LibGuides: Development Studies: E-books

New (e-)books on development studies & related topics

Databases with e-books

ElgarOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to academic journals and e-books published by Edward Elgar.
Provides access to journals and single e-books that are part of the EUR collection, as well as e-book collections such as the Social & Political Science collections 2019-2024, the Development Economics 2020 collection, and more.
De Gruyter Social Sciences Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books of De Gruyter in the Social Sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is to increase the discoverability of Open Access, academic peer-reviewed books from publishers worldwide and from all fields of research. The DOAB contains links to the e-books. You can browse by subject or by publisher.
EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost eBooks gives access to selected e-books on a wide range of subjects, from multiple publishers.
The number of concurrent users and the print/save options differ per book. This can be checked on the detailed record of the e-book.

Platform: EBSCOhost
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
The Open Textbook Library contains over 1,500 open textbooks. All kinds of subjects and disciplines are covered, including business, economics, psychology and sociology.
The textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. They have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational resource containing handbooks and companions in the Social Sciences and Humanities published by Routledge and CRC Press.
Each handbook/companion offers a thorough introduction in the topic concerned and a critical overview of the scientific state of affairs, the chapters having been written by leading scholars in the field. Available titles are surrounded with meaningful metadata and abstracts at a chapter level, making them fully searchable and browsable.

Key Features:
• Expansive coverage of 44 subject areas.
• Purchased titles are DRM-free: you can download, print, and save without restrictions.
• Please note: The Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards can be found on Taylor & Francis eBooks (subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies).
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).