History

You can either find or reconstruct mementos by putting the url and the date (yyyy-mm-dd) you are looking for in the respective search bars. In most cases, archived Mementos that are found will not exactly match the requested time for the simple reason that the page was not preserved then. When following a link to a Memento in a specific archive, be aware that it may not exactly look the way it did in the past: embedded media may be missing, scripts may no longer work, or the rendering may be off.

If you want to have a quick look at the past of a web page while browsing it (or when you experience a dead link), you can install the Memento Time Travel extension for Chrome.

Time Travel searches in the collections of a.o. Internet Archive Wayback Machine, Library of Congress Web Archive, UK Government Web Archive and UK Web Archive. See this page for an up-to-date overview of all indexed web archives.

The archive encompasses a broad range of US websites, but has a focus on US politics and government (federal, state, district and local government; candidates for political office (president, congress, governor); political commentary, and political parties).
An overview of all collections in the archive containing links to the collections can be found on this page.

Please note that the biggest collection is the vaguely titled 'Humanities and Social Sciences Division', which contains a broad range of websites, including government and election websites.

You can perform a free text search and then filter your search result on collection, subject or language.