Skip to main content

Course Research Impacts: Search results

Search results

In this part of the course we cover the search results in Sopus - what do you see on the screen and what can you do with it?

  • The document search results
  • Getting the full text of articles
  • Full record
  • Refining the search results
  • Analyzing the search results
  • Creating a citation overview
  • Saving and exporting records
  • Saving searches and creating search alerts

The document search results

The document search results appear as a list of titles: you see the title, authors, date, source and the number of citations within Scopus. You can hit the link Show all abstracts (at the top of the list of results, at the right side of the screen) to make the abstract visible as well. You can also do this for each separate document in the list, by clicking View abstract.

Scopus Document Results

By default this list is sorted on date, the newest document on top; you can change the order by choosing one of the options behind Sort on at the top of the results: you can sort on date, number of times cited, relevance, author and source.

In the blue bar on the top of the page, you can find links to secondary documents, patent results and datasets in Mendeley:

  • Under View secondary documents documents are shown that fit your search query, but are not found in Scopus itself, but for example in the reference lists of articles indexed by Scopus.
  • View patents results shows relevant patents from different patent offices.
  • View Mendeley Data returns datasets and documents saved in Mendeley Data.

Getting the full-text of articles

To find the full-text of the article, you can use the Erasmus signature – the link resolver of the EUR checks other databases to see if we have access to the full-text of the article. You can also use the link View at Publisher, but it’s possible the library has a subscription, but not through the publisher.

Full record

When you click on a title Scopus shows you more information about that particular document: the abstract, information about the author(s), the keywords, the references etc. The source title and the author names are also clickable, these links bring you to the Source page or to the Author page in Scopus.

At the right side of the document details screen you get additional information about the article. The Metrics module contains article level metrics, including the field-weighted citation impact, and the PlumX Metrics. The PlumX Metrics provide insights into the ways people interact with individual pieces of research output (articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and many more) in the online environment. When you click the arrow next to PlumX metrics and then click 'see details', you are brought to the Metrics page, with more detailed information. More information about PlumX Metrics in Scopus can be found here.

Below the Metrics module you can see the three most recent citing articles and links to the citing articles in Scopus. You can also find related documents, based on shared references, authors or keywords.

Scopus Document Details

Please note: The link Download not always gives the pdf of the article – only after downloading you can see whether the full-text was downloaded or the abstract.

Refining search results

At the left side of the results list you can refine the results, for example limiting to or excluding certain years, authors, subject areas, document types, etc. The five most common options are shown. When you click the link View More you get the top 10, and when you click then View all you will see all subject areas, the top 40 of the authors etc. You have to mark the ones you want to limit to or exclude, then hit the button Limit to or Exclude.

Please note: By default the subject areas, author names etc. are sorted by the number of results. This can make it hard to find the subject areas, authors or titles you’re looking for. You can change the order from # of results to Alphabet at the top of the pop-up behind Filter.

Analyzing the search results

On top of the list of results, you can click Analyze search results. Here you get a graphical overview of the search results, based on year, source title, author name, affiliation name, country, document type, subject area or funding sponsor (you have to scroll down the page to see all options). This helps you for example to determine the growth of interest in an area or the journals that publish on a certain topic. In the graphs you can click and Scopus will show you the specific search results.

Scopus analyse search results - by subject area

Creating a citation overview

From the list of results you can mark the documents you find interesting, or mark all documents found (see below how to select all), and create a Citation overview, by clicking the link View citation overview above the search results.

Scopus Select All

When you have more than 2000 search results, the citation overview is too large to display, but Scopus offers the option to download the citation overview. To get less than 2000 search results in the example, the results were limited to articles and reviews only.
In the citation overview you can sort by year or by number of citations, making it easy to identify the documents most cited.

Scopus Citation Overview

When you scroll down the page you get a list of the documents and the number of citations received by year. The number of citations is a link: when you click this link you see the citing documents in Scopus.

Scopus documents in Citation Overview

Please note: when you select more documents than the web interface of Scopus can process (that's 2000 documents) you'll get the option to download the citation overview. This is a csv-file, which can be opened in Excel. Scopus sends a link to this file to your e-mail address.

Saving and exporting search results

If you want to save titles found you can mark them and click Add to List on top of the list of results. The titles are saved in a temporary list, it will be deleted when you close Scopus. To save the list, click Lists at the top of the page, click Save this list and login with your Scopus account. You can also print or e-mail the list. If you want to send the titles to RefWorks or another reference manager, use the link Export. You can select the information you want to export, by marking the specific fields or by marking the headers of the columns.

Scopus Export options

Saving searches and creating search alerts

During your session Scopus keeps your search history. You find the overview at the bottom of the Document Search page. There you can edit a search, by adding extra search fields. You can also combine searches afterwards, by using boolean operators between the searches (for example #1 AND #2).

Scopus Search History

From the search history, you can save searches, so you can rerun them later. To save a search, click the Save button - the disk icon. When you click the bell icon, you create an alert: you’ll receive an e-mail message with the results of a daily, weekly or monthly rerun of the search. To do this you need a Scopus account.

If you prefer RSS feeds, you can use the RSS button in the search history (for this no Scopus account is needed, but you need a RSS reader, for example in Outlook).

You can also find the Edit, Save, Set alert and Set feed links at the top of the result page.

Scopus Save option

Database