LibGuides: Philosophy: Home

Welcome!

This guide gives you an overview of recommended sources for philosophy:

databases to find literature
journals, based on the lists of philosophy journals as published as part of the project 'Quality indicators for Philosophy'
reference works to orientate on a particular topic and to find background information and
collected works of philosophers.

The page 'New in the collection' shows recent additions to the philosophy collection of the Erasmus University Library, with an option to subscribe to updates.

New books in the collection philosophy

BrowZine: scholarly journals at your fingertips

Use BrowZine to quickly access your favorite scholarly journals and articles, to save your favorite journals on your personal bookshelf and to get notifications when new articles are published!

Go to BrowZine or download the free app from the App Store or Google Play and log in with your ERNA ID.

For more information, view the BrowZine page.

Ebooks for philosophy

Below is a list of databases with ebooks for the field of philosophy. If you are looking for a specific title, it's better to use sEURch, because there all publishers are covered.

For teachers: if you are looking for online access to a specific book, please let me know, than I can check the available options.

Cambridge Core – e-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to e-books published by Cambridge University Press, covering 30 subjects across the Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine. Access is provided until April 30, 2024. After this date a selection of books will be purchased.
Cambridge Companions and Higher Education Textbooks of CUP are not included in this collection.

In May 2024, a selection of these books will be purchased for permanent access. The usage statistics are used to make this selection. If you have found a book from Cambridge University Press that needs to be a part of the permanent collection, for example because it’s required reading in a course, please contact your faculty liaison to ensure access after April 2024.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - Philosophy
Open Access books in the field of philosophy.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of full-text articles of the most important academic journals. Also contains a large collection of ebooks (book chapters) and primary source materials.

Date range: In general journals have been indexed from the first issue. Please note that the last three to five volumes are not available via JSTOR.

The EUR subscribes to the collections
- Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, VII and IX
- Business I
- Health & General Sciences
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy and social sciences.
Perpetual access to the books published in 2020 and 2021.

In 2022, 2023 and 2024 the EUR Library participates in MIT Direct to Open HSS (Humanities & Social Science) collection and receives term access to the HSS backfile collection until December 31, 2024.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
The Open Textbook Library contains over 1400 open textbooks. All kinds of subjects and disciplines are covered, including business, economics, psychology and sociology.
The textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. They have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.

Oxford Academic - Books - Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Books (handbooks and monographs) published by Oxford University Press in the subject area Philosophy, available to the EUR.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.

Past Masters (Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collected works of philosophers, including Hegel, Locke, Spinoza and Wittgenstein.
Past Masters offers access to the work of Aristotle, Dilthey, English philosophers (Bacon, Hobbes, Berkeley, J.S. Mill), Hegel (OUP Translations & Werke II), Hume, Kierkegaard, Locke, Nietzsche, Peirce, political thinkers (Machiavelli, Rousseau), rationalists (Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz) and Wittgenstein.
The texts are in English, except Kierkegaards collected work (in Danish) and Diltheys, Hegels and Nietzsches work (in German).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 200 scholarly publishers.
Date range: 1993 - present
Related database: JSTOR

Routledge Handbooks Online - Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks and companions, published between 2014 and 2018.

Taylor & Francis/Routledge eBooks in Humanities and Social Sciences 2021-2024 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 16.000 e-books published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge from 2021 until today, covering 30 subjects across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Access is provided until December 19, 2024.
In January 2025, based on the usage statistics a selection of these books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific book that you would like to remain available after December 2024, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).

Philosophy

Faculty Liaison

Do you want to ...

Access to our online collection

Virtual Tour

Welcome!

New books in the collection philosophy

BrowZine: scholarly journals at your fingertips

Ebooks for philosophy