You can manage the references you have imported in your RefWorks database. You can:
The order of the references
In the right upper corner, behind Sort by, you can choose the order of your references, for example alphabetically by name of the first author or chronologically, by the date published.
The display of the references
By default the references are shown in Normal View: the author(s), publication date and title are shown.
To check the references it can be useful to see them as they will be in your literature list, for example in the APA 6th style. By default, you see the references in ‘Normal view’: the author(s) and title are visible. In the right upper corner of the screen, you can change this view into a particular style, including APA 6th. Viewing the references in a style you are familiar with can help to see if a reference is complete and correct.
When you have marked the option 'Highlight missing metadata' RefWorks will highlight missing fields that are required or recommended for the selected citation style. This can be very helpful when checking the references!
Other views are Table View and Full View:
References are automatically saved in Last Imported. But you can create your own folders to save the references in a convenient way: for example a folder per (sub)topic, a folder per database or a folder per chapter.
Creating a folder
It’s also possible to create subfolders – folders within a folder. Click the three dots behind the name of the folder and choose Add subfolder and give the folder a name.
Moving references to a folder
Now you can put the references you have imported into the new folder.
You can also ‘drag and drop’ references: scroll over the reference, then drag it to the folder on the left side of the screen.
Please note: the number behind the name of a folder refers to the number of references in that folder and in the subfolder(s) of that folder. This means that when a reference is in both the parent folder and a subfolder, it is counted twice.
If you use Refworks to manage references of several research projects, it can be useful to also divide these in Projects. Each Project starts its Ref ID's at 0. In the blue top bar of Refworks, next to the ProQuest Refworks icon on the left, you can select your Project. Create or delete projects by clicking on 'Manage projects.' You can also share access Projects here, by selecting this option from the 'Action' dropdown menu.
Projects enable you to maintain separate reference collections for different research projects.
To manage projects:
Whereas you can easily move references between folders, projects are separate entities. Learn how to move reference between folders in the RefWorks User Guide > Working with projects.
To search your RefWorks database, click the Search button in the bar on top of your references. You can enter for example words from the title, the name of an author, tags, etc.
After clicking the Search button, you can open the Advanced search. This option allows you to search more specific: you can specify the folders and/or field(s) you want to search.
The ‘metadata’ RefWorks receives from the databases like Scopus and Google Scholar, can be incorrect and/or incomplete. You always have to check the information yourself and, when needed, edit and complete the information.
What do you have to check?
Do you see errors? You can correct them by clicking the title, which opens a side panel, and then clicking the pencil icon in the right upper corner. Not all fields are visible: click the button Add more fields... to add fields. When you have made all necessary corrections, click Save at the top of the side bar.
In the side bar you will see a lightning bolt icon behind the title and the DOI (when available) - when you click this icon, RefWorks will search Summon, a database from ProQuest, for additional information. At the bottom of the side bar Did you mean one of these? or DOI Lookup will open, with a number of options. When you select an option, the metadata is entered in the fields. When you agree, click Save at the top of the side bar to save the reference.
Please note: due to the size of the box it can be hard to see the differences between the options presented by RefWorks. In that case, just try one - you can always use the Undo button at the top of the side bar.
When a reference is already in your ProQuest RefWorks database, you can add files to the reference, for example the PDF-file with the full-text of the article.
In the Normal View and in the Full View you can see that an attachment is added to the reference; in a Citation View or the Table View this is not immediately visible.
In ProQuest RefWorks you can read and annotate the PDF within RefWorks: click the title of the reference and click Read. The PDF is opened in the same screen, with options to highlight text, to add a comment in the text or to add document notes.
To delete a reference from your ProQuest RefWorks database, you can mark the reference and click Delete in the bar on top of the screen. The reference is then moved to the trash, the Deleted folder on the left side of the screen. From there you can permanently delete the reference(s) from your database.
When you import references from several databases, it's possible that some titles appear more than once in your RefWorks-account. This can cause problems when using Write-n-Cite, because the ID-numbers of these references are different. RefWorks sees and treats them as different titles.
You can locate duplicates by clicking Tools in the bar at the top of the screen and selecting Find duplicates. When you are in a particular folder, you can choose to search that folder for duplicates or all references in your RefWorks database. You also have to choose between an Exact Match or a Close Match. Click the button Find Duplicates to start the search.
When duplicates are found, RefWorks will return a list of duplicate items. Some references are already marked, to be easily deleted - but check if that's the reference you want to delete! For example you might want to keep the reference with the article attached and delete the reference without attachment. Make sure the reference(s) you want to delete are marked and click Delete.