LibGuides: Economics: Home

Welcome

I’m looking for:

Search engines

Find literature in sEURch, EUR's discovery tool

A search engine specific for economics, from our partner ZBW

Econbiz

Particular Topic

Literature on a particular topic

When you need to find literature on a particular topic, these databases are recommended:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic or full text content from 1300 academic journals, magazines and trade publications covering business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Platform: EBSCO
Econlit (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International bibliographical database for economists.
Platform: ProQuest
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including e.g. the ABI/INFORM Collection and J.P. Morgan Research - to a total of more than 130 million documents.
To facilitate the research of e.g. company or market information ProQuest developed new corporation and business subject thesauri for ProQuest One Business as well as a new indexing for e.g. different types of reports and report content. Based on this new indexing ProQuest One Business offers special search and navigation features that are not available elsewhere on the ProQuest Platform. For more information on how to use these features, please see the Unique Features page.

Reference

These online encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are recommended:

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on business, finance, management, science, technology, ethics, social sciences, law and humanities. It contains the well known "International Directory of Company Histories".
It consist of six parts:
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
- Encyclopedia of Management 5th ed., 2006
- Encyclopedia of Small Business 3rd ed., 2v, 2007
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics 4v, 2005
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed., 2008
- World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems, 2nd ed., 2007
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the well known dictionary economics.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of (subject) dictionaries and encyclopedias, timelines and quotations, plus thesauri and guides to English grammar and usage.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SRMO helps you to answer your research methods and design questions, with over 100,000 pages of book, journal and reference content. The Cases offer hundreds of case studies of actual research projects. They add nuance and context to the more theoretical material found in SRMO.
SRMO contains
- dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks;
- the entire "Little Green Book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social
  Sciences) and "Little Blue Book" series;
- two major works collating a selection of journal articles and
- newly commissioned videos.
One of the features is The Methods Map. This is a visualization tool that can be used to discover relationships between methods, to discover new methods and to find content related to them. Underpinning the Methods Map is a new taxonomy of social science research methods, developed by SAGE, and containing over 1,400 unique terms.

Related databases: Safari: O’Reilly’s Learning Platform for Higher Education

Journals

You can find online journals here:

Electronic journals at EUR

Quality journal lists according to EUR Research Institutes:

ERIM

Working Papers

Working Papers are basically articles in progress. They are in the process of peer review. This will take some time that is why authors already publish a version. So a working paper show very recent research but not with the quality stamp of the peer review process yet.

First two resources which are gateways to a lot of workings papers, one paid license and one free internet resource:

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks and aims at early distribution of research by publishing abstracts of papers.
Specialized research networks are for example in the field of Cognitive Science, Corporate Governance, Economics, Legal Scholarship, Political Sience and Humanities.

The eLibrary can be searched for papers. This online library consists of an Abstract Database, containing abstracts of working papers and forthcoming papers, and the Electronic Paper Collection containing full text documents. Not all documents can be downloaded free of charge.

Date range: 1994 - present
Related database: EconPapers

EconPapers
- This link opens in a new window
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, a collection of online Economics publications.

Two other well know resources for working papers with already high academic status are:

NBER This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Working papers from economists of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
CEPR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic database contains over 3000 abstracts of discussion or working papers on topics like development, financial and macroeconomics.

Citation Databases

Articles will lead you to older articles through their literature list. There are also databases that record the citations. Searing with these citations will actually lead to newer literature. However keep in mind a citation is not always based on content. We all cite Tinbergen and often you also cite your supervisor. So if you have a great article you can use the citations to find newer literature.

Two great resources for this citation searching are:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database, covering academic journals worldwide in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and conference proceedings. It provides cover-to-cover indexing, from 1975 till present.
The EUR license to Web of Science Core Collection consists of:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
Date range: 1975 - present
Related databases: Scopus, Dimensions
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature (journals and books). The search results also contain links to preprints (2017 onwards) and research data.
Date range: 1788 - 1970 (abstracts included where available); 1970 - present (records including references)
Related databases: Web of Science, Dimensions
Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is an analytical tool to identify top-performing research in Web of Science Core Collection. It ranks authors, institutions, countries and journals based on publication and citation performance.
Date range: rolling 10-year period

Data

When looking for data please go the Erasmus Data Service Centre (EDSC). The EDSC provides access to financial and social science databases and gives individual support and workshops for students and staff of the Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Other

Fiscal Economists please also have a look at the Law Guide

Economics

Faculty Liaison

Do you want to ...

Access to our online collection