LibGuides: History: Journal articles

Open Access journal articles

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.

Journal articles

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains content from over 17,000 scholarly journals, of which more than 8,000 are available in full text, in Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Science, History, Marketing, Media & Fine Arts, Political Science, and Psychology. Also includes videos and podcasts from authoritative sources such as BBC Worldwide Learning.
Search the subject index to find articles tagged with specific subject terms.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.

To search for a specific journal in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index or view all journals in this index, see this page.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, newspapers, periodicals and dissertations in over 40 languages.
Date range: 1953-present
Platform: EBSCOhost

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Search engine for journal articles and abstracts.
more...less...
Want to get the most out of Google Scholar? Check this e-module on our Training & Support portal.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals and books from over 400 scholarly publishers.
Date range: 1993 - present
Related database: JSTOR
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 120 scholarly publishers.
For an overview of the indexed journals in History, see this page.
Date range: In general journals have been indexed from the first issue. Please note that for most journals the last three to five years are not available via JSTOR (the moving wall embargo).

The EUR subscribes to the collections
- Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, VII and IX
- Business I
- Health & General Sciences

History

Access to our online collection

E-journals

Open Access journal articles

Journal articles