Use this section to find online resources to conduct a literature search for business management, including reference materials (dictionaries and encyclopedias) ebooks, journals and databases.
Below you will find a thorough selection of general resources, all of which are considered authoritative. However, if you don't know where to begin your literature search, we recommend to start with Business Source Premier (ProQuest), e.g., via the A_Z list or via Subject Databases.
The MIT Economics Collection includes work from Nobel Prize winners Michael Spence, Joseph E. Stiglitz, Peter Diamond, James J. Heckman, Paul Krugman, Franco Modigliani, Elinor Ostrom, Edmund S. Phelps, Christopher Pissarides, Herbert A. Simon, and Jean Tirole.
Online version of the well known dictionary of economics.
Journal articles from Now Publishers.
E-books in the field of economics and finance, published by Oxford University Press.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIf you want to do an extensive literature search, we advise you to use subject-specific databases: they offer additional search features not available on sEURch, such as thesaurus or citation searching, and allow you to save your searches or export your lists to a reference management tool, such as RefWorks.
Browse through the Library's A-Z list of databases:
Or go straight to the business-subject databases listed below:
This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic or full text content from 1,300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to academic journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press.
This link opens in a new windowInternational bibliographical database for economists.
This link opens in a new windowOnline library with access to over 200 journals and selected e-books in the fields of management, information science and engineering.
This link opens in a new windowPlatform giving access to journals from different publishers.
Risk.Net is a platform for journals, ebooks and conference reports in the area of risk management, derivatives, asset management, regulations, Basel III, central banking and Quant resources.
Citation databases compile the citations of scholarly publications and enable you to find articles that reference a paper or author you already know about. The best citation databases are:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowScopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
This link opens in a new windowEssential Science Indicators (ESI) is an analytical tool to identify top-performing research in Web of Science Core Collection. It ranks authors, institutions, countries and journals based on publication and citation performance.
Use the link below to learn how to use citation information to find literature:
The Open Textbook Library contains over 1,500 open textbooks. All kinds of subjects and disciplines are covered, including business, economics, psychology and sociology.
Books and eBooks held by the University Library can be retrieved using sEURch
Alternatively, you can search for electronic books directly on VLeBooks or by browsing through the business collections below:
This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost eBooks gives access to selected e-books on a wide range of subjects, from multiple publishers.
This link opens in a new windowContains handbooks in economic series and reference works and e-book collections in finance, psychology and forensics, published by Elsevier.
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks published by Gale Cengage, including the book series “International Directory of Company Histories”.
Ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy and social sciences.
This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Most journals are available online and can be searched via sEURch and BrowZine.
Working papers are articles in progress or in the process of peer review. Working papers show very recent research but not with the quality stamp of the peer-review process.
First two resources which are gateways to a lot of workings papers, one paid license, and one free internet resource:
This link opens in a new windowWorking papers from economists of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks and aims at early distribution of research by publishing abstracts of papers.
Journal rankings are reference lists of journal articles that focus on quality and rankings, including the source of research data. A popular ranking is the Financial Times 50 - Journal Rankings.
Extensive and detailed information on academic citation performance can be found in the Journal Citation Reports. (JCR). JCR is an authoritative resource for impact factor data and rankings of many journals based on millions of citations.
The list below gives the overview of the ERIM Journals that have the P and P* classification, and are listed in the ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
Notes:
sEURch is a discovery tool that allows you to search the collections of the Erasmus University Rotterdam libraries, as well as the collections of libraries in the Netherlands and libraries worldwide.
You can use sEURch to find an article or a book you already know, but also to find literature about a specific topic, or to get inspiration about a topic.
Browse, read, and save journal articles via BrowZine:
Use Google Scholar to look for academic literature, not available at Erasmus University Rotterdam.
For detailed information about how to search for literature, check the tutorial below: