Business & Management (RSM)

Some of the financial databases available at the EDSC provide access to real-time news on companies, industries and other financial-related topics.  

Bloomberg

Bloomberg seamlessly integrates data, news, analytics, multimedia reports, and trading capabilities into a single platform.

• Use NH <GO> for real-time news headlines. 
• NI <GO> for industry news. 
• Use the TREN <GO> for news and social media sentiment for companies and stocks.  

Refinitiv Eikon

You can search and monitor news using the following desktop apps: 

• News Monitor - for real-time financial news and broker research. 
• News Discovery - access news wires, global press, and Reuters top news using data visualization. You can also access historical news enhanced by charts, videos, tweets, and more., and filter by story sentiment. 
• Reuters Top News - to access the most significant stories of the day from leading Reuters journalists.  

MarketLine Advantage 

Marketline provides access to news, press releases and sentiment analysis to track industry and company developments, key trends and growth opportunities, and to analyse the competitive landscape that shapes corporate strategy.  

Orbis 

Orbis provides access to company news and rumours. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you need help using these databases, go to the EDSC manuals page below or contact the Datateam on edsc@eur.nl 

Tweets can be informative, nonsensical, funny, or controversial, this is what we call the social 'sentiment'. What Twitter does for the reputation of celebrities also applies to companies and stocks. Knowing the social sentiment of a particular investment can influence decision-making. 

Bloomberg 

Bloomberg provides social sentiment tools to monitor, categorise opinion, and provide charts and visualizations based on Twitter data. The Bloomberg Social Velocity (BSV) alerts allow you to track a company’s tweets and StockTwits. 

Refinitiv Eikon 

Eikon allows you to access and analyse on the most relevant tweets from market movers in real-time.

Refinitiv has developed a proprietary curated Twitter feed [TWTR] comprised of financial influencers, including financial market commentators, analysts, traders, global business leaders, political figures, governing bodies, financial media organizations and journalists.

To access type NEWS into the Eikon search to launch News Monitor, then open the filter panel, select Social Media and Twitter [TWTR]

MarketLine Advantage 

MarketLine provides a selection of influencers by a topic, based on the relevance of their tweets, extent of their networks, and follower engagement to highlight emerging trends. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

• Banking Weekly (Financial Times)
  Each week the FT banking team discuss the biggest banking stories of the week, bringing you global insight and commentary on the top issues concerning this sector.

• Bloomberg – Masters in Business (Bloomberg)
  Bloomberg Opinion columnist Barry Ritholtz looks at the people and ideas that shape markets, investing and business

• Economic rockstar (Frank Conway)
  Connecting Brilliant Minds in Economics and Finance.

• Econtalk (The Library of Economics and Liberty)
  EconTalk is an award-winning weekly talk show about economics in daily life. Featured guests include renowned economics professors, Nobel Prize winners, and exciting speakers on all kinds of topical matters related to economic thought.

• Freakonomics Radio (Freakonomics)
  Can be hit or miss, depending on the episode, but it often features very smart and well-known academics. It is well done but entertaining, and they have a website with transcriptions and all the sources they cite during the podcast. 

• Political Economy Podcast (American Enterprise Institute)
  American Enterprise Institute’s Jim Pethokoukis discusses politics and the economy with guests in this podcast from the Ricochet Audio Network. Pethokoukis is also a contributor to CNBC.

• Sinica Podcast (SupChina) 
  Chinese politics and economy.      

• TradeTalks!  (Peterson Institute for International Economics)  
  A weekly podcast on world trade issues. Soumaya Keynes (The Economist) and Chad P. Bown (Peterson Institute for International Economics) cohost a podcast about the economics of international trade and policy.

• Weekly Economics Podcast (New Economics Foundation)  
  An award-winning podcast about the economic forces shaping our world, with Ayeisha Thomas-Smith and guests. Brought to you by the New Economics Foundation – the independent think tank and charity campaigning for a fairer, sustainable economy.

• Harvard Chan: this week in health (Harvard School of Public Health)
  While public health focused, they’ve done some interesting episodes on behavioral economics, marketing ethics, etc.  

• Planet Money
  American podcast produced by NPR. Using "creative and entertaining" dialogue and narrative, Planet Money claims to be "The Economy Explained". 

• American Innovations (Wondery)
  DNA. Artificial intelligence. Smartphones and 3D printers. Science and technology have transformed the world we live in. But how did we get here? It wasn’t by accident. Well, sometimes it was. It was also the result of hard work, teamwork, and competition. And incredibly surprising moments. 

• Masters of Scale (Reid Hoffman)   
  In each episode, Reid  Hoffman shows how companies grow from zero to a gazillion, testing his theories with legendary leaders.

• StartUp (Gimlet)        
  A show about what it’s really like to start a business. 

• The Pitch (Gimlet)
  Where real entrepreneurs pitch to real investors—for real money.   

• BiggerPockets
  Released weekly on Thursdays, the BiggerPockets podcast features interviews with investors of various backgrounds, niches, and experience levels.

• Exchanges at Goldman Sachs
  Exchanges at Goldman Sachs is a podcast where experts from around the firm discuss developments shaping industries, markets and the global economy

• FT Podcasts
  Access through EUR's Financial Times subscription.

• Mad Money with Jim Cramer
  Mad Money" takes viewers inside the mind of one of Wall Street's most respected and successful money managers for free. Cramer is your personal guide through the confusing jungle of Wall Street investing, navigating through opportunities and pitfalls with one goal in mind -- to help you make money. 

• Numbers by Barron's
  Numbers By Barron’s is a two-minute financial podcast with three vital numbers to start your morning.

• FinTech Insider
  Fintech Insider, hosted by David M. Brear, Jason Bates, Chris Skinner and Simon Taylor, is a tri-weekly podcast dedicated to all things fintech, banking and financial services.

• Wharton FinTech Podcast
  The Wharton FinTech Podcast discusses the trends, topics and ideas that are reshaping financial services globally. It features founders, investors, students and thinkers from the world of FinTech with unique perspectives.

• Insureblocks (Walid Al Saqqaf)      
  Insureblocks is a dedicated weekly podcast on blockchain, smart contracts and distributed ledger technology (DLT) in the insurance industry.

• CMO Moves
  Career advice and the personal success stories behind these incredible marketing leaders.

• Growth Marketing Toolbox
  A weekly podcast series exploring the best growth marketing tools and technology.

• Influencers
  Influencers connects you to the marketing and communications leaders who are ahead of the game. Brought to you by The Conference Board Marketing and Communications Center, the podcast features regular interviews with Executives and Experts who know the issues you’re grappling with. 

• On the Media (NPR)
  The On the Media podcast is your guide to examining how the media sausage is made. Hosts Brooke Gladstone and Bob Garfield examine threats to free speech and government transparency, cast a skeptical eye on media coverage of the week’s big stories and unravel hidden political narratives in everything we read, watch and hear.

• Under The Influence (CBC) 
  A marketing podcast for the ad industry. Host Terry O'Reilly explores why we make the shopping decisions we make, and how we are influenced by words, colours and images. He tells stories of the remarkable creativity found at the higher realms of marketing and analyzes the ads we love to hate

• Containers (Fusion)
  Containers is an 8-part audio documentary about how global trade has transformed the economy and ourselves. Host and correspondent Alexis Madrigal leads you through the world of ships and sailors, technology and tugboats, warehouses and cranes. At a time when Donald Trump is threatening to toss out the global economic order, Containers provides an illuminating, deep, and weird look at how capitalism actually works now.  

• Shipping podcast (Lloyd’s list)     
  Maritime topics

• ESG News & Views
  Hear compelling in-depth interviews with ESG thought leaders on hot button topics in corporate governance, sustainability, citizenship and philanthropy. From The Conference Board.
• Let's Talk Sustainable Business
  Learn how corporations are integrating sustainability into their overall business strategy and managing for positive impact. From The Conference Board.

• The Broad Experience 
  A conversation about women, the workplace, and success.

• Great Women of Business 
  Stories of business savvy women who battled sexism all the way to the executive suite are both thought provoking and inspiring. Through their stories, we examine their most innovative business principles and how those shaped their work and lives.

• HBR Women at Work 
  Conversations about the workplace, and women’s place in it.

• The Woman's Playbook 
  The Woman’s Playbook is dedicated to moving the needle on women’s parity, purpose, passions and prosperity.

• The Beehive 
  Conversations with female entrepreneurs.