LibGuides: History: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of (subject) dictionaries and encyclopedias, timelines and quotations, plus thesauri and guides to English grammar and usage.
Contains various historical reference works.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
- This link opens in a new window
includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks published by Gale Cengage. Includes many reference works for History, such as the Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History and the Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. Available on trial basis till December 31, 2020.
For a list of all available titles with their year of publication and ISBN indicated, click 'Title List' in the top right of the screen.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History
- This link opens in a new window
covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law.
Berg Fashion Library
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 100 Bloomsbury fashion eBooks, a large collection of reference works on fashion, including the A-Z of Fashion (= The Berg Companion to Fashion), the Dictionary of Fashion History, and the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
more...less...
Also indexed are more than 15,000 images of fashion objects held in disparate collections across the world. More information on the content of the BFL can be found this page.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the present
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering the history of protest and revolution since 1500. Available till December 31, 2023.
more...less...
Entries are classified by key topic, subject, place, people, and period. Items can be found by searching, browsing, and cross-referencing.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements Online
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia containing over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.
more...less...
Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics to create an understanding of social and political developments and changes throughout much of human history, from the French revolution, to the global women’s movement, to Martin Luther King Jr. and the American civil rights movement, through to more recent issues including environmentalism and the Arab Spring.