Philosophy

Encyclopedia covering all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE, published by Springer (2011).

Encylopedia covering the history of political thought, contemporary political theory and political philosophy (2014).

Reference work on ethics (2013, updated regularly)

Encyclopedia providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

Encyclopedia on social and behavioral sciences and related topics (second edition, 2015)

Encyclopedia covering cognitive sciences, including psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, philosophy, anthropology and the social sciences more generally, evolutionary biology, education, computer science, artificial intelligence, and ethology (1999).

Peer-reviewed, open access encyclopedia for philosophy.

Oxford Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.

Routledge Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks and companions, published between 2014 and 2018.

Handbooks focused on political science, political theory and international relations, offering thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.

Reference books containing completely new essays, covering key topics in philosophy. Other Oxford Handbooks series might be interesting as well.

Books covering key figures, terms, topics, and problems within philosophy.

Books covering topics and periods within philosophy. Some of these companions are available online.

Introductions to classic works of philosophy.

These books offer critical literature on selected philosophers.