LibGuides: Arts and Culture: eBooks

Temporary available eBooks

De Gruyter online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Platform with access to a selection of journals and e-books published by De Gruyter.
Academic journals with articles on law, history, art, social sciences and economics are indexed.
Via the De Gruyter online, e-books from other publishers are also made available, for example University of Toronto Press (Collected Works of Erasmus).
Springer/Palgrave collection Literature, Cultural and Media Studies 2019-2024 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All e-books in Literature, Cultural and Media Studies published in 2019-2024 by Palgrave and Springer. Access to the books in this collection is provided until December 22, 2024. After this date a selection of titles will be purchased. The selection will be based on the usage statistics. For more information, please contact Pieter van Leeuwen.

Handbooks

Routledge handbooks and companions in Arts and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EUR Library has access to a large set of SAGE e-handbooks, including several recent ones relevant to Media, Communication & Cultural Studies.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks, published by Oxford University Press, in the subject categories Business and Management, Economics and Finance, History, Media Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
The EUR has access to the following collections:
- Business & Management - collections 2016 to 2020
- Economics & Finance - collections 2016 to 2020
- History - Foundation Collection, and the collections 2013 and 2017-2019
- Philosophy - Foundation Collection, and the collections from 2012 to 2023
- Political Science - Foundation Collection and collection 2014
- Psychology - Foundation Collection, and the collections from 2012 to 2024 (subscription until December 2024)
- Sociology - collection 2017
Besides these collections, the Library also has access to a small number of individual titles titles from other years or in other subjects.

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
Ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy and social sciences.
Perpetual access to the books published in 2020 and 2021.

In 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025 the Erasmus Library participates in MIT Direct to Open HSS (Humanities & Social Science) collection and receives term access to the HSS backfile collection until December 31, 2025.
Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to e-books published by Bloomsbury and its imprints.
Besides a substantial number of single titles, the majority of the available titles belongs to one of the following collections:
- Fashion 2018-2021
- Fashion Archive 2006-2017
- Fashion: Dress, Body, Culture Archive
- I.B. Tauris Fashion Archive 2001-2018
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks published by Gale Cengage, including the book series “International Directory of Company Histories”.
For a list of all available titles with their year of publication and ISBN indicated, click 'Title List' in the top right of the screen.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, published by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: 2018 - current + selected titles from previous years
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Media & Culture: 2018 - current + selected titles from previous years
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is to increase the discoverability of Open Access, academic peer-reviewed books from publishers worldwide and from all fields of research. The DOAB contains links to the e-books. You can browse by subject or by publisher.