LibGuides: Housing and Urban Development Studies: E-books

New e-books on urban studies & related topics

Discipline specific e-book collections

De Gruyter - Urban Development and Housing
A selection of eBooks of De Gruyter and associated presses, such as Princeton University Press, Berghahn books, and ISEAS.

more... less...

Some licensed content may be part of a temporary collection. To assure permanent access, contact your faculty liaison.
ElgarOnline - Urban and Regional Studies
Full-text access to e-books on urban and regional studies, published by Edward Elgar. Includes books, handbooks, encyclopedia, and more.
Taylor & Francis - Urban Studies
Curated collection with more than 140 e-books on Urban Studies.

more... less...

E-books on Cities and Infrastructure; Urban Communications Technology; Urban Cultures; Urban Economics; Urban history; urban Policy; Urban Politics; Urban Sociology; Urban Studies and Urban Theory.
Springer e-books - Urban(ism)
A selection of e-books from Springer on urban geography (inc. megacities, cities, towns), urban economics, urbanism, and urban history

Databases with e-books

You can find even more e-books on Housing and Urban Development by searching in the EUR Library collection, or by going straight to the publisher's website or e-book host's website. Find a selection of publishers and e-books hosts below.

ElgarOnline
Full-text access to academic journals and e-books published by Edward Elgar.

Provides access to journals and single e-books that are part of the EUR collection, as well as e-book collections such as the Social & Political Science collections 2019-2024, the Development Economics 2020 collection, and more.
Routledge Handbooks Online
Educational resource containing handbooks and companions in the Social Sciences and Humanities published by Routledge and CRC Press.

Each handbook/companion offers a thorough introduction in the topic concerned and a critical overview of the scientific state of affairs, the chapters having been written by leading scholars in the field. Available titles are surrounded with meaningful metadata and abstracts at a chapter level, making them fully searchable and browsable.

Key Features:
• Expansive coverage of 44 subject areas.
• Purchased titles are DRM-free: you can download, print, and save without restrictions.
• Please note: The Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards can be found on Taylor & Francis eBooks (subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies).
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Unlimited access to a large collection of academic eBooks published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, all available without download restrictions. Please note the EUR doesn't have access to all eBooks published by Taylor & Francis/Routledge.

Also gives access to the Routledge handbooks in Communication, Journalism, Media and Culture Studies from 2020 onwards: see subjects Media & Film Studies and Cultural Studies.

Related database: Routledge Handbooks Online (handbooks published up to 2019).
De Gruyter online
Platform with access to a selection of journals published by De Gruyter and e-books published by De Gruyter and several university presses .

Academic journals with articles on law, history, art, social sciences and economics are indexed.
In 2025, three large English-language e-book collections are available:

- Business, Economics and Law;
- History & Cultural Studies;
- Social Sciences

In January 2026, based on the usage statistics a selection of these e-books will be purchased and therefore remain accessible. If there is a specific title that you would like to remain available after December 2025, for example because it is required reading in a course, please contact your Faculty Liaison.
Springer Nature Link
Access to full-text academic journals and series and to e-books, published by Springer and Palgrave. Also the Dutch health care collection of Bohn Stafleu van Loghum is included.
The EUR doesn't have access to all e-books published by Springer. Access is limited to certain disciplines and years:
- Behavioral science and psychology: 2016-2023
- Behavioral science: 2005-2009 and 2011-2015
- Business and economics: 2005-2015
- Business and management: 2016 - current
- Economics and finance: 2016 - current
- History: selected titles
- Humanities, social sciences and law: 2005-2015
- Law and criminology: 2016 - current
- Literature, Media & Culture: selected titles
- Medicine: 2005-2009
- Palgrave Business & management: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Economics & finance: 2008-2013
- Palgrave History: 2008-2013
- Palgrave Media & Culture: 2010-2013
- Political Science & International Studies: 2020-2021
- Social sciences: 2016 - current
EBSCOhost eBooks
EBSCOhost eBooks gives access to selected e-books on a wide range of subjects, from multiple publishers.

The number of concurrent users and the print/save options differ per book. This can be checked on the detailed record of the e-book.
From June 28, 2025, full e-book downloads are temporarily disabled for users in the European Union while Accessibility improvements are completed. During that time, you will see an ‘unavailable for download’ message in the detailed record, and the Full e-book download tab will not appear in the download window. Chapter only downloads, DRM-free full book downloads, and online reading will continue to be available. The timeline for the re-enablement of the full book download is not available yet.

Platform: EBSCOhost
Directory of Open Access Books
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is to increase the discoverability of Open Access, academic peer-reviewed books from publishers worldwide and from all fields of research. The DOAB contains links to the e-books. You can browse by subject or by publisher.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library contains over 1,500 open textbooks. All kinds of subjects and disciplines are covered, including business, economics, psychology and sociology.

The textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. They have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.