LibGuides: Business & Management (RSM): Finance

Journals

Financial data

Access the EDSC financial databases and tutorials through the links below:

EDSC Financial Databases

Erasmus Data Service Centre (EDSC) manuals
by Arjan De Wit Last Updated Feb 26, 2024 8229 views this year

The Datateam provides individual support and will answer your financial data enquiries via edsc@eur.nl

Finance Topical Research

Company and industry data

Orbis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial data of 79 million companies worldwide.
Compustat North America (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat North America consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed American and Canadian companies.
Compustat global (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CompuStat Global consists of annual and quarterly report data of listed companies, with an emphasis on non-American and non-Canadian companies.
Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg (Subscription will be canceled!) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg terminals are only accessible in the Bloomberg/Eikon class which is housed in the Polak building on the first floor (Y01-7)
CSMAR - China Stock Market & Accounting Research (via WRDS) license ends july 2024! This link opens in a new window
CSMAR is the comprehensive database for Chinese business research, covering data on the Chinese stock market, financial statements and China corporate governance of Chinese listed firms.
CSMAR covers publicly offered securities investment funds, including fund profile, quotes, performance, income distribution, investment portfolio, and main financial indices.

OpenCorporates
Open and free database of company data, originating from primary public sources.
Provide access to their API.

Industry and company reports

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCO
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
GlobalData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of new products, business trends and marketing analytics.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.

Equity research reports

Equity research reports provide investors with detailed financial analysis and recommendations on whether to buy, hold, or sell a particular stock. Usually published by an investment bank (Deutsche Bank, Morgan Stanley, JP Morgan, UBS, Citi, Goldman Sachs, etc.), they are used by investors to make informed decisions in the stock market.

Types of equity research reports:

Company reports- they focus on a company’s financial performance, but might also mention trends or strategic events affecting a company.
Industry reports - detailed analysis of an industry, market size, shares, trends, and what technologies might disrupting it.
Initiation reports - first report by an analyst on a specific company. Very comprehensive and incredibly useful when researching a company.

Below is a list of databases for current and historical equity research reports:

Bloomberg (Subscription will be canceled!) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg terminals are only accessible in the Bloomberg/Eikon class which is housed in the Polak building on the first floor (Y01-7)
Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window

Orbis Bank Focus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains annual and quarterly report data for financial institutions, both banks and insurers worldwide.
DealScan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DealScan contains data about the syndicated loan market with over 240,000 loan transactions worldwide.

Regulatory Landscape

The 'Bank Regulatory Database' via WRDS provides accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions.
For banking news, regulatory developments and white papers, you can access Risk.net

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) is the interface to datasets from Bankscope, CRSP, Compustat, ExecuComp en I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics, RiskMetrics and TAQ.
Users need to create an account, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/erasmus-data-service-centre/wharton-research-data-services
Risk.net This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Risk.Net is a platform for journals, ebooks and conference reports in the area of risk management, derivatives, asset management, regulations, Basel III, central banking and Quant resources.
RiskNet contains journals such as the Journal of Risk, the Journal of Computational Finance and the Journal of Credit Risk.

Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
M&A Research Catalyst This link opens in a new window
M&A Research Catalyst offers several methods of determining valuation, and automates the process of valuation that would be very laborious for any user without the Catalyst.
The information displayed about each company is extracted from the Orbis database, and deals involving those companies from the Zephyr database
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial data of 79 million companies worldwide.

ESG scores / Sustainability data

Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg (Subscription will be canceled!) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg terminals are only accessible in the Bloomberg/Eikon class which is housed in the Polak building on the first floor (Y01-7)
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to academic journals and e-books published by the Cambridge University Press.
Morningstar (remote access) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Morningstar can only be accessed remotely. You need to book a machine.

Country sustainability reports and statistics

Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments.
GreenFILE offers access to content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
This research database offers indexing and abstracts and, when available, open access full text.
A list of the titles covered is available via the Database coverage list.

Date range: 1910 - present
Platform: EBSCO

Relevant Websites:

EUROSTAT:

European Environment Agency
The EEA indicators are designed to answer key policy questions and to support all phases of environmental policy making.

Bankruptcy from a legal perspective, including case-law:

Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Next contains case law, legislation, treaties and legal periodicals and articles for the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and the European Union.
Westlaw Next provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to UK legislation, case law, EU material and up to 100 browsable journals.
Westlaw UK also gives access to Westlaw Next. You need to select Services in the top panel and choose International Materials.

Westlaw Next provides additional international materials including coverage for US, Hong Kong, Canada and Australia as well as topical materials such as other international journals, intellectual property, patent information and arbitration.

Bankruptcy News:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window

This section contains links to reputable and free statistical sources as well as subscription databases.

Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.
IMF eLIBRARY This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLIBRARY includes access to the IMF data and statistical tools. Datasets included are Balance of Payment Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, journals and statistical databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Google Public Data Explorer
Useful to identify relevant statistics datasets.
Bank for International Settlements
Publications and data on the global financial system and central bank community. Statistics are available on various elements of the global financial system including banking, securities, effective exchange rates and global liquidity indicators.
GlobalEDGE Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS)
This contains business statistical data on trade blocs, countries, and industries which can be accessed across specified years. Interested academics (i.e., students, faculty, and researchers affiliated with a higher education institution may download data free of charge but need to register on globalEDGE using an institutional email address.

Eurostat (European Statistics and Data Portal) This link opens in a new window
Eurostat is the statistical bureau of the European Union. Their statistics database contains detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries.

European Central Bank
The ECB is the central bank for Europe's single currency, the euro. Statistics and publications are available online.