LibGuides: Development Studies: Statistics & Data

Statistics & Data

This page contains selected statistics and datasets used in Development Studies.

You may also want to consult the Erasmus Data Service Centre (EDSC) which provides access to more social science and financial databases.

Indices of social development This link opens in a new window
The Indices of Social Development hosted by ISS (International Institute of Social Studies) brings together 200 indicators on economic growth, human development and governance which allow estimating the effects of social development for a large range of countries
https://www.iss.nl/en/engagement-impact/hosted-iss/indices-social-development
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
The World Development Indicators contains social, economic, financial and environmental data for over 200 countries. Development indicators and time series data from the World Bank on developing and high-income economies.
United Nations Statistics Division This link opens in a new window
Harmonized statistics worldwide provided by the United Nations on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, demographic and social statistics, gathered from national and international sources.

IOM's Global Migration Data Analysis Centre (GMDAC)
From the International Organization for Migration (IOM)

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, journals and statistical databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
UNCTAD Statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains statistics about world trade, international finance and foreign direct investments.
IMF eLIBRARY This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLIBRARY includes access to the IMF data and statistical tools. Datasets included are Balance of Payment Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Debt Statistics (IDS)—formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF)—provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Collection of annual time series data on Africa, containing over 1.600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1960 to 2012.
The Africa Development Indicators (ADI) provide annual time series data for each African country. These 1.600 indicators cover topics like national accounts, balance of payments (BOPS), trade, prices and government finance statistics (GFS), government external debt with data on household welfare, demography, health, education, communications, transport, energy and the environment.

Please note: No further updates of this database are currently planned. See World Development Indicators for more recent data on Africa.

SIGLA (States and Institutions of Governance in Latin America)
SIGLA is an online multilingual database that freely provides information on legal and political institutions in Latin America. By democratizing access to these data, SIGLA facilitates the generation of knowledge and increases the transparency of governance in the region.