LibGuides: Media and Communication: eBooks

Temporary available eBooks

Taylor & Francis/Routledge eBooks in Humanities and Social Sciences 2022-2025
Full-text access to more than 16,000 e-books published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge from 2022 until today, covering 30 subjects across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Access is provided until December 19, 2025.
In January 2026, based on the usage statistics a selection of these books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific book that you would like to remain available after December 2025, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Sage Knowledge
Full-text access to e-books and reference works published by Sage. Access to Sage Reference and Academic Books is provided until December 31, 2025.
In January 2026, based on the usage statistics a selection of these books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific book that you would like to remain available after December 2025, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Use the menu on the left to filter on:
- Content types (under Reference you find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks)
- Disciplines
- Publication date.

The advanced search screen enables you to look for a specific title or topic.
De Gruyter online
Platform with access to a selection of journals published by De Gruyter and e-books published by De Gruyter and several university presses .

Academic journals with articles on law, history, art, social sciences and economics are indexed.
In 2025, three large English-language e-book collections are available:
- Business, Economics and Law;
- History & Cultural Studies;
- Social Sciences

In January 2026, based on the usage statistics a selection of these e-books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific title that you would like to remain available after December 2025, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.

Handbooks

Routledge handbooks and companions in Media and Film Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 100 handbooks and companions in Media and Film Studies published between 2006 and 2022, including 40 titles in Communication Studies. Use the Subject and other filters to narrow down you search result.
SAGE Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EUR Library has access to a large set of SAGE e-handbooks, including several recent ones relevant to Media, Communication & Cultural Studies.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online offers access to a selection of handbooks, published by Oxford University Press, in the subject categories Business and Management, Economics and Finance, History, Media Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology. Each handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship.
The EUR has access to the following collections:
- Business & Management - collections 2016 to 2020
- Economics & Finance - collections 2016 to 2020
- History - Foundation Collection, and the collections 2013 and 2017-2019
- Philosophy - Foundation Collection, and the collections from 2012 to 2024
- Political Science - Foundation Collection and collection 2014
- Psychology - Foundation Collection, and the collections from 2012 to 2025 (subscription until December 2025)
- Sociology - collection 2017
Besides these collections, the Library also has access to a small number of individual titles titles from other years or in other subjects.

eBooks

Sage Knowledge
Full-text access to e-books and reference works published by Sage. Access to Sage Reference and Academic Books is provided until December 31, 2025.
In January 2026, based on the usage statistics a selection of these books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific book that you would like to remain available after December 2025, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Use the menu on the left to filter on:
- Content types (under Reference you find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks)
- Disciplines
- Publication date.

The advanced search screen enables you to look for a specific title or topic.
MIT Press Direct
Ebooks published by MIT Press. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy and social sciences.
Perpetual access to the books published in 2020 and 2021.

In 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025 the Erasmus Library participates in MIT Direct to Open HSS (Humanities & Social Science) collection and receives term access to the HSS backfile collection until December 31, 2025.
Gale eBooks
Multidisciplinary collection of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks published by Gale Cengage, including the book series “International Directory of Company Histories”.
For a list of all available titles with their year of publication and ISBN indicated, click 'Title List' in the top right of the screen.
Springer Nature Link
Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, published by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: selected titles
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Literature, Media & Culture: selected titles
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).