Several reputable newspapers have websites with a lot of free content; e.g. The Guardian's online content is completely free, without premium fees. You can also use the library's databases to find current online content of many papers and magazines. A recommended, and easy to use resources is Gale OneFile: News. Simply click on Publication Search and search for your preferred newspaper to read the latest issue. This LibGuide also includes instructions on how to use two other databases, Nexis Uni and Factiva, to find current news. Click on the tabs for detailed instructions.
The library also provides online access to:
Alternatively, browse print newspapers and weekly news magazines at the University Library on the ground floor, opposite the Information Desk (West 0). Magazines are placed in magazine racks at the reading desks and updated weekly. In the nearby newspaper stand you can find daily updated newspapers. Titles include, among others: Het Algemeen Dagblad, De Telegraaf, De Volkskrant, and the Guardian weekly.
At ISS newspapers and magazines can be found in the Lounge and journals section of the ISS Library. They include, among others: The Economist, The Guardian, and The Times.
* Registration is necessary, first time use automatically leads to sign-up page. After sign-up you can log in with the same account in the app.
** Access to the NY Times via the Eazy Proxy link or its app requires a one-time registration while connected to the EUR network (on campus or via EduVPN). Register for the NY Times here. If you don't want to register and want to access NY Times at home, switch on EduVPN instead.
*** Off campus usage and access through the FT app require an account. Register for FT with your ERNA email address here.
Find archived newspapers and other news sources in one of our many newspaper/news databases, ranging from sources over 100 years old to today's paper. They offer the option to search by subject, by publication, a combination of both, and more. Among these databases are:
This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news channels, as well as leading newspaper titles from around the world. Of almost 50% of the titles the newest editions are available full-text (without photos), including The Economist, Newsweek (as of 1994), The Washington Post (as of 2014), New Delhi Times (as of 2016), Global Times (China, as of 2018) and The Huffington Post (as of 2019).
This link opens in a new windowDatabase with access to full-text newspaper articles and other news sources (Dutch and international).
Full-text coverage of The New York Times (1851-2020), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), The Washington Post (1877-2008), and The Times of India (1838-2011).
This link opens in a new windowSearch interface for all Gale newspapers available at EUR. Click 'Newspapers' to search in all or a selection of titles. Available are:
This link opens in a new windowProvides access to content from periodicals and news media from 1980 up to today, both text based as well as audiovisual. More than 40% of the content is unique to the database.
Access New York Times content curated by influential educators around the world. Find a variety of teaching resources by subject, such as recommended NYTimes.com articles and real life teaching applications.