It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Research Impacts: Finding articles on a topic
In this part of the course we show you how to find articles on a particular topic, within Web of Science. Topics covered are:
These are the default settings in Web of Science:
All databases within the Web of Science Core Collection are searched, but you can select one or more particular databases: under Editions: All you can unmark the databases you don’t want to include.
All years are searched by default. when you use the + Add date range button you can add an Index Date, that's the period the records were added to the database. If you want to limit by publication year, it's best to use the Publication Years refine option on the search results page.
Lemmatization rules are applied automatically in Topic and Title search queries, for English-language search terms. With lemmatization vocabulary, phonological and spelling variants are searched as well. For example: when you enter behavior, both behavior and behaviour are used in the search. Lemmatization is not used when the search terms are enclosed in quotation marks and when search terms are used with wildcards and/or truncation.
You can search Web of Science in several ways. The basic search is the default:
On the startpage of Web of Science you find one search bar (you can add more by clicking the link Add row). You select a search field in the drop down menu at the right side.
You can search by, for example:
Topic: searches all words – in article titles, abstracts, author keywords, keywords plus field (these are index terms created by Web of Science in which the terms are derived from the titles of articles cited by the author of the article being indexed).
Author: searches any author. First enter the last name, followed by the first initial and an asterisk (for example: Schmidt H*).
Publication Titles: searches the name of the journal or proceedings.
Author Identifiers: this can be the ResearcherID or the ORCID iD. See for more information the chapter 'YOU in Web of Science'.
Affiliation: If you select this field, a AZ button appears in the seach bar. When you click this button, you can search in the Affiliation Index. Use this list to find the preferred name for an organization and the variants that have been identified and associated with it.
To combine search fields these search operators are used in the search screen:
All search terms must occur in the search results.
At least one search term must occur. This is useful when you use synonyms.
Excludes records containing a given search term.
These options can be selected in the dropdown menu’s between the search bars, but you can also use search operators within a search box, for example “social media” AND friend*. Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases in topic or title searches.
Truncation can be used to control plurals and variant spellings.
Any number of characters, for example friend* gives also friends, friendship, friendly.
To replace zero or 1 character, for example colo$r gives color and colour.
To replace 1 character, for example wom?n gives women and woman.
In the Advanced Search two extra search operators are available:
Can be used in Address searches – the entered terms appear in the same address. In other searches SAME works like AND.
Finds records where the search terms are within n number of words of each other. If you use NEAR without the /n this is interpreted as NEAR/15: the terms joined by NEAR are within 15 words of each other.
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a tool for journal evaluation, providing production and impact data drawn from over 21.000 scholarly journals worldwide. It presents quantifiable statistical data allowing users to determine the relative importance of journals within a field. The most well-known metric in the JCR is the Journal Impact Factor.
By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
It provides bibliographical information, such as basic citation data, detailed statistical tables and several measures derived from this data. Includes among others the Journal Impact Factor, Journal Citation Indicator, Immediacy Index, the Journal Cited and Citing Half-life and the Eigenfactor Score.
The Journal Citation Reports are available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is an analytical tool to identify top-performing research in Web of Science Core Collection. It ranks authors, institutions, countries and journals based on publication and citation performance.