LibGuides: Business & Management (RSM): Technology and Operations Management

Journals

Technology and Operations Management

You can use ProQuest and Business Source Premier to search for market data, articles, contract announcements and related information on supply chains, logistics and major suppliers.

To narrow down your results, limit your search by subject using keywords such as "supply chain management" or try filtering by industry (e.g.: automotive and "supply chain").

Try using the following terms: logistics; purchasing; supply chain management; supply chain.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1,300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCOhost
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.
Gale (All Research Products) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Research provides an overview of all licensed content.
See also: Gale Power Search

News

Company announcements and supply-chain news are available via:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with access to full-text newspaper articles and other news sources (Dutch and international).
Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant and NRC Handelsblad) and news wires like PR Newswire.

Also included is company information, law reviews and cases

Please note: Legal news, law reviews and legal cases are mostly American.
Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990.
Related databases: Factiva; Delpher

Market research

Passport (Euromonitor) provides global data and analysis on supply chain information such as warehousing, packaging, retailing, and transport companies and industries.

GlobalData – Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
GlobalData Explorer contents
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
Companies
Access to information on more than 1,000,000+ companies worldwide. You can screen the companies by multiple criteria as e.g. geography, time period, industry, financials, deals and company type.
You can find company profiles on all companies in the database. When it comes to public listed and major private companies, you can find very detailed information including basic data, history, management biographies, industry affiliations and products, main competitors, as well as financial data and analyses. Furthermore, you can find SWOT analyses, social media analytics and more.
Sectors: Industry data and profiles
The database covers 22 sectors/industries together with a lot of sub-sectors.
About the sectors, you can find:
- Reports on global, national, and regional industries and business sectors. The reports contain both historical (past 5 years) and projection (next 5 years) data, including statistics.
- Access to Databases & Analytics such as
- Market analyzer: Explore, analyze and visualize data across multiple dimensions such as sector, category, and geography.
- Global Ads: access real-time monitoring of latest competitive advertising and communications from leading brands, including paid content from television and print media, and brand-owned communications from social media channels including YouTube, Facebook and Weibo (not available for all sectors)
- Product Launch Analytics – Search innovative product launches across categories and geographies. Use this to understand which products are on trend which highlight the future of innovation.
Countries
Information about 200 countries, including basic data, financial and political news and analyses, as well as macroeconomic, demographic, and social data. Statistics cover data from 1990 and forward as well as 5-year projections.
Each page integrates resources from across the Intelligence Center, including:
- geography-specific news,
- sector reports and related reports: here you find PESTLE reports.
- macroeconomic data: economy, demographics, labor force and employment, external environment and more.
- Deals, city profiles, COVID-19 Country Dashboard, Global Ads, and more
- analysis of market players, and market and product databases.
Databases
Access to more specified databases
- Sector databases: find data on industries and companies
- General databases: macroeconomic data, city data, COVID-19
- Influencers: focus on CEOs, cybersecurity, geopolitics and macroeconomics
- Company filing analytics – uncover overarching company sentiment and underlying trends hidden in vast amounts of financial and non-financial data available in company transcripts.
- Job Analytics – get a concise market and competitive overview by analyzing job trends and deep dive for a more customized /detailed listing along with associated analytics. This can also be used as a live job board to apply for internships and full time / part time jobs.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.

Company Filings and annual reports

Supplier and customer information for pubic companies might be available via their filings and annual reports. For example, the SEC requires companies to report customers that represent more than 10% of their revenues.

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online library with access to over 200 journals and selected e-books in the fields of management, information science and engineering.
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the magazines and transactions and more than 3,300 conference publications of the IEEE Computer Society.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platform giving access to journals from different publishers.
The whole database can be searched, but access to the full-text article is limited to the subscribed content. The full-text of most journals is available via other databases.
GlobalData – Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
GlobalData Explorer contents
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
Companies
Access to information on more than 1,000,000+ companies worldwide. You can screen the companies by multiple criteria as e.g. geography, time period, industry, financials, deals and company type.
You can find company profiles on all companies in the database. When it comes to public listed and major private companies, you can find very detailed information including basic data, history, management biographies, industry affiliations and products, main competitors, as well as financial data and analyses. Furthermore, you can find SWOT analyses, social media analytics and more.
Sectors: Industry data and profiles
The database covers 22 sectors/industries together with a lot of sub-sectors.
About the sectors, you can find:
- Reports on global, national, and regional industries and business sectors. The reports contain both historical (past 5 years) and projection (next 5 years) data, including statistics.
- Access to Databases & Analytics such as
- Market analyzer: Explore, analyze and visualize data across multiple dimensions such as sector, category, and geography.
- Global Ads: access real-time monitoring of latest competitive advertising and communications from leading brands, including paid content from television and print media, and brand-owned communications from social media channels including YouTube, Facebook and Weibo (not available for all sectors)
- Product Launch Analytics – Search innovative product launches across categories and geographies. Use this to understand which products are on trend which highlight the future of innovation.
Countries
Information about 200 countries, including basic data, financial and political news and analyses, as well as macroeconomic, demographic, and social data. Statistics cover data from 1990 and forward as well as 5-year projections.
Each page integrates resources from across the Intelligence Center, including:
- geography-specific news,
- sector reports and related reports: here you find PESTLE reports.
- macroeconomic data: economy, demographics, labor force and employment, external environment and more.
- Deals, city profiles, COVID-19 Country Dashboard, Global Ads, and more
- analysis of market players, and market and product databases.
Databases
Access to more specified databases
- Sector databases: find data on industries and companies
- General databases: macroeconomic data, city data, COVID-19
- Influencers: focus on CEOs, cybersecurity, geopolitics and macroeconomics
- Company filing analytics – uncover overarching company sentiment and underlying trends hidden in vast amounts of financial and non-financial data available in company transcripts.
- Job Analytics – get a concise market and competitive overview by analyzing job trends and deep dive for a more customized /detailed listing along with associated analytics. This can also be used as a live job board to apply for internships and full time / part time jobs.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.
O’Reilly This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to thousands of e-books, video courses, learning tracks and conference videos on e.g. data science, computer programming, as well as e-books covering all scientific disciplines and non technical subjects.
Note: Users need to sign up for an account at O'Reilly to get full access to the Safari learning platform. Without an account only temporarily access is granted.

Clarksons Shipping Intelligence Network (SIN) This link opens in a new window
Clarksons Shipping Intelligence Network (SIN) povides online access to over 100,000 pages of data about the shipping industry. Clarksons provides information on e.g. shipping markets, fleet characteristics, ownership types, orderbooks, timeseries, capital markets and eco-indicators.
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
Lloyd's List provides extensive information on the shipping industry. Through Lloyd's users have access to reports, tools and market data, the Containers Data Hub, bulk and port data and environmental indicators. Note that EUR also provides access to Lloyd’s Law reports and Lloyd’s Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly.
First-time users have to set up an account at Lloyds to get full access. To do so, please register on campus at Lloyds with your ERNA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl). From outside the campus you can only register for an account at Lloyds through EZproxy. Please use your ERNA email address when registering. For more information on how to use EZproxy, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/using-library/campus-access.

ThomasNet - freely available resource.
Comprehensive directory of U.S. and Canadian manufacturers, distributors and service providers. ThomasNet.com has now expanded to provide not only product and company information, but also online catalogs, computer-aided design (CAD) drawings, news, press releases and blogs.
The European Supply Chain Forum (ESCF) - membership organisation, but provides free access to news.
EUROSTAT - Transport - cover statistical data on transport of goods, as well as aggregated statistics on businesses, employment, infrastructure and equipment.