LibGuides: Health Policy and Management: Databases

General databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
- This link opens in a new window
SRMO helps you to answer your research methods and design questions with over 100,000 pages of book, journal and reference content

Discipline-specific databases

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. It offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Contains The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
The Cochrane library is a collection of databases. Included are:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Clinical Answers
Also included are links to systematic reviews of Epistemonikos (in the tab Other reviews).

Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.

Previously these databases were included as well:
- Cochrane Methods Methodology Register (CMR) - produced until May 31, 2012
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) - records were published until March 31, 2015
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) - records were published until March 31, 2015
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) - no records added from March 31, 2018
Embase.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 8000 international journals.
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database and the largest subset of the PubMed database. You can use MEDLINE for guided medical subheadings searches and extensive search limiting options.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical database of the US National Library of Medicine, which indexes international biomedical journals.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's access to MEDLINE and comprises over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Searching on subject using MeSH (medical subject headings) is a possibility.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, publised by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: 2018 - current + selected titles from previous years
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Media & Culture: 2018 - current + selected titles from previous years
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current
Up-to-date Online This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical information resource on patient care and is used by patients and clinicians.