Web of Science (by Clarivate Analytics, formerly Thomson Reuters and also formerly known as ISI Web of Knowledge) is a research platform that gives access to content and tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage
Web of Science (WoS) offers bibliographical access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Over 22.000 journals are covered. You can see a list of journals in the Master Journal List. To be covered in Web of Science, Clarivate Analytics takes many factors into account, including the journal's basic publishing standards, its editorial content, the international diversity of its authorship, and the citation data associated with it. An overview of the journal selection process is available here.
The EUR has access to these databases in the Web of Science Core Collection:
Please note: The EUR doesn’t subscribe to the Book Citation Index. We also don’t have access to the content of Web of Science before 1975. The Grants Index (1953-present), Preprint Citation Index (1991-present), ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present) and SciELO Citation Index (2002-present) can be selected via the dropdown menu behind Search in: on the Documents Search page of Web of Science.
Another resource from Clarivate is the Journal Citation Reports database (JCR). These reports help you to evaluate and compare journals, by using citation data. In the JCR you can find journal metrics, like the Journal Impact Factor, since 1997.
Access
You can access Web of Science and Journal Citation Reports off-campus via EZproxy or EduVPN/FortiClient All Traffic. When you create a personal account, you can also access the databases when you are outside the IP-ranges of the EUR.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports (JCR) is a tool for journal evaluation, providing production and impact data drawn from over 21.800 scholarly journals worldwide. It presents quantifiable statistical data allowing users to determine the relative importance of journals within a field. The most well-known metric in the JCR is the Journal Impact Factor (JIF).
This link opens in a new windowEssential Science Indicators (ESI) is an analytical tool to identify top-performing research in Web of Science Core Collection. It ranks authors, institutions, countries and journals based on publication and citation performance.