LibGuides: Business & Management (RSM): Marketing Management

Journals

Marketing Research

This section focuses on secondary sources available at the Erasmus University Library.

Below you will find databases which include statistics, consumer behaviour data, trends, country and industry analyses, and company reports.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCO
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains business information and news from local and global newspapers like the Financial Times and the Wall Street Journal, trade journals, magazines and newswires like Dow Jones, Reuters and the Associated Press.
GlobalData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of new products, business trends and marketing analytics.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.

DMEF Academic data (via WRDS)

Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF) provides US customer buying history data (from the 1990's) from nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) is the interface to datasets from Bankscope, CRSP, Compustat, ExecuComp en I/B/E/S, OptionMetrics, RiskMetrics and TAQ.
Users need to create an account, see https://www.eur.nl/en/library/erasmus-data-service-centre/wharton-research-data-services

Equity research reports provide investors with detailed financial analysis and recommendations on whether to buy, hold, or sell a particular stock. Usually published by an investment bank, they are used to make informed decisions.

Types of equity research reports:

Company reports- they focus on a company’s financial performance.
Industry reports - detailed analysis of an industry, market size, shares, trends, and what technologies might disrupting it.
Initiation reports - first report by an analyst on a specific company.

Below is a list of databases for current and historical equity research reports:

Eikon/Datastream (LSEG Workspace) This link opens in a new window

IMF eLIBRARY This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLIBRARY includes access to the IMF data and statistical tools. Datasets included are Balance of Payment Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
Eurostat (European Statistics and Data Portal) This link opens in a new window
Eurostat is the statistical bureau of the European Union. Their statistics database contains detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, journals and statistical databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
StatLine This link opens in a new window
Statistics about the Netherlands collected and offered to us by the Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek (CBS).
World Bank e-library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to digital publications of the World Bank divided in regions and topics.
Passport by Euromonitor (formerly GMID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Euromonitor provides access to reports, statistics and forecasts on industrial and consumer markets, searchable by country.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
- Passport Euromonitor provides insights in business dynamics, economy finance and trade, industry developments and natural resources.
- Users have access to refined analyses by geography, lifestyle themes and by date
- In addition, users can create country reports for a number of topics e.g. economic indicators, consumer trends, industries, lifestyle characteristics and retailing
- Examples of consumer products that are covered are: alcoholic drinks, apparel and footwear, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances, consumer electronics, consumer health, eye wear, fresh food, health and wellness, home and garden, home care, hot drinks, packaged food, personal accessories, pet care, soft drinks, tissue and hygiene, tobacco, toys and games.

MarketLine Advantage provides a selection of influencers by a topic, based on the relevance of their tweets, extent of their networks, and follower engagement to highlight emerging trends.

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Datamonitor offers global coverage company, industry and country information through reports, news and statistics.
Why is this database relevant to Erasmus University?
• Marketline provides information on e.g. cities, business prospects, financial deals, investment advisories, product categories and companies, industries and countries in general.
• There also modules for city statistics, company reports, country statistics, industry statistics, business prospects and investment and advisories.
• In addition there are case studies, city profiles and insights and comments from analysts
• The city statistics module provides data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 3000 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
• The financial deals module covers global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs and partnerships.
• Further topical data analytics are available for e.g. global food, drinks, personal care and household products, pet care, news and magazines and tobacco markets.

Useful Websites

Professional Associations:

Platform Innovatie in Marketing (PIM) (Rotterdam, NL)
The European Marketing Confederation (EMC) - Europe's largest marketing membership organisation.
European Marketing Academy (EMAC)
American Marketing Association

Adforum - Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)

Professional Associations:

The European Advertising Standards Alliance (EASA) is the single authoritative voice on advertising self-regulation issues in Europe. industry from across Europe.Advertising Information Group (AIG) - European tripartite information, monitoring and analysis body.
Interactive Advertising Bureau Europe (IAB Europe) - The voice of Europe's digital business in online advertising, media, research and analytics industries.
International Advertising Association (IAA) - Global advertising trade association with membership representing advertisers, agencies and the media.
World Federation of Advertisers (WFA) - Represents marketers and brings together the biggest markets and marketers worldwide.

European Commission - Consumers Conditions Survey 2021

Professional Associations:

Society for Consumer Psychology (SCP): Northbrook, Illinois, US
Association for Consumer Research: Duluth, MN, US
American Psychological Association: Washington D.C., District of Columbia, US

The Federation of European Data and Marketing (FEDMA) is based in Brussels and represents the interests of the data and marketing.

Interbrand Best Global Brands - Best global brands of 2020
Top 100 Most Powerful Brands of 2020 - Tenet Partners analyzes the data in the CoreBrand® Index (CBI) to determine the Top 100 Most Powerful Brands based on high awareness and positive brand perception.

CMO Moves
Career advice and the personal success stories behind these incredible marketing leaders.
Growth Marketing Toolbox
A weekly podcast series exploring the best growth marketing tools and technology.
Influencers
Influencers connects you to the marketing and communications leaders who are ahead of the game. Brought to you by The Conference Board Marketing and Communications Center, the podcast features regular interviews with Executives and Experts who know the issues you’re grappling with.
On the Media (NPR)
The On the Media podcast is your guide to examining how the media sausage is made. Hosts Brooke Gladstone and Bob Garfield examine threats to free speech and government transparency, cast a skeptical eye on media coverage of the week’s big stories and unravel hidden political narratives in everything we read, watch and hear.
Under The Influence (CBC)
A marketing podcast for the ad industry. Host Terry O'Reilly explores why we make the shopping decisions we make, and how we are influenced by words, colours and images. He tells stories of the remarkable creativity found at the higher realms of marketing and analyzes the ads we love to hate