LibGuides: Public Administration: Databases

General databases

General citation databases

By using a citation database you can follow a particular cited reference forward in time to find more current articles that have also cited that research. Searching for cited references is useful to locate current research based on earlier research, see how a particular research topic is being used to support other research or track the history of a research topic.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions

Discipline-specific databases

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in the subject areas of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
One of the unique benefits of IBSS is its extensive coverage of international material with over 50% of journals published outside the US or UK and with 25% of references in languages other than English. Records include material from 100 countries and in 60 languages.

Platform: ProQuest
Date range: 1951 - present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology and related disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from over 1,800 journals, relevant dissertations, selected books and book chapters, and association papers, as well as citations for book reviews and other media.
Some records published since 2001 contain references cited, sometimes with links to additional materials. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.

Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: Social Science Citation Index (via Web of Science); Social Services Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes world's leading journals in political science from journals published from 1951 to the present. Searchable in multiple languages.
Platform: EBSCOhost
Date range: 1951 - present
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Materials on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. Includes working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It includes publications from thousands of organizations, such as the World Health Organization, the Council of Europe, Amnesty International, and the AEI (American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research).
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The full-text of Public Administration Quarterly is included in this database from 1983 to the present, and full-text archives of Public Administration as well.
Platform: EBSCOhost
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple databases, including the ABI/INFORM Collection. This contains 3000 worldwide, academic and professional, periodicals covering management, social sciences, history and media, since 1971. Includes full-text of Public Administration Quarterly from 45 years ago up to present, and of International Review of Public Administration up to 5 years ago. The information in ABI Inform Global is primarily focused on the US, but increasingly also on Europe and Asia.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE indexes scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments.
GreenFILE offers access to content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
This research database offers indexing and abstracts and, when available, open access full text.
A list of the titles covered is available via the Title List.

Date range: 1910 - present
Platform: EBSCOhost

Free databases

Free databases can be useful to find non-Western literature that is underrepresented in subscription databases. They are also a good alternative for non-EUR staff and students, alumni, and others who want to search for academic literature.

Scilit
Scilit is a multidisciplinary, free scholarly database that indexes scientific material by extracting the latest data from CrossRef, PubMed and other sources on a daily basis.
more...less...
Scilit - developed and maintained by MDPI - also includes pre-prints. It has an advanced search option and has the option to export references.
SciELO
SciELO is a bibliographic database and digital library of open access journals. It was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.
more...less...
There are 16 countries in the SciELO network and its journal collections: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. It has an advanced search option and has the option to export references in bulk.
African Journals Online
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals.
more...less...
AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.

Migration Research Hub This link opens in a new window
The Migration Research Hub brings together experts, publications, datasets, and projects about migration. The taxonomy systemizes knowledge on migration.
The Migration Research Hub was built during the IMISCOE-led Horizon 2020 project, CrossMigration (2018-2020).
SprINg Evidence Repository This link opens in a new window
Database for information on migrant integration, inclusion and participation in Europe. The SprINg evidence repository helps policymakers, service providers and advocates work with migrants to make their policies and practices more evidence-based, by summarizing scientific studies on policies and practices of integration in the European Union from 2011 till 2022.
The SprINg evidence repository includes themes like: Rights and legal status, Employment, Education and Training, Housing and Settlement, Access to Welfare, Health Care, Crime, Family Relations, Identity and Belonging, Attitudes Towards Migrants, and Civic Participation.
The database is created by the SPRING team of Erasmus University Rotterdam, Danube University Krems and the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD).