LibGuides: Pedagogical Sciences: Databases

Recommended databases

General databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions

Discipline-specific databases

COTAN Documentatie This link opens in a new window
The online COTAN Documentatie contains an overview of the assessments of Dutch psychodiagnostic instruments by COTAN (Dutch only).
The 'Commissie Testaangelegenheden Nederland' (COTAN) of the 'Nederlands Instituut van Psychologen' (NIP) assesses tests and questionnaires used in the Netherlands. The COTAN Documentatie is developed for professionals involved in psychodiagnostics, such as psychologists, (ortho)pedagogues, psychotherapists and behavioral experts, to support them in making an objective and justified choice for a suitable (psychodiagnostic) instrument.
Please note: the tests and the manuals of these tests are not available in COTAN Documentatie.
ERIC Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of education-related journals and documents since 1966.
ERIC is a major resource for research in all areas of education. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Platform: ProQuest
Related database: Teacher Reference Online
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of the American Psychological Association (APA), covering psychological literature from the 1880s to the present.
PsycInfo provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature. The database offers bibliographical information (with abstracts) of journal articles, books and chapters in books. The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is used to index the articles, books and book chapters. There are direct links to the full-text journals in PsycArticles and full-text book chapters in PsycBooks.

Platform: Ovid
Date range: 1800s - present
Related databases: PsycArticles; PsycBooks
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical database of the United States National Library of Medicine, which indexes international biomedical journals.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's access to MEDLINE and comprises over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Searching on subject using MeSH (medical subject headings) is a possibility.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Social Services Abstracts abstracts and indexes more than 1,300 journals and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Subject coverage: community and mental health services, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social services in addiction, social work education and practice, violence, abuse, neglect.

Platform: ProQuest
Date range: 1979 - present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology and related disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from over 1,800 journals, relevant dissertations, selected books and book chapters, and association papers, as well as citations for book reviews and other media.
Some records published since 2001 contain references cited, sometimes with links to additional materials. Entries cover sociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.

Platform: ProQuest
Related databases: Social Science Citation Index (via Web of Science); Social Services Abstracts