LibGuides: Arts and Culture: Arts & Culture databases

Berg Fashion Library
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 100 Bloomsbury fashion eBooks, a large collection of reference works on fashion, including the A-Z of Fashion (= The Berg Companion to Fashion), the Dictionary of Fashion History, and the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
more...less...
Also indexed are more than 15,000 images of fashion objects held in disparate collections across the world. More information on the content of the BFL can be found this page.

Please note you need to be a member of the KB before you can access the database. More information on how to become a member can be found on this page.

Artprice This link opens in a new window
Website giving access to Fine Art auction information. Contains the world's largest library of auction catalogues, brochures and leaflets from 1700 to the present day. Please note: max. 3 concurrent users
You can search for artists or auction lots and filter on Medium, Year of creation, Country, Fine art category and Auction date. You can view present and past market value of artists based on the auction results for their works.
ArtFacts.net This link opens in a new window
Database containing key facts on the art world and special tools for analysis of activities, which together enable you to gain insight into the dynamics of the art market. Access to ArtFacts.net will end on December 31, 2024.
Provides information on exhibitors and exhibitions worldwide, 550,000 artists biographies, 100,000 ranked artists, 30,000 works of art, and 2,500 catalogs. Exhibitions listed on ArtFacts.net rate the different artists with a points system, which indicate the amount of attention each particular artist has received from art institutions.

Related database: Artprice

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary index to literature in the fields of arts, humanities, language (including linguistics) and media.
Boekmanstichting
The Boekman Foundation collects and disseminates information about the arts and culture in both policy and practice. Via the tab 'Bibliotheekcatalogus/Library catalogue' you can search for materials. (Dutch and English)
Compendium of Cultural Policies and Trends in Europe
The Compendium of Cultural Policies and Trends is a web-based and permanently updated information and monitoring system of national cultural policies and related development. Compendium cultural policy country profiles are mainly drawn up and updated by independent cultural policy experts (i.e. 'expert authors'), in consultation with respective ministries.

Brill Online Books and Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The main subject areas are Ancient Near East & Egypt, Asian Studies, Biblical Studies & Religious Studies, Classic Studies, Medieval & Early Modern Studies, Middle East & Islamic Studies, Social Sciences, STM & Biology, and Art History.
Subject areas of Brill's publication programme are Asian history, biblical and religious studies, sociology, psychology and biology. Full-text content varies by publication.

Included are e-books published in the book series 'Brill's Studies in Intellectual History Online' (up to supplement 2019), a book series that publishes new approaches to history, the history of philosophy and theology, and the history of ideas.
Catalogus Epistolarum Neerlandicarum (CEN) This link opens in a new window
Contains about 500,000 descriptions of individual letters and written correspondence in the early modern and modern period (ca. 1500 - present).
The CEN is a national online catalog of letters and written parts deposited in the collections of cooperating Dutch heritage institutions like the University Libraries of Amsterdam (UvA, VU), Leiden, Groningen and Utrecht, the Royal Library in The Hague. With CEN information on 2 million letters can be found. The file is updated regularly.

Date range: 1500 - present
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Platform: EBSCOhost
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference guide which covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexes abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings, newspapers, periodicals and dissertations in 40 languages.
Date range: 1953-present
Platform: EBSCOhost

Springer ebooks - Cultural and Media Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books on media & culture

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical database for psychology and related fields.
PsycInfo provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature. The database offers bibliographical information (with abstracts) of journal articles, books and chapters in books. The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is used to index the articles, books and book chapters. There are direct links to the full-text journals in PsycArticles and full-text book chapters in PsycBooks.

Platform: Ovid
Date range: 1800s - present
Related databases: PsycArticles; PsycBooks
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology and related disciplines.
Some records published since 2001 contain references cited, sometimes with links to additional materials. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.

Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: Social Science Citation Index (via Web of Science); Social Services Abstracts