Skip to Main Content

Health Policy and Management

This guide gives an overview of recommended sources for health policy and management.

Reference works

General

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia on social and behavioral sciences and related topics (second edition, 2015)
more...less...
Contains over 3900 articles on communication, behavioral sciences, social sciences, psychology and education theory.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SRMO helps you to answer your research methods and design questions, with over 100,000 pages of book, journal and reference content. The Cases offer hundreds of case studies of actual research projects. They add nuance and context to the more theoretical material found in SRMO.
SRMO contains
- dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks;
- the entire "Little Green Book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social
  Sciences) and "Little Blue Book" series;
- two major works collating a selection of journal articles and
- newly commissioned videos.
One of the features is The Methods Map. This is a visualization tool that can be used to discover relationships between methods, to discover new methods and to find content related to them. Underpinning the Methods Map is a new taxonomy of social science research methods, developed by SAGE, and containing over 1,400 unique terms.

Related databases: Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education

Discipline-specific

Dictionary of public health
- This link opens in a new window
International Encyclopaedia for Medical Law National and international medical law as a subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Each national monograph contains, besides a general introduction, a description for the country in question of: the law related to the medical profession, such as access to the medical profession, illegal practice of medicine and control.

Specific issues such as abortion, euthanasia, health care providers and the health care system are also covered.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia about the different aspects of medicine and global public health (second edition, 2017).
more...less...
Covers major issues, challenges, methods and approaches of global public health and diseases. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health and global issues.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia on social and behavioral sciences and related topics (second edition, 2015)
more...less...
Contains over 3900 articles on communication, behavioral sciences, social sciences, psychology and education theory.