History

You can either perform a simple or an advanced search. Besides searching for (records of) materials, you can search for names of persons, families and corporate body entities (such as the East India Company). A third option is to search for archival institutions in Europe, or browse these institutions via the 'Directory' tab. Pay attention that your institution search will also bring up archives whose collection/inventory is not indexed in the portal. For detailed information on all the search options, see this Help page.

If you create an account, you will be able to save searches and create and manage collections of searches and bookmarked search results.

You can also search for a specific collection in a US state, Canadian province or country and then browse its content.

You can either search for a specific archival collection, or search through the combined indexes of the collections.
Please note that the indexing has been done in Dutch only.

NEWS: A list of archives that have become available for research in January 2019 can be found on this page. Included are several archives related to Word War II, containing materials on topics such as: refugees in Vichy-France, Switserland, Spain and Portugal, escapees to Engeland ('Engelandvaarders'), and mayors collaborating with the German occupational forces. Furthermore, materials on the suppression of the Prague Rising in 1968 and the the government's decision to sent a Dutch military mission to Bosnia on the request of the UN in 1993 have been made available.

Archives opened in previous years:
2018 / 2017

The guide to archival sources covers collections in the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Curaçao, Suriname and Guyana, especially those that contain information about slavery and multicultural relations.