Politics, International Relations and Politics, Conflict Politics and Policy, Security Studies, Political Theory, and more.
The Prowess CMIE database comprises data for listed and non-listed Indian companies (N=40K). Coverage e.g. annual reports, stock prices, profit and loss statements, ownership structures, corporate actions, balance sheet data and ratios.
Time-series data are availble from the 1990's.
Charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, with particular focus on the United Kingdom, France, and the United States. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
This collection features a wide range of materials, from monographs and individual papers to company records, newspapers, and a variety of government documents. An international editorial board with scholars specializing in North American, European, African, and Latin American/Caribbean aspects of the slave trade help make Part II more international in scope than Part I.
Part II covers a wide spectrum of subjects related to the history of slavery: legal issues; economics; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more, from 1490 to 1896. This collection is particularly relevant in its significant coverage of France, Haiti, Jamaica, Denmark, Portugal, Brazil, Senegal, and many other countries and regions.
Content in Part II is especially valuable for:
- European travelers and missionaries accounts: they often are the only records available to document the evidence of slavery in Africa;
- European business records: These records are particularly valuable for piecing together the many wars and commercial disputes among the African powers on the Gold Coast (modern day Ghana), Sierra Leone, the Gambia area and the region around the old kingdom of Dahomey (modern day Bènin);
- Further evidence beyond the United States and the United Kingdom of the international debates around the abolition of the slave trade.
Full text and image access to the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presents a vivid picture of British and world events in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
The Illustrated London News covered a wide range of subjects on its pages, making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research. Areas include:
- The Arts - reports and pictures of prominent art figures of the 19th and 20th centuries including: opera singers, vaudeville stars, painters and stars of stage and screen;
- Fashion - the ILN's fashion column provides a unique insight into the styles of the day, from corsets through to flapper dresses. The advertising pages provide a sociological view of fashion, with adverts for mourning clothes, undergarments, evening wear, jewelry and cosmetics;
- Industry and Trade - covers the growth of the industrial North, living conditions experienced by the working man, trade imports from the colonies, strikes, child employment, domestic servants and agriculture;
- Military History - ILN war artists were sent to all corners of the earth to cover the wars of the 19th and 20th centuries including: 1848 revolution in France, the Crimean War, American Civil War, the Boer War, World Wars I and II;
- Science, Medicine and Progress - ILN was keen to enlighten its readers about the latest advances providing engravings of the first letterbox in London, reporting of the laying of the Transatlantic telegraph cable and explanations of the workings of an early light bulb;
- Social History - illustrated coverage of servants, female suffrage, strikes, homes, crime, leisure, emigration, and religion;
- Sport - football, rugby, tennis, cricket to the more unusual cock-fighting, curling and pig-sticking.
Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the Library collection, such as The Times, the Economist and the Telegraph.
Database containing formerly classified records, providing a behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policy-making on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
Documents selected for this database come from collection editors who actively monitor the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries as well as numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Atomic Energy Commission, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of State, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), National Security Council, White House, and other executive agencies. The majority of the documents are presidential records.
Included materials are:
Cabinet meeting minutes
CIA intelligence studies and reports
FBI surveillance and intelligence correspondence and memoranda
Full texts of letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
Joint Chiefs papers
National Security Council policy statements
State Department political analyses
Trade treaties, studies and analyses
U.S. briefing materials for meetings with foreign heads of state and government officials
White House Confidential File materials
The United Nations iLibrary is a comprehensive source for digital content published by the United Nations.
This trial ends on 31 May, 2021. Please inform us if you think the University Library should provide access to the United Nations iLibrary beyond May 2021.
United Nations iLibrary provides access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
• Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry
• Children and Youth
• Democracy and Governance
• Drugs, Crime and Terrorism
• Economic and Social Development
• Environment and Climate Change
• Human Rights and Refugees
• Human Settlements and Urban Issues
• International Law and Justice
• International Trade and Finance
• Natural Resources, Water and Energy
• Peacekeeping and Security
• Population and Demography
• Public Health
• Transportation and Public Safety
• United Nations
• Women and Gender Issues
Collection of primary sources from and on women’s experiences and impact on society in Great-Britain and the United States between 1820 and 2000. Access guaranteed until March 30, 2022
Of particular importance are the materials that focus solely on female authors or magazines and journals produced by women and materials from minority groups in the United States. For a quick overview of the collections in this database, click here.