LibGuides: Psychology: Databases

Databases for psychology in general

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of the American Psychological Association (APA), covering psychological literature from the 1880s to the present.
PsycInfo provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature. The database offers bibliographical information (with abstracts) of journal articles, books and chapters in books. The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is used to index the articles, books and book chapters. There are direct links to the full-text journals in PsycArticles and full-text book chapters in PsycBooks.

Platform: Ovid
Date range: 1800s - present
Related databases: PsycArticles; PsycBooks
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycArticles also contains journals published by the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Platform: Ovid
Date range: 1894 - present
Related databases: PsycInfo; PsycBooks

Links in the link resolver and in WorldCat Discovery (sEURch) will use the name Journals@OVID to refer to PsycArticles
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation database, covering journals, books and preprints
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation database, covering journals and conference proceedings.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions

PsyArXiv Preprints
A free preprint service for the psychological sciences

ERIH PLUS by Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIIH Plus is an index holding bibliographical information on academic journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities (HSS). The focus is on European content. Using the Dimensions functionalities you can search, filter, analyze and visualize the content.
The European Reference Index for the Humanities and the Social Sciences (ERIH PLUS) was created and developed by European researchers under the coordination of the Standing Committee for the Humanities (SCH) of the European Science Foundation (ESF). In 2014, responsibility for the maintenance and operation of ERIH was transferred to the NSD - Norwegian Centre for Research Data. The reference index at NSD is called ERIH PLUS in order to indicate that it has been extended to include the social sciences. The list of indexed journals is available here.

Please note: in Dimensions itself, the ERIH PLUS journal list filter can be used to limit the search results. Dimensions has more analyze options than ERIH PLUS by Dimensions.

Databases for subdisciplines in psychology

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Organizational psychology
Database offering content from academic journals, magazines and trade publications, covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCOhost
COTAN Documentatie This link opens in a new window
The online COTAN Documentatie contains an overview of the assessments of Dutch psychodiagnostic instruments by COTAN (Dutch only).
The 'Commissie Testaangelegenheden Nederland' (COTAN) of the 'Nederlands Instituut van Psychologen' (NIP) assesses tests and questionnaires used in the Netherlands. The COTAN Documentatie is developed for professionals involved in psychodiagnostics, such as psychologists, (ortho)pedagogues, psychotherapists and behavioral experts, to support them in making an objective and justified choice for a suitable (psychodiagnostic) instrument.
Please note: the tests and the manuals of these tests are not available in COTAN Documentatie.
ERIC Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Educational psychology
Database, covering education-related journals and documents. Emphasis is on America.
ERIC is a major resource for research in all areas of education. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Platform: ProQuest
Related database: Teacher Reference Online
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Clinical psychology, Biological psychology
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database and the largest subset of the PubMed database. You can use MEDLINE for guided medical subheadings searches and extensive search limiting options.
Platform: OVID
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Clinical psychology
PTSDpubs, formerly knows as PILOTS, provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other psychological effects of trauma.
PTSDpubs is produced by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD.

Date range: 1871 - present
Platform: ProQuest
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Clinical psychology, Biological psychology
Database of the National Library of Medicine (USA), indexing international biomedical journals. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is used to index articles.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's access to MEDLINE and comprises over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Searching on subject using MeSH (medical subject headings) is a possibility.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subdiscipline: Social psychology
Database for sociology and related disciplines.
Some records published since 2001 contain references cited, sometimes with links to additional materials. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.

Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: Social Science Citation Index (via Web of Science); Social Services Abstracts

Psychology

Faculty Liaison

Do you want to ...

Access to our online collection

Databases for psychology in general

Databases for subdisciplines in psychology