Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Development Studies

This guide gives an overview of recommended sources for development studies.

Welcome!

This guide gives an overview of recommended sources available at the Erasmus University Library in Rotterdam and the Library of the International Instititute of Social Studies (ISS) in The Hague: databases, journals and reference works relevant for Development studies. Attention is also paid to sources that are publicly available on the Internet: these have the Open Access symbol or Available free of charge, no login required symbol behind them.

Please use the tabs at the left to find information for your research and interest. The links in this guide will automatically take you to ERNA-login if this is required for off-campus access. If you have any questions or comments about this guide, or need further help with using this guide or your area of research, please let me know.

Running trials for Development Studies

  • United Nations iLibrary is a comprehensive source for digital content published by the United Nations. It provides access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs. Although it is possible to find reports of all UN agencies on their respective websites, the UN iLibrary is a one-stop-shop. The Erasmus University Library provides trial access until 1 July, 2021. Give feedback on this trial here.
  • The trial to all eBooks from the entire Practical Action Publishing catalogue will end soon. The catalogue includes collections such as ‘Education, Research and Training,’ ‘Social Development,’ and ‘Urban Development.’ It also includes special eBook series, such as ‘Gender, Society & Development’ and ‘Urban Management Series.’ You can browse the catalogue and find individual titles in sEURch. If you have read any of the content during the trial, please share your opinion and give feedback
  • Several publishers have made content temporarily available due to COVID-19 response. For an overview of this content, visit the A to Z database list.

Please contact your faculty liaison if you think any temporary content should be part of our permanent collection. 

 

Information Skills

Learn how to search, find and manage scholarly information and data in an efficient way. Visit the library's Information Skills portfolio for more online modules!

  • Build your search profile After finding the search terms for your research topic, you have to combine these search terms in a search profile, establishing specific relationships between the search terms. In library databases and catalogs, this is done using Boolean or logical operators such as AND, OR and NOT.
  • Search techniques Successful searching is largely about being precise. Search techniques can help you search with precision and find what you need.