LibGuides: Arts and Culture: General resources

New! Case studies

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1,300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCOhost
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times (FT) is an important daily news source of financial and economic information. FT also provides access to case studies, special reports, essays and commentaries.
On campus, you have access to FT without having to register for an FT account.

Off campus usage, usage of the FT app and usage of personalized FT settings, require an account at FT. You can set up an account with a full ERNA or EUR-MBA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl) at this page.

Once you have created an account with a unique user ID and password you will be able to access FT.com and the FT mobile app from anywhere.
GlobalData – Consumer Goods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to global consumer research topics including e.g. coverage of new products, business trends and marketing analytics.
GlobalData – Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
GlobalData Explorer contents
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, GlobalData Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.
Companies
Access to information on more than 1,000,000+ companies worldwide. You can screen the companies by multiple criteria as e.g. geography, time period, industry, financials, deals and company type.
You can find company profiles on all companies in the database. When it comes to public listed and major private companies, you can find very detailed information including basic data, history, management biographies, industry affiliations and products, main competitors, as well as financial data and analyses. Furthermore, you can find SWOT analyses, social media analytics and more.
Sectors: Industry data and profiles
The database covers 22 sectors/industries together with a lot of sub-sectors.
About the sectors, you can find:
- Reports on global, national, and regional industries and business sectors. The reports contain both historical (past 5 years) and projection (next 5 years) data, including statistics.
- Access to Databases & Analytics such as
- Market analyzer: Explore, analyze and visualize data across multiple dimensions such as sector, category, and geography.
- Global Ads: access real-time monitoring of latest competitive advertising and communications from leading brands, including paid content from television and print media, and brand-owned communications from social media channels including YouTube, Facebook and Weibo (not available for all sectors)
- Product Launch Analytics – Search innovative product launches across categories and geographies. Use this to understand which products are on trend which highlight the future of innovation.
Countries
Information about 200 countries, including basic data, financial and political news and analyses, as well as macroeconomic, demographic, and social data. Statistics cover data from 1990 and forward as well as 5-year projections.
Each page integrates resources from across the Intelligence Center, including:
- geography-specific news,
- sector reports and related reports: here you find PESTLE reports.
- macroeconomic data: economy, demographics, labor force and employment, external environment and more.
- Deals, city profiles, COVID-19 Country Dashboard, Global Ads, and more
- analysis of market players, and market and product databases.
Databases
Access to more specified databases
- Sector databases: find data on industries and companies
- General databases: macroeconomic data, city data, COVID-19
- Influencers: focus on CEOs, cybersecurity, geopolitics and macroeconomics
- Company filing analytics – uncover overarching company sentiment and underlying trends hidden in vast amounts of financial and non-financial data available in company transcripts.
- Job Analytics – get a concise market and competitive overview by analyzing job trends and deep dive for a more customized /detailed listing along with associated analytics. This can also be used as a live job board to apply for internships and full time / part time jobs.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times (FT) is an important daily news source of financial and economic information. FT also provides access to case studies, special reports, essays and commentaries.
On campus, you have access to FT without having to register for an FT account.

Off campus usage, usage of the FT app and usage of personalized FT settings, require an account at FT. You can set up an account with a full ERNA or EUR-MBA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl) at this page.

Once you have created an account with a unique user ID and password you will be able to access FT.com and the FT mobile app from anywhere.

Journal of business case studies
- This link opens in a new window
via ProQuest. Coverage from 2009 to 2011
The Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS)
JBCS is an open-access journal for business education professionals. Case studies can be downloaded for use in the classroom and research purposes. Topics may include but are not limited to accounting, business law, economics, ethics, finance, management, marketing, and related fields.
International journal of case studies in management.
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes case studies in management for researchers and professors interested in using the case study method as a teaching and research tool.
Harvard business review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.

Case Studies from Stanford GSB
This listing contains free and fee case studies written and published by faculty at Stanford Graduate School of Business.
The Case Centre
The Case Centre offers a wide range of free cases produced by a number of prominent schools and organisations across the globe.
MIT Learning Edge
Free cases in entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.
Yale School of Management
Free and fee cases from the Yale School of Management.
HR Open Source
Free case studies for HR and recruitment from corporate practitioners.
INSEAD
Provides access to some free case materials.
The New York Times - Case Studies
Harvard Business Publishing Education - Case Studies
Learning resources for management education. Provides access to case studies
more...less...
Harvard Business Publishing Education is a division of Harvard Business Publishing, a not-for-profit, wholly owned subsidiary of Harvard University, reporting to Harvard Business School.

Catalogues

sEURch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic search engine & catalogue of Erasmus University Library in one. Also shows material that is available at other libraries in the world.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.

EUR Thesis Repository (digital)
Theses of FHKW/ESHCC students, from 2003 onwards. You can filter on specific Bachelors and Masters.
EUR & Erasmus MC Research Information Portal
All output of academic staff at Erasmus University Rotterdam, including dissertations.

Multidisciplinary databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains content from over 17,000 scholarly journals, of which more than 8,000 are available in full text, in Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Science, History, Marketing, Media & Fine Arts, Political Science, and Psychology. Also includes videos and podcasts from authoritative sources such as BBC Worldwide Learning.
Search the subject index to find articles tagged with specific subject terms.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographical data and abstracts and full text from master theses and doctoral dissertations all over the world.
If published after 1997, there can be a link to the full text of the dissertation in PDF. There are also open full text dissertations available.

Date range: 1743 - present
Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: DART-Europe; OpenDissertations
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary citation database. Please exclude two sets before you start searching: Go to 'MORE SETTINGS' and exclude at least the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (CPCI-S) -1990-present to assure a relevant search result.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text database, mainly aimed at arts & humanities
Date range: In general journals have been indexed from the first issue. Please note that for most journals the last three to five years are not available via JSTOR (the moving wall embargo).

The EUR subscribes to the collections
- Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, VII and IX
- Business I
- Health & General Sciences
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals and books from over 400 scholarly publishers.
Date range: 1993 - present
Related database: JSTOR
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions

News and newspapers

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news channels, as well as leading newspaper titles from around the world. Of almost 50% of the titles the newest editions are available full-text (without photos), including The Economist, Newsweek (as of 1994), The Washington Post (as of 2014), New Delhi Times (as of 2016), Global Times (China, as of 2018) and The Huffington Post (as of 2019).
To find a specific title, use the Advanced search option.

A list of all titles currently available can be downloaded from this page (search for 'Gale OnFile: News').
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content from periodicals and news media from 1980 up to today, both text based as well as audiovisual. More than 40% of the content is unique to the database.
A key feature of the Advanced Search option is that you can filter on very specific document (=content) types: from Advertisement and Aerial photography to Speech and Television programs. A list of all titles currently available in this database can be downloaded from this page (search for 'Gale General OneFile').
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times' website, a newspaper with worldwide readership and influence. Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on politics, business, sports, movies, travel, books, education, and more. Registration is required. See 'Additional info' for use of the app.
To get free access in the app connect to our Eduroam network on campus. Go to nytimes.com/grouppass and create a free NYTimes.com account using your ERNA email address.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains business information and news from local and global newspapers – limited access.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This source enables simultaneous searching in the archives of Dutch and international newspapers from 1990/95 onwards.
For tips on how to search effectively in LexisNexis Academic, see this online guide by Utrecht University Library or this one by LexisNexis (Dutch only).
Nexis Uni News contains major world publications (for example Financial Times), newspapers (including Dutch newspapers,such as De Volkskrant and NRC Handelsblad) and news wires like PR Newswire.

Also included is company information, law reviews and cases

Please note: Legal news, law reviews and legal cases are mostly American.
Date range: The date range and update schedule differs per source. However, as the collection only contains born-digital material, the oldest items are from around 1990.
Related databases: Factiva; Delpher
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times (FT) is an important daily news source of financial and economic information. FT also provides access to case studies, special reports, essays and commentaries.
On campus, you have access to FT without having to register for an FT account.

Off campus usage, usage of the FT app and usage of personalized FT settings, require an account at FT. You can set up an account with a full ERNA or EUR-MBA email address (e.g. 123456ab@student.eur.nl) at this page.

Once you have created an account with a unique user ID and password you will be able to access FT.com and the FT mobile app from anywhere.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The New York Times (1851-2020), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), The Washington Post (1877-2008), and The Times of India (1838-2011).
Each year around December an extra year of content of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Times of India is added to the database.

Related database: Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper archives
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized and digital-born content from 1785-2019.
Gale Primary Sources enables you to cross-search all Gale newspapers in the library collection, such as The Illustrated London News and The Telegraph. With Gale Digital Scholar Lab you can perform more advanced text analysis methods, such as Sentiment Analysis and Topic Modelling.

Related database: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, The Times of India Digital Archive

Newspaper archives at the National Library of the Netherlands (KB)
- This link opens in a new window
Please note that the majority of the listed resources require you to be a member of the KB before you can access them (see the filter option Accessibility). Information on how to become a member can be found on this page.
more...less...
Keep in mind that some of the newspaper databases that the KB offers are actually available to EUR students without costs because the University Library has purchased a licence. Therefore, first have a close look at the other databases on this page, or do a check via our alphabetical list of databases.