LibGuides: Pedagogical Sciences: Reference works

Recommended reference works: encyclopedia's and dictionaries

General reference works

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia on social and behavioral sciences and related topics (second edition, 2015)
more...less...
Contains over 3900 articles on communication, behavioral sciences, social sciences, psychology and education theory.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of (subject) dictionaries and encyclopedias, timelines and quotations, plus thesauri and guides to English grammar and usage.

Discipline-specific reference works

Emerging trends in the social and behavioral sciences
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary approach to topics in current scholarship in the areas: psychology, sociology, political science, anthropoly, economy.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia on adolescence and emerging adulthood and the place of adolescents in society (second edition, 2018).
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia focussing on the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions (2011).
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering the concept of 'play' in history and in modern society, for children and adults worldwide (2009).
more...less...
In this encyclopedia all aspects of play - from learning to competition, mastery of nature, socialization, and cooperation - are included.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 8-volume APA encyclopedia is a guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice.
Please note: this link brings you to the overview page of the volumes.
more...less...
Platform: Ovid
International Encyclopedia of Education
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia about education. Of interest to educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds.
more...less...
Demography and Social Change; Learning and Cognition; Education of Professionals;
Economics; Globalization; Philosophy of Education; Education Research Methodology; Primary & Secondary Education; Educational Assessment; Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning; Vocational Education and Training; Qualitative Research; Education Measurement; Technology and Learning; Higher Education; Leadership and Management;
Educational Evaluation; Education of Children with Special Needs; Curriculum Development; National Systems of Education; Adult Education; Statistics; ECEC Theory; Teacher Education; Early Childhood Education and Care.
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
Encyclopedia covering cognitive sciences, including psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, philosophy, anthropology and the social sciences more generally, evolutionary biology, education, computer science, artificial intelligence, and ethology (1999).
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, behavior and Society
- This link opens in a new window
interdisciplinary, and international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness