LibGuides: Psychology: Ebooks

Ebooks for psychology

It's possible to borrow print books from the University Library and the Rotterdamsch Leeskabinet (more information is available here), but it can be hard to visit the campus. Our online collection is still available. Below is a list of ebook packages for the field of psychology: some are existing licenses, some packages are available because the publisher is now giving everyone access to its ebooks. If you are looking for a specific title, it's better to use sEURch, because there all publishers are covered.

For teachers: if you are looking for online access to a specific book, please let me know, than I can check the available options.

Cambridge Core – e-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to e-books published by Cambridge University Press, covering 30 subjects across the Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine. Access is provided until April 30, 2024. After this date a selection of books will be purchased.
Cambridge Companions and Higher Education Textbooks of CUP are not included in this collection.

In May 2024, a selection of these books will be purchased for permanent access. The usage statistics are used to make this selection. If you have found a book from Cambridge University Press that needs to be a part of the permanent collection, for example because it’s required reading in a course, please contact your faculty liaison to ensure access after April 2024.

Directory of Open Access Book (DOAB) - Psychology
Open access books in the field of psychology

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Library provides access to the DSM-5-TR, the fully revised text of the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (2013), published in 2022. The DSM is a resource for clinical practice and is used to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Also available are the DSM-5, the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases, the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview and Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5 (the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5).

The previous editions of the DSM are not available online.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of full-text articles of the most important academic journals. Also contains a large collection of ebooks (book chapters) and primary source materials.

Date range: In general journals have been indexed from the first issue. Please note that the last three to five volumes are not available via JSTOR.

The EUR subscribes to the collections
- Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, VII and IX
- Business I
- Health & General Sciences
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy and social sciences.
Perpetual access to the books published in 2020 and 2021.

In 2022, 2023 and 2024 the EUR Library participates in MIT Direct to Open HSS (Humanities & Social Science) collection and receives term access to the HSS backfile collection until December 31, 2024.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
The Open Textbook Library contains over 1400 open textbooks. All kinds of subjects and disciplines are covered, including business, economics, psychology and sociology.
The textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. They have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.

Oxford Academic - Books - Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Books (handbooks and monographs) published by Oxford University Press in the subject area Psychology, available to the EUR.
Oxford Handbooks Online Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks in the field of psychology, offering thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.

PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of e-books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) in psychology and related fields.
PsycBOOKS includes the Encyclopedia of Psychology, books published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including the APA Handbooks in Psychology, and classic resources in psychology. Excluded are APA Style products, Magination Press children's titles, APA LifeTools trade book titles and textbooks.

Platform: OvidSP
Date range: 1806 - present
Related databases: Oxford Scholarship Online Psychology; Springer eBooks: Behavioral Sciences (2005-2009 and 2011-2015) and Springer eBooks: Behavioral Science and Psychology (2016-2023)
PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline Premium provides online access to a collection of books on psychiatry and psychology books. The collection covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life and multidisciplinary treatment guidelines. Included are the DSM-5 Library and reference books and journals published by the American Psychiatric Association.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the journals, e-books and reference works published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.

Springer ebooks Behavioral Science and Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks in the field of psychology, published by Springer.

Taylor & Francis/Routledge eBooks in Humanities and Social Sciences 2021-2024 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 16.000 e-books published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge from 2021 until today, covering 30 subjects across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Access is provided until December 19, 2024.
In January 2025, based on the usage statistics a selection of these books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific book that you would like to remain available after December 2024, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).

Psychology

Do you want to ...

Access to our online collection

Ebooks for psychology