LibGuides: Business & Management (RSM): Case Studies

Introduction

Case studies outline fictitious or real-life scenarios faced by sectors and industries, managers and companies. Cases are frequently used within the business disciplines for teaching, research, and problem-solving.
Case studies can be found in databases, books, journals, and freely available on the internet.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCO
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
As of 2018 EUR provides unlimited mobile access to all Financial Times FT.com digital content. The FT is an important daily news source of financial and economic information. FT also provides access to case studies, special reports, essays and commentaries.
On campus, users have access to FT without having to register for an FT account.

Off campus usage, usage of the FT app and usage of personalized FT settings, require an account at FT. You can set up an account with a full EUR or EUR-MBA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl) at this address: https://www.ft.com/join/licence/8939b6b1-f8cd-4835-88b8-a0829b960dfa/details.

Once users have created an account with a unique user ID and password they will be able to access FT.com and the FT mobile app from anywhere.
GlobalData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of new products, business trends and marketing analytics.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
As of 2018 EUR provides unlimited mobile access to all Financial Times FT.com digital content. The FT is an important daily news source of financial and economic information. FT also provides access to case studies, special reports, essays and commentaries.
On campus, users have access to FT without having to register for an FT account.

Off campus usage, usage of the FT app and usage of personalized FT settings, require an account at FT. You can set up an account with a full EUR or EUR-MBA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl) at this address: https://www.ft.com/join/licence/8939b6b1-f8cd-4835-88b8-a0829b960dfa/details.

Once users have created an account with a unique user ID and password they will be able to access FT.com and the FT mobile app from anywhere.

Journal of business case studies
- This link opens in a new window
via ProQuest. Coverage from 2009 to 2011
The Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS)
JBCS is an open-access journal for business education professionals. Case studies can be downloaded for use in the classroom and research purposes. Topics may include but are not limited to accounting, business law, economics, ethics, finance, management, marketing, and related fields.
International journal of case studies in management.
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes case studies in management for researchers and professors interested in using the case study method as a teaching and research tool.
Harvard business review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.

Case Studies from Stanford GSB
This listing contains free and fee case studies written and published by faculty at Stanford Graduate School of Business.
The Case Centre
The Case Centre offers a wide range of free cases produced by a number of prominent schools and organisations across the globe.
MIT Learning Edge
Free cases in entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.
Yale School of Management
Free and fee cases from the Yale School of Management.
HR Open Source
Free case studies for HR and recruitment from corporate practitioners.
INSEAD
Provides access to some free case materials.
The New York Times - Case Studies
Harvard Business Publishing Education - Case Studies
Learning resources for management education. Provides access to case studies
more...less...
Harvard Business Publishing Education is a division of Harvard Business Publishing, a not-for-profit, wholly owned subsidiary of Harvard University, reporting to Harvard Business School.

Books

Many books contain case studies. Combine the phrase "case studies" with another search term in sEURch.

Examples:

"case studies" and marketing
"case studies" and logistics
"case studies" and "supply chain"
"case studies" and leadership

We recommend you also use the Advanced Search options.