Skip to Main Content

History

This guide gives an overview of recommended sources for History.

Open Access ebooks

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - History
Discovery service for ebooks in the humanities and social sciences, published in Open Access. Includes 700 History titles.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) - History
Central repository for hosting and disseminating Open Access ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Contains over 800 peer reviewed academic books in the field of history.
more...less...
You can browse or search by title, author, series title, subject, ISBN, date, or full text.
OpenEdition Books - History
Web platform for mainly French language eBooks in the humanities and social sciences. Includes over 900 OA titles in the field of history. Use the Bisac filter to find relevant titles in a specific History subject
more...less...
Two thirds of the titles in the catalogue are published in Open Access. These titles are available free of charge in HTML and can be quoted, printed or embedded on external sites.

Books

Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to e-books published by Bloomsbury and its imprints.
Besides a substantial number of single titles, the majority of the available titles belongs to one of the following collections:
- Fashion 2018-2021
- Fashion Archive 2006-2017
- Fashion: Dress, Body, Culture Archive
- I.B. Tauris Fashion Archive 2001-2018
Oxford University Press eBooks in History This link opens in a new window
E-books in the field of history, published by Oxford University Press.
Accessible handbooks and companions in History are available via this link.

Date range: 1963-2023
Related database: Oxford Handbooks Online

Berg Fashion Library (access guaranteed until 31 December 2025)
Contains more than 100 Bloomsbury fashion eBooks, a large collection of reference works on fashion, including the A-Z of Fashion (= The Berg Companion to Fashion), the Dictionary of Fashion History, and the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
more...less...
Also indexed are more than 15,000 images of fashion objects held in disparate collections across the world. More information on the content of the BFL can be found this page.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.

Oxford Handbooks in History
Handbooks in History published by Oxford University Press. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
more...less...
You can search for specific handbooks, but also for articles (chapters) covering the topic you are interested in. There are over 2000 articles indexed.

Please note that not all Oxford University Press handbooks are available online. You should check sEURch if you cannot find a specific title here.

The University Library has also subscribed to collections for Business and Management, Economics and Finance, and Philosophy.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of full-text journal articles, ebooks and primary source material. Contains over 22.000 chapters from ebooks in History.
Date range: In general journals have been indexed from the first issue. Please note that for most journals the last three to five years are not available via JSTOR (the moving wall embargo).

The EUR subscribes to the collections
- Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, VII and IX
- Business I
- Health & General Sciences

Springer ebooks - History
Large collection of ebooks in the field of History.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographical data and abstracts and full text from master theses and doctoral dissertations all over the world.
If published after 1997, there can be a link to the full text of the dissertation in PDF. There are also open full text dissertations available.

Date range: 1743 - present
Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: DART-Europe; OpenDissertations

EUR theses and dissertations (print)
Theses and dissertations of FHKW (ESHCC) students and researchers from 1978-2008. Mostly in Dutch.
EUR Thesis Repository (digital)
Theses of FHKW/ESHCC students, from 2003 onwards. You can filter on specific Bachelors and Masters (in History).
Google Books
Access to the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and indexed.
more...less...
Books younger than 75 years are mostly only partially accessible.

Google has also partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives. However, the scans of these digitized issues do not include the metadata required for identifying specific articles.
Public Libraries in the Netherlands
Shared catalogue of the biggest Public Libraries in the Netherlands. Each of these libraries has an important academic collection (mainly but not exclusively in Dutch).
more...less...
Please note that you need to be a patron of a Dutch public Library - it does not have to be one of the Big Libraries - to be able to lend materials.