The database platforms listed in the boxes below are available through the Erasmus University Library and have text-to-speech tools built-in.
Off campus, these tools perform best over an EduVPN connection. EUR staff can also use the FortiClient 'All Traffic' profile.
To listen to this page on a PC or laptop, open it in Microsoft Edge and tap the Read Aloud button in the browser address bar or tap the three dots to open the browser menu and select Read Aloud.
Newsstand articles have a Listen button located under the title and above the full text of the article. Click the Listen button to launch and play the mp3 player on the Factiva page.
The news articles that appear in the search results of a search in Factiva do not have a Listen button. These have a 'Listen to article' link located under the title and above the full text of the article. When you click the 'Listen to article' link you see the option to Download. This is an mp3 download. Download the mp3 file to play on your own device.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe overall entrance to the databases accessible via EBSCO. Select one or more databases to search.
Search for an article in HTML format which you would like to listen to.
The Listen button is located below the title and above the body.
Click the Listen button to begin listening to the article.
Note: The Listen button is only available for HTML full text articles in English.
In the Toolbar options menu at Reading Language, you can choose from three English accents: American, Australian and British.
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks published by Gale Cengage, including the book series “International Directory of Company Histories”.
Gale Databases offer a lot of text-based/HTML content and the ReadSpeaker Listen tool is available for news items as well as journal articles. Gale eBooks, also known as Gale Virtual Reference Library contains subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Most content is in English and the default text-to-speech voice is US English (female).
The Listen button is located directly below the title and above the body of the article.
Several tools are available to help you better interact with the text:
The ReadSeaker text-to-speech audio can be translated in 24 languages, including Dutch.
For non-English articles the text is read aloud in the original language if that language is one of the 24 languages supported by ReadSpeaker text-to-speech audio.
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of journals published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.
ReadSpeaker - the text-to-speech “listen” widget at the top of the article page can be used to listen to written content. Individuals with impaired vision or difficulty in reading can now access an audio version of an article.
ReadSpeaker allows the translation of the full article into other languages, making published research available to readers across the globe.
Note: There may be a small delay with the start of the read aloud.
The default text-to-speech voice is a US English female voice even when the text is not in Englsh.
To activate options for selected text, select some text from the abstract or full text of the article then choose Dictionary, Listen or Translate.
To get a French language article read aloud in French instead of the default American female voice you have to be a little creative.
Example full text article: Le féminin en vedette: micro-lecture de deux romans paysans de la Belle Époque
This link opens in a new windowThe overall entrance to the databases accessible via ProQuest. By default all databases are selected.
The text-to-speech player appears on the “Full text” tab of a document, below the abstract and above the body. When you click play, the text will be read aloud in English. In some browsers the audio file will be played directly in the browser. You can also download the audio as an mp3 file.
Please note that the "Listen" option is only available for English language documents where the HTML full text is available. The "Listen" option is not available for Full Text PDFs or for non-English language documents.
On the “Full text” tab of a document, below the abstract and above the body, there will likely also be a 'Translate' option to translate the full text from English to any of the 19 languages currently supported. The text-to-speech player does not generate audio for the translation. Translation from English into Dutch is not currently supported in the ProQuest 'Translate' tool.