It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RefWorks: Creating a bibliography
Introduction to RefWorks, an online reference manager
The references saved in your ProQuest RefWorks database can easily be formatted into a bibliography in an output style by choice.
A ‘stand-alone’ literature list can be useful, for example to create a list of the literature you've found so far.
To make a 'stand-alone' literature list, you have to follow these steps:
Open the folder with the references you want to create a literature list with
Click the button Create Bibliography at the top of the screen.
Choose Create Bibliography
Choose the preferred output style in the drop-down menu in the middle of the screen.
You can specify how RefWorks should differentiate authors with the same surname. The default setting is 'Surname and first name' - this means the first name is added to the in-text citation in case of duplicate surnames and identical initials.
Click Copy to Clipboard
Use the paste option in Word. Make sure you use a paste option that keeps the format!
The references saved in your Legacy RefWorks database can easily be formatted into a bibliography in an output style by choice.
To create a 'stand-alone' bibliography in Legacy RefWorks, you have to follow these steps:
Open the folder with the references you want to create a bibliography with. If you need references from more than 1 folder, you can add these references to My List and open My List.
Click the button CreateBibliography at the top of the screen.
Choose the preferred output style in the dropdownmenu behind Select an Output Style. When you can't find the style, click the buttonManage Output Styles and add the style to your favorites.
Choose under References to include the references you want to use in your bibliography: the selected references, the references on the page or all references in the list.
Choose the file type under File Type (for example Word or HTML).
Click Create bibliography.
The bibliography appears in a new screen. You can save the file on your computer.
Close the screen Create a bibliography from a list of references.
RefWorks advises to always check the bibliography for errors.
TIP: Also check the use of capitals! RefWorks doesn't 'know' that proper names or words like Netherlands are written with a capital. You have to change that manually.
When the pop-up blocker is active, the bibliography won't appear automatically. Use the first link Click here to download the file or use the second Click here to e-mail the document to yourself.