LibGuides: Philosophy: Collected Works of Philosophers

Collected works of philosophers

The Complete Works of Aristotle
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters The Complete Works of Aristotle database contains the The complete works of Aristotle: the revised Oxford translation, edited by Jonathan Barnes as published by the Princeton University Press.

Corpus Bayle - Oeuvres complètes This link opens in a new window
Collected work of the philosopher Pierre Bayle (1647-1706).
The Oeuvres Complètes is based on the first edition of the 'Oeuvres Diverses' (Pierre Des Maizeaux, 1727-1731). A list of the works covered can be found in the database under the link 'Principes d'édition'.
Bayles 'Dictionnaire Historique et Critique' is not a part of this collection.

Dilthey: Gesammelte Werke und Briefe
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Dilthey: Gesammelte Werke, Nachgelassenes und Briefe contains the Gesammelte Schriften from Wilhelm Dilthey.
Collected Works of Erasmus
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the volumes published until 2022 in the series 'Collected Works of Erasmus'.

Freud Werken This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dutch translation of the collected work of Sigmund Freud (1856-1939).
The translation is based on: Gesammelte Werke. - Frankfurt am Main : Fischer, 1940-1952, 1968 and 1987; Studienausgabe. - Frankfurt am Main, 1969-1975; The standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud. - London : The Institute of Psycho-Analysis, 1953-1974; Revised standard edition. - London : The Institute of Psycho-Analysis; Sigmund Freud. - Amsterdam : Boom, 1998-2002.

The table of contents is available here

Hegel: OUP Translations
- This link opens in a new window
The Hegel translations published by Oxford University Press.
Hegel: Werke II
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters G.W.F. Hegel: Werke II database contains the complete Werke in zwanzig Bänden (the Theorie-Werkausgabe).
The Complete Works and Correspondence of David Hume
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Complete Works and Correspondence of David Hume database contains the complete works of David Hume, including his History of England, and the three volumes of correspondence published by the Clarendon Press at Oxford in 1932 (2 Volumes) and The New Letters of David Hume (1954).
Kierkegaard: Samlede Værker
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Kierkegaard: Samlede Værker database contains a corrected version of the third edition published by Gyldendal, Copenhagen (1962). Text in Danish.
The philosophical Works and Selected Correspondence of John Locke
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Philosophical Works and Selected Correspondence of John Locke database contains all of Locke's philosophical works and treatises, and a selection of his letters.
Nietzsche Source
Scholarly editions and translations of Friedrich Nietzsche’s works and Nachlass. (work in progress)
more...less...
Including the Digitale Kritische Gesamtausgabe Werke und Briefe (eKGWB).
Nietzsches Werke, Historisch-kritische Ausgabe
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-Kritische Ausgabe database, while organized according to the hardbound version, the Kritische Gesamtausgabe, actually contains the contents of the Kritische Studienausgabe.
The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters The Collected Works of Charles Sanders Peirce Database comprises the complete eight volume edition of The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, edited by Charles Hartshorne and Paul Weiss (vols. 1-6), and Arthur Burks (vols. 7-8) published by Harvard University Press.
The Collected Works of Ludwig Wittgenstein
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Collected Works of Ludwig Wittgenstein database comprises the English language translations of the Wittgenstein corpus as published by Basil Blackwell in Oxford.
Wittgenstein Source
The legacy of Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951), including facsimiles and text editions of Wittgenstein’s philosophical manuscripts (his “Nachlass”). (work in progress).
more...less...
The following editions are available: Bergen Nachlass Edition (BNE), Fascimile Edition of Moore's Notes of Wittgenstein's Lectures (MWN), Fascimile Edition of Tractatus Publication Materials (LPA) and Prototractats Tools (PTT).
The Continental Rationalist
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters The Continental Rationalists full-text database contains the English translations of the major works of René Descartes, Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz, and Benedict de Spinoza.
Political Philosophy, Machiavelli to Mill
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill database contains major works of Niccolò Machiavelli, Thomas Hobbes, David Hume, John Locke, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, Edmund Burke, Thomas Paine, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau.
British Philosophy 1600-1900
- This link opens in a new window
The Past Masters British Philosophy 1600-1900 database contains major works of Francis Bacon, Thomas Hobbes, John Locke, George Berkeley, David Hume, Anne Conway, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, David Ricardo, The British Moralists and Adam Smith.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library offers access to classical Greek and Latin literature, for example from Plato or Homer, with English translations. You can browse by author, by work (Greek or Latin) and by Loeb volume.

Philosophy

Faculty Liaison

Access to our online collection

Do you want to ...

Collected works of philosophers