LibGuides: Business & Management (RSM): Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship

Journals

Entrepreneurship

Private company, start-up, venture-capital, private equity data are available in the following subscription-based databases:

Please note these databases are restricted for academic purposes only and cannot be used for commercial purposes.

Morningstar (remote access) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Morningstar can only be accessed remotely. You need to book a machine.
Preqin This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Preqin's dashboard offers private equity tools and comprehensive view of the private equity industry.
Preqin covers institutional investors, fund performance, fundraising, deals, fund managers, and fund terms, for all fund types.

WRDS Venture Capital

All federally filed private placements ― “equity” or ownership change in a company above a certain monetary threshold, but without a formal IPO or M&A process. Data from 5 different SEC filings.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) is the interface to datasets from Bankscope, CRSP, Compustat, ExecuComp en I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics, RiskMetrics and TAQ.
Users need to create an account, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/erasmus-data-service-centre/wharton-research-data-services

Websites:

British Private Equity & Venture Capital Association (BVCA)
Research reports on British Venture Capital Market
Private Capital Investment in South America
Latin American Private Equity & Venture Capital Association

Bloomberg (Subscription will be canceled!) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg terminals are only accessible in the Bloomberg/Eikon class which is housed in the Polak building on the first floor (Y01-7)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCO
Compustat global (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat Global consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed companies, with an emphasis on non-American and non-Canadian companies.
Compustat North America (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat North America consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed American and Canadian companies.
Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
GlobalData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of new products, business trends and marketing analytics.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial data of 79 million companies worldwide.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.

Open data sources:

OpenCorporates
Open and free database of company data, originating from primary public sources.
Provides access to their API.
UK Companies House
Companies House is the United Kingdom's registrar of companies. All forms of companies are incorporated and registered with Companies House and file specific details as required by legislation.
Business registers – search for a company in the EU
In accordance with Directive 2012/17/EU this service is to cover the business registers of all EU countries as well as Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway.
more...less...
At the moment you can only request information that the national registers provide free of charge. To request documents against payment, please go to the national register’s website, where the final price will be specified.

To retrieve current and historical data on publicly companies' investment in research and development, as reported in their annual reports, you can access:

Compustat global (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat Global consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed companies, with an emphasis on non-American and non-Canadian companies.
Compustat North America (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat North America consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed American and Canadian companies.
Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg (Subscription will be canceled!) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg terminals are only accessible in the Bloomberg/Eikon class which is housed in the Polak building on the first floor (Y01-7)

Patents are a valuable source of information. Patents not only provide details about an invention or technology, but provide insight into companies research activities -which are rarely recorded elsewhere- and a record of their trajectory in innovation.

To find patent data, you can browse through the following databases:

Orbis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial data of 79 million companies worldwide.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with access to full-text newspaper articles and other news sources (Dutch and international).
Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant and NRC Handelsblad) and news wires like PR Newswire.
Also included is company information, law reviews and cases
Please note: Legal news, Law reviews and legal cases are mostly American.
Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990.
Related databases: Factiva; Delpher

WRDS US Patents (Beta) - current data coverage between 2011 and 2019.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) is the interface to datasets from Bankscope, CRSP, Compustat, ExecuComp en I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics, RiskMetrics and TAQ.
Users need to create an account, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/erasmus-data-service-centre/wharton-research-data-services

General country patent and R&D statistics are available on Passport.

Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.

Free websites:

WIPO IP Statistics Data Center - Online service enabling access to WIPO's statistical data on intellectual property (IP) activity worldwide.
WIPO - PATENTSCOPE - Database that tallows you to access millions of patent documents, namely: International Patent Applications under the PCT Regional and national patent collections from all participating countries.
EPO - European Patent Office
Espacenet - The Netherlands Patent Office
Free Patents Online - Provides linked categories to help explore patents in a particular area.
Google Patents - Full text searchable international patents.
Patent Lens - Integrated visualization tools plus the ability to download bulk data.