LibGuides: Philosophy: Databases

Databases for philosophy

These databases help you to find literature on a topic within the field of Philosophy.

ERIH PLUS by Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIIH Plus is an index holding bibliographical information on academic journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities (HSS). The focus is on European content. Using the Dimensions functionalities you can search, filter, analyze and visualize the content.
The European Reference Index for the Humanities and the Social Sciences (ERIH PLUS) was created and developed by European researchers under the coordination of the Standing Committee for the Humanities (SCH) of the European Science Foundation (ESF). In 2014, responsibility for the maintenance and operation of ERIH was transferred to the NSD - Norwegian Centre for Research Data. The reference index at NSD is called ERIH PLUS in order to indicate that it has been extended to include the social sciences. The list of indexed journals is available here.

Please note: in Dimensions itself, the ERIH PLUS journal list filter can be used to limit the search results. Dimensions has more analyze options than ERIH PLUS by Dimensions.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical database for philosophy.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. The Philosopher's Index is published by the Philosophers Information Center.

Platform: ProQuest
Date range: 1940 - present
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, and an Open Access Archive of research in the field of philosophy.
PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
A central aspect of PhilPapers is a categorization system, by which papers can be categorized into hierarchical categories. PhilPapers has over 4,500 categories, ranging from broad areas to narrow subtopics.

Related databases: Philosopher's Index
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions

Philosophy

Faculty Liaison

Access to our online collection

Do you want to ...

Databases for philosophy