Development Studies

This database contains articles and links on subjects, theories, research and persons. It is an important reference for experts and newcomers and entries vary from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics. Updated regular.

Contains over 3900 articles on communication, behavioral sciences, social sciences, psychology and education theory.

Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics to create an understanding of social and political developments and changes throughout much of human history, from the French revolution, to the global women’s movement, to Martin Luther King Jr. and the American civil rights movement, through to more recent issues including environmentalism and the Arab Spring.

The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) offers access to more than 1,500 articles on concepts in political science in the early twenty-first century. Except traditional subjects, it also incorporates those fields that have emerged more recently, for example: race and ethnicity, gender studies, and political economy. It also provides biographical entries, background on countries, theorists, theories and images.

Focusses on founding theories as well as the realities of globalization today, like: agency-structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, Bretton Woods, coca-colonization, empire, Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, nation-state, neo-liberalism, oil, post-globalization, Qaedaism, rape, sex work, sport, terror, transnational corporations, Twitter Revolution, water crisis, Web 2.0, Wikileaks, World Social Forum and, Zapatistas. Also lists a number of key documents listed as entries such as the Kyoto Protocol and The Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Specific attention is paid to the study of urban areas (such as urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology), to professional fields such as architecture and urban planning, and to other fields such as art, literature, and photography that are situated within the built environment.
References for further reading on each topic are provided.

Covers major issues, challenges, methods and approaches of global public health and diseases. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health and global issues.

Entries are classified by key topic, subject, place, people, and period. Items can be found by searching, browsing, and cross-referencing.

Utilising practical examples from diverse contexts across five continents, this handbook looks at how communities are empowering themselves and bringing about systemic change.

In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty, health and population, etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.